Have Gun - Will Travel

Show Reviews (12)

Good
139 votes
7.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    Q: What episode was this HAVE GUN WILL TRAVEL show?

    By davidrhyner9, Aug 19, 2013

    I am trying to find the "Have Gun Will Travel" episode where Paladin was hired by a man who's cry-baby son was about to be hanged for a crime. It was Paladin's job to see his son died like a man for his crime. Paladin convinced the condemned that his father had hired him to help him escape. The scaffold would be covered with a tarp and a coffin filled wagon would be concealed under the trap door. and the rope longer than the drop. When the trap door sprang open he'd fall into the coffin and Paladin would then hide him inside the coffin, lid closed to make his escape at the cemetery. The lad walked up the 13 steps and stood firm as the trap door opened. Surprise! There was no wagon or coffin waiting and daddy was happy his son died like a man.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Have Gun - Will Travel DVDs

    By NeilFarrell05, Jun 17, 2013

    I'm a huge fan of Have Gun - Will Travel and I've been searching for a DVD copy of it ages ago until I saw it being sold at memorylanedvd .com. When I entered the website, I was surprised with the wide DVD list from them which made me decide to place my very first order. I received a confirmation email right after placing the order. The company also provided me tracking information to monitor the shipment and progress of the shipment. The package arrived after a week which is great! When I checked all the discs, I noticed that I'm missing the last 3 discs. I emailed the company and a staff replied suggesting to check all the discs as they assured that it has all the complete episodes. They also explained to improve the quality of the DVD Collections that we they on sale, the number of DVDs in each collection may either increase or decrease. I went through all the discs again and they were right, all the episodes are there. I would have to mention that the quality of the DVDs is pretty excellent. Aside from the perfect set I received, I was impressed with the warm assistance memorylanedvd have provided me and also for bringing back these classics show again!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    HEADS UP, FANS

    By joeydak1111, Jan 22, 2013

    PREMIUM CHANNEL 'ENCORE' (WHICH IS USUALLY PROVIDED AS PART OF BASIC CABLE) NOW HAS MANY EPISODES OF 'HAVE GUN - WILL TRAVEL'. WHEN I WAS A CHILD, I THOUGHT PALADIN WAS THE COOLEST WESTERN CHARACTER. I JOINED THE 'HAVE GUN - WILL TRAVEL' VIDEO CLUB AS SOON AS I STARTED WORKING. THE QUALITY OF THE EPISODES (WHICH WERE USUALYY VERY GOOD) DIDN'T MATTER AS MUCH AS RICHARD BOONE'S PORTRAYAL OF THE CLASSIEST GUNFIGHTER EVER!

    0 0

  • 10

    Knight on a business card?

    By RockWolf, Sep 03, 2012

    The whole show made for great tv and the Palidin actor made it real. I still have the guns from the set My parents purchased for me. Watched show again on VHS and it still holds up.

    Great writing and direction. One of the Best shows ever.

    0 0

  • 10

    "Have Gun Will Travel" is a classic western that was ahead of its time.

    By elagabalus, Jul 28, 2007

    This was the first truly adult western to be produced. It had one of the best actors ever in Richard Boone--a much underrated actor that was perfectly matched to the character of Paladin. The role was originally offered to Randolph Scott but he declined, prefering to do feature films. Richard Boone wanted to do the series in color, saying it was the future but the producers did not agree. A shame since the black and white photography has religated it to few reruns in today's market. The series lasted for six seasons, Boone wanting to leave after the fifth but talked into returning for a sixth. The series could have gone on after the sixth, CBS asking for a seventh but Boone wanted to do his own anthology series, "The Richard Boone Show" which only lasted one season. In later life, Boone did not want to talk about the Paladin character, possibally somewhat bitter that it typecast him. Surprising since after HGWT, he had various roles as a villian. Have Gun Will Travel is still the greatest television western ever produced.moreless

    4 0

  • 7.6

    A greatest western....

    By neon2farmer, Nov 29, 2006

    i think that have gun, will travel id the best old western out ther, and it's only a half hour long. i think the idea that Eminem is going to star in the remake film is terable. it's alredy ruined. Richard Boone did a good job of portraying Palidin, and even won an emmy, two i think.Palidin is not your tipical hired gun, he has lots of money and is fancey in every thing he does. he also doesn't work cheap. this series was a fairly good show altogether and i hope that the memory lives on for years to come. later.moreless

    0 0

  • 5.0

    Just read in the Detroit Free Press... Rapper Eminem stars in the remake of Have Gun, Will Travel.

    By popacore, Jun 13, 2006

    I don't know much about this, considering that I've never seen the original show. Supposedly Eminem is staring in what will be a contemporary remake of the orignal television series. There were not many details on the project. The newspaper blip said that it that Em would presumably be working on the Soundtrack to the project and that it was being produced under the Shady Aftermath Films banner. The also refered to the possibility that the films setting would be somewhere in Detroit. If you ask me, this sounds nothing like a Western at all. It will be interesting to see whats coming down the pipe.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.1

    This was a classic TV Western series.

    By vicmackey31, Apr 14, 2006

    Have Gun, Will Travel was and is one of the best westerns to ever appear on television. Even beyond that, it is one of the better shows on television period. The writing was so good that it still holds up to today's standards. The regular cast was outstanding. The guest starts were absolutely fantastic. In this time period of television many famous actors would make appearances on great television shows such as this. Then there were the up and coming actors that would go on to become huge stars and used this as a springboard of sorts. All in all a great show that can still be watched today without missing a beat.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    In a word, excellent.

    By d_parker, Jan 05, 2006

    Series like this are why DVDs were invented.



    If you missed this show, here's your chance to give it a go and I don't think you'll be disappointed.



    I saw one episode and then tracked down season one and did not regret it.



    Great writing, great acting, great backgrounds and most important, a great character.



    TV needs more characters like Paladin, men of intelligence, honour and courage.

    3 0

Load More Reviews