Gilligan's Island

Show Reviews (55)

Great
1,166 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    BEST SHOW IN THE LONGEST TIME

    By sheilamcdonal, Mar 18, 2013

    GOOD PROFORMACE

    1 0

  • 10

    Like Lost, only more believable.

    By tvking1, Aug 09, 2011

    One reviewer compared "Gilligan's Island" favorably to "Lost". I concur. "Lost" is exciting, and I don't knock it, but they're always at each other's throats. "Gilligan" shows us that decent people marooned on a desert island can basically get along. They had their "Lost moments", but they respected each other enough to make up. This was elucidated so well in the Christmas episode by the Skipper/Santa Claus. This all despite the fact they were so diverse.



    Like another, less fondly remembered 1960s sitcom, it is not the "Citizen Kane" of TV sitcoms, but it might be the Abbott and Costello of sitcoms (their movie Buck Privates destroyed Citizen Kane at the box office). It should be judged by A&C's standards, not Orson Welles'. You can appreciate it better if you don't take it too seriously, people! As has been noted on this site, "Gilligan" would have been renewed for a fourth season, as was expected, until CBS chairman William Paley intervened to save his favorite program, Gunsmoke, from imminent cancellation. Gunsmoke was falling in the ratings and seemed past its prime, while "Gilligan", which ran on a different night in each of its three seasons, was a consistent ratings winner, besting competition such as ABC's "The Donna Reed Show" and "The Lawrence Welk Show", and NBC's "Kentucky Jones" (Dennis Weaver quit "Gunsmoke" to star in that show) "Daniel Boone", and "The Monkees". But Mr. Paley spoke, Gunsmoke was moved to Monday nights, and instead of moving "Gilligan" yet again, it was sent packing. One consolation is that it has become one of the most successful rerun syndicated programs of all time. I doubt that Paley regretted letting "Gilligan" die, since "Gunsmoke" did bounce back in the ratings, but it was a scandal to treat such a beloved ratings winner as "Gilligan" so disrespectfully. Kennedy-era FCC chairman Newton Minow ("Gilligan" creator Sherwood Schwartz named the S.S. Minnow as a swipe at him) once called television a "vast wasteland". If TV was a vast wasteland in the 60s, in the 2000s it is a toxic waste dump, IMHO.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Great!...

    By arseus12345, Mar 10, 2011

    This show is a true classic. I have seen only the first 1/4 of it, and im already hooked! This is a great show about 5 people who go on a tour of what i think is Hawaii in a two manned ship called the Minnow. They run into a storm, and get stranded on a deserted island. The charectors are First mate Gilligan, Skipper, the millionair ( or Billionair sometimes), his wife, The Professer, Mary-anne, and Ginger the movie star. My favorite scene is the one where Gilligan ( dressed as a Marubi ) jumps out and scares everybody!moreless

    4 0

  • 8.0

    Just sit right back and you'll hear a tale, the tale of a fateful trip. Skipper Jonas Grumby and his mate Gilligan take five passengers on a three hour boat tour, but that tour lasts a lot longer than anybody could have anticipated.

    By meathead704, Aug 09, 2009

    I think it's safe to say that many people who have watched episodes of "Gilligan's Island" over the years have always asked a lot of questions such as "Why did the Howells bring so much luggage for a three hour tour?" or "The castaways can build a lie detector, so why can't they build a boat to leave the island?". While these may be valisd questions, one thing that can also be said is that "Gilligan's Island" is a very entertaining and just plain fun show to watch. The cast does a great job in their respective roles. Fun show.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Here on Gilligan Isle. Lets sit back with our seven favorite castaways and see the adventures they have while never succeeding in leaving home sweet home

    By mcabbyforever, Mar 18, 2009

    How many times can I say I love this show? This is a truly great one. Its so much fun watching how these seven people learn to get along with each other as they try and thanks to little buddy gilligan fail. Its great fun. I also love that it has morals about honesty, greed and other things (sort of like a grown up Barney) This show can be shown to kids cause it contains no bad language and only slapstick comedy violence. Its great fun for all. Not much for the castaways though. I truly love this show so much thanks Castaways for failing to get rescued but never failing to keep me amused.moreless

    3 1

  • 10

    Ginger or Maryann? A question that has haunted man since the series debut. The show kept us laughing at the bungling Gilligan(Bob Denver)and his continual blunders that left him and his fellow castaways stranded for 3 seasons and 98 episodes.

    By aquqarob, Mar 17, 2009

    Gilligan's Island was one of those shows where you were just purely entertained. We did not watch the show for its' riveting bylines or story plot, we simply watched for entertainment's sake. The showed lasted for 3 seasons with 98 episodes produced and it generated 3 made for T.V. sequals. The cast consisted of Bob Denver as Gilligan, Alan Hale Jr. as the Skipper, Tina Louise as Ginger Grant "The Movie Star", Dawn Wells as Maryann, Russel Johnson as the Professor, Jim Backus as Mr. Howell, and Natalie Schafer as Mrs. Howell. We also watched to see how many different things could be made from coconuts.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    Gilligan's Island was an awsome tv show. It is sad there were only three seasons!

    By kr2010, Jan 13, 2009

    Gilligan's Island is, in my opinion, one of the best television series of the Nineteen Sixties. It was a very humorous series and it always made me laugh. It will always be one of my favorite television series. Gilligan was always my favorite character. His comebacks were wonderful and hilarious. His actions were always so FUNNY!!! Bob Denver was definately a great actor. No one could have played Gilligan better than he did. It was always so funny to see their plans to get rescued go up in smoke week after week... after week. Gilligan's Island will always be an iconic series in television history!moreless

    1 0

  • 8.8

    Philosophy 101 and Gilligan's Island

    By revbucky, Jul 08, 2008

    Being shipwrecked on a deserted island with a bunch of strangers hardly sounds like a funny situation, but Gilligan is no ordinary guy. Through his childlike simplicity, he touches the lives of each castaway in a way that brings humor to a desperate existence.



    There are a lot of great things to be philosophical about from Gilligan's Island. We could put together an "Everything I need to know for life I learned from Gillian's Island" list. We learn not to take ourselves too seriously. We learn to give others the benefit of a doubt. We learn to think the best of those around us. We learn that everyone has an important contribution to make. We learn to laugh at ourselves and encourage those who are hurting. The list could go on and on. In short, we need more "Gilligans" in the world today. May their tribe increase.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.4

    The writers did quite a bit with the limit of a deserted island. I loved the humor and the clean fun of this show. The cast worked well together and make the show enjoyable for children and adults alike.

    By ugamom, Jul 07, 2008

    I grew up watching Gilligans Island with my brothers. The show is very entertaining and fun in a silly sort of way. I loved the original cast and felt they had great chemistry. The show was dropped unexpectantly. Don't know the reason for that. I think the cast could have continued with this show for many more seasons. I do wish the show was accessible on re-runs though. I have a satellite and cannot pick up old episodes of the show. I did always wonder why the Professor could rig up so many interesting devices with local produce (coconuts, bananas, etc.) but couldn't ever find a way to get the boat repaired so they could leave the island. And, why did they all have so much luggage, clothes, etc. when they were only going on a "three hour tour"? Ah, those were the days............moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews