Dual

Episode Reviews (57)

Great
783 votes
8.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    Finally, the last episode of the season, and I couldn't be more psyched for it.

    By Dark_Davis, Mar 23, 2011

    Finally, the last episode of the season, and I couldn't be more psyched for it. Warning, spoilers contained below.



    So we get a little bit of a different start this time around as Sylar does the opening monologue, nice touch I thought, given the current circumstances and it being the final episode of the season. Early on we see Sylar taking on an almost Saw like role, trapping Claire, Noah, Meredith and Angela so as to play with them and make them monster's like they made him. One thing for sure about this episode, the writers made it pretty intense. Sure the Saw like connection might have been a bit of a rip off, but it worked very well with the story line, and it was very interesting to watch. So it seems Ando has some sort of super charging power, which he can use to make others powers stronger. I thought volume three ended brilliantly, still left some characters in play, but at least some were killed off. Now we just have to hope they are gone for good, so we can move on and see how things continue in the next chapter. In the peak at the volume to come, we see that Peter's choice to save Nathan was a bad idea, as Nathan plans to round up all the people with powers and lock them away. How I wonder though, as how can normal people lock up such powerful beings? Well, I guess we will find out, and I can't wait.moreless

    1 1

  • 4.5

    One of the worst finales ever !!! Neither acting nor script nor storyline made any sense at all.

    By vazkenee, Mar 09, 2011

    One of the worst finales ever !!! Neither acting nor script nor storyline made any sense at all.



    I was extremely disappointed with this episode, it was as if I was watching a kids cartoon superhero episode.



    Pity I'm rapidly losing interest in a show that makes me ask more stupid questions than intriguing ones.



    A few of this episode's questions would be:



    - Couldn't the mother leave the Company's building (outside to the open) before blowing it up? Well Angela who's 30 years older did !!

    - Couldn't freaky Seresh fight back?

    - Couldn't Nathan Fly out of the fire?



    In my opinion, Episode 1 of chapter 4 will either make it or break it for this show.... fingers crossed.moreless

    11 13

  • 6.5

    There was a moment towards the end of "Dual", where the writers could have laid the foundation to a more exciting future for this ailing show. Regrettably, and no doubt to its ultimate peril, they declined.

    By adamryder, Mar 09, 2011

    There was a moment towards the end of "Dual", where the writers could have laid the foundation to a more exciting future for this ailing show. Regrettably, and no doubt to its ultimate peril, they declined.



    As Peter injected himself and flew Nathan from the burning Pinehearst, the point which Nathan has been striving to make towards the end of the last few episodes was vindicated. In the right hands, giving people powers CAN be used to do good and, as Nathan had said earlier, "don't we have an obligation to help the world?" The writers could have embraced this moral dilemma through this one scene, as Nathan yells at Pete "why'd you do it!" Sadly, however, Peter replied with a somewhat bemusing "because you're my brother", and therein any hope that the show might graduate from a teenage target audience evaporated. The writers seem content with their rather superficial vein of melodrama, and display little ambition of rising above it.



    Despite what Mohinder may profess during his philosophical nonsensical narratives each week, the line between good and evil is actually pretty definitive in "Heroes". We are force-fed things in black and white, and no thought or consideration will ever be given us as to the fact these boundaries might cross. The majority of the characters in Heroes blindly go about their stories swept along wherever the plot might decide to take them, with little to no depth or thought afforded to their actions.



    Nathan however, has tended to buck this trend, his character compassionate and more complex. It was my opinion that Nathan was the "Hero" of the show's first season; a frequently troubled and conflicted character, it was ultimately the good in him that took the decision to save New York. Amidst a third season where a profusion of cardboard characters have inexplicably changed sides from one episode to the next, Nathan has remained as one of its more thoughtful and interesting contributors. It would seem from the preview of volume 4, that he too has now been tossed on the scrap heap to serve as another plot device. Shame.moreless

    9 6

  • 6.5

    This episode was weird but somehow I enjoyed it... a little.

    By danibizi, Mar 09, 2011

    I have no idea what is going on in this show, nothing makes sense anymore, and to tell you the truth, I don't really care anymore. So, when I watched this episode, I watched it as a stand alone episode. 4 guys trapped in a building with a psychopath / serial killer and trying to survive.



    Three funny / nice people are trying to find a friend.



    And two brothers are acting really really strange.



    Jeph Loab writes comics for a living and he is trying to combine here too many elements from the Comics World till it got out of his control. The problem is... it seems that he does not care.



    Last words: I have no idea, after watching this season, what was the point here.moreless

    5 12

  • 6.5

    Season Three hits the halfway point

    By cavanagh15, Mar 09, 2011

    After a somewhat promising start to the third season, the midway point has been reach and it now competes with season two for the worst season of all time. The characters are overacting their roles and the show has no direction. This portion was supposed to be about bad guys. How about a couple of flashbacks showing the bad guys struggle with their powers? Or what happened when they first got them. We never really learned anything about any of the characters. The finale was split up into multiple parts. The part with Pinehearst and Nathan and Peter was kind of boring and all it was was Peter destroying the lab. The part with HRG, Claire, and Company inside level five was just random. Sylar locks them in and tells them that they cannot go anywhere. It looks like he could seriously dead this time, stabbed in the back of the head and burned to death in the building. The final scene was interesting at least. Nathan wanted to give the world powers and now he wants to take them all away. It's a powerful character switch in just a couple of weeks but maybe we will see what brought about this change in Nathan. Season 3.5 + looks to be better, but so did the beginning of this season.moreless

    8 7

  • 10

    Peter seeks to destroy the formula while Nathan tries to protect it; Sylar plays a deadly game of cat and mouse with Noah, Claire, Angela and Meredith at Primatech; Daphne, Matt and Ando attempt to rescue Hiro from the past, and Ando receives an ability.

    By suprememango, Jun 04, 2010

    The writers have decided to give the people what they want - lots and lots of Sylar. In his storyline the tension takes off from the beginning and does not let up. Zachary Quinto's return to good old evil Sylar began last week with some great scenes, but in this episode he is all the way back and badder than ever. The comedy trio of Matt, Daphne and Ando are spot on once again and it will be nice to see more of them in the next volume. The battle at Pineheart was action packed - don't blink or you might miss somebody getting smoked. Nathan embracing the dark side is a nice change and made his character more interesting. The volume was wrapped up very nice and neat, and was very pleasing to this viewer. And omigosh, Fugitives is looking very dark and very good. That month and a half seems like an eternity.moreless

    11 7

  • 10

    This is it, ladies and gentlemen... The chance for this show to redeem itself after it has fallen off the wagon of bad scripts and plots.

    By andyphantom9, Jun 04, 2010

    And so, it did; this season finale truly knows how to wrap things up. In this episode, Sylar being the evil genius like Jigsaw from the Saw movies, had his short moments of glorified villainy. Excessive characters finally died and/or suffered a humiliating moment. Knox (the black guy who gets stronger when people are scared) frozen to death by another unnecessary character, Tracy (who look like Nikki/Jessica/Gina/Barbara). Next thing you know, her plans not only got ruined by Daphne and Hiro, she also got punched in the face! (A moment when Tracy-haters rejoiced) Who could possibly forget about Nathan and Peter, the 2 brothers who always clashed with their own beliefs and other sibling rivalry crap. Finally, the roles of our lovable Japanese duo Hiro and Ando has taken a good ol' switch-a-roo; When Hiro lost his powers in the past, Ando gained a unique ability!moreless

    15 10

  • 10

    Peter finally gets his powers back!!!!! Also The title fits the episode. A very action packed episode with brother against brother, ,Mohinder, Hiro, and Sylar against Claire and her. Ando gets his power!!!

    By tRuEhErOeSfAn, Jun 04, 2010

    This was a really good touch to the end of volume 3!!!! I think that the fact that most problems that were solved was a great thing. Ando got his power , and it is indeed very cool , there is no more formula , Peter has a power , Angela is Sylar's momma and Arthur is really dead. I personally thought this was one of really great episodes in Heroes history so far. We saw a sneak at Volume 4 , and may I say **** OMG , is this really happening to our Heroes? How can Nathan go against his own ? This is definetely turning to the future we saw in season 1 episode 20 " Five Years Gone" Dual was a very thrilled up epiode and one of my new favorites , and also one of the best!!!!!!moreless

    13 9

  • 9.5

    a suspenseful midseason finale

    By feraflower, Jun 04, 2010

    It's here. The midseason finale. It's been a bumpy half season, full of highs and lows, the best so far being Our Father and the worst being The Eclipse Part Two, where the crew resorted to story cannibalism in order to survive. Criticism for this season has been Heroes' highest. The staff of Heroes has taken notice of all these criticisms and have decided to revise next volume. I hope it's worth it. I did like this episode although it didn't feel quite complete as a season finale. Since this midseason was treated as a full season, that would have been the method to go. Instead, it just ends up feeling somehow anticlimatic, and a lot of times it feels like the Heroes staff has blown through the rest of this midseason and decided to write it off. That's not to say it isn't still exciting and it is a major improvement from the Season Two finale. The episode opens with Peter standing over Arthur's dead body. Nathan walks in and sees the damage. Peter tells him what's happened and it's time to end the formula. Nathan refuses, he believes the formula can do good, that his work is noble. If Peter has a problem with that, he can kill Nathan. Now that Arthur is dead, Nathan seems willing to fill his place. He's totally committed to seeing the vision of "goodness" fulfilled. Now Peter and Claire are the only sane people left in the Petrelli family. Peter doesn't kill Nathan, he loves Nathan too much, but he's willing to knock Nathan out. It's time to finish it. He storms into the lab where Mohinder is and starts to destroy the formula. Mohinder protests but Peter is joined by villains Knox and Flint, willing to help Peter because once everyone has powers, they won't be special anymore. Hey, a villain helping a hero can be a good ally. Claire, Angela, Noah, and Meredith try to get to Pinehearst to help Peter but are stuck in Primatech due to Sylar. Sylar is fully-charged and fully embracing being back to a villain. No more self-doubt, he knows what he is and he doesn't care anymore. No holding back. It's time for revenge on those who wronged him: Angela, the woman who tricked him into believing she was his mother and Noah, Sylar's nemesis that helped make Sylar into a monster. Nemesis Claire and her biological mother Meredith are not exempt. Sylar's method of revenge can be comparable to The Joker in The Dark Knight, in a much smaller, Heroesish way of course: show these heroes that they have a button to push, prove to them that they are evil like him. Noah is willing to sacrifice a few villains to get Sylar weakened. Claire is tasked to choose between grandmother Angela or adoptive father Noah. Kill Angela or Noah will die. Claire opts for a third option: in a semi-dramatic move, shooting the phone and letting Angela and Noah live. Angela is perfectly cool in the situation, she thinks she still has enough control to get under Sylar's skin. Ando, Daphne, and Matt look for a way to save Hiro in the past. Daphne swipes the formula from Mohinder, who's still trying to cure himself, and Ando injects it into him. He has a power now. Of course, his power turns out to be the red lightning shown in the future. Not to worry, for Ando's ability has the useful gift of supercharging heroic abilities. In the case of Matt, it extends his mindreading. With Daphne, she can go fast enough to bend time. Time to retrieve Hiro. In the past, Hiro uses his past self to get to the formula and confronted by his creeped father, he tears the formula in half, right when Daphne saves him, which is how the formula was split up in the first place. Hiro comes to the present to a happy Ando and Hiro is shocked to learn Ando is a hero now. He still needs to get the formula, so he and Daphne rush to retrieve it from Pinehearst. Peter is causing some major damage with the formula and Mohinder is trying to goad Peter to stop, saying that he's joining with villains, how could he? Hypocrite. Knox binds Nathan and kills Scott but Knox is froze-cut by Tracey. She's out for self-interest but her involvement with Nathan ends. Nathan fires her. Tracey tries to steal the formula but Hiro and Daphne intervene. For the second time, Hiro is called Pikachu. Funny. Both stop Tracey and take the formula. Hiro tears it up. It's gone. Flint, going rogue, wants to kill Mohinder but Peter won't let him. Flint sets the lab on fire while Mohinder gets a dose of the formula, curing him. Nathan walks in to try to kill Peter but he's stopped by the explosion. Still caring for his brother, Peter decides to inject himself with the formula and flies Nathan out of the explosion. If Peter has his original ability back or just flight, it's hard to say. Sadly, it's probably the latter. Nathan blows through Peter's heroics, Peter stopped a good thing from happening in Nathan's view. He's now the enemy. He flies away. Peter will regret saving him. At Primatech, Sylar uppes the game. After wasting Doyle and other villains, he injects Meredith with adreniline and traps her and Noah in a room where Meredith can't control her flames. Claire looks to save Noah and her and is successful in holding back their deaths. She and Noah walk away to find Angela, promising her mother she will come back for her. Angela is trapped by Sylar, looking for some revenge and some answers. Angela finally admits that she used Sylar and she didn't have his interests at heart. Of course not. She's not his mother. Hoping to stop Sylar from killing her, Angela reveals she knows who his real parents are. Sylar still wants to kill her. He's "killed" by Claire, stabbing glass in the back of his head. Like he's going to stay dead. In the meantime, Claire is moving away from her innocence. She goes back to save Meredith but it's too late. Meredith can't hold back her powers anymore. The building's going to blow. She tells Claire to get out. The building explodes, Claire, Noah, and Angela looking. Poor Claire. Her real mother's dead and her real father's gone evil. Mohinder escapes the Pinehearst explosion and walks away with a rogue Tracey. Nathan, he makes a final betrayal that cements him as the next villain. He betrays all the heroes. Why? If he can't select who heroes are anymore, he can eliminate all the heroes against him and the superpowered villains. Win, win. The world will be safe without the superpowered "freaks". He uses his senator position to inform the President, ironically in of current events is African-American, of current hero wherabouts. The heroes are to be hunted down and experimented on. Now that the formula future is gone, the first season future becomes a reality. Uh-oh. Even though the finale didn't feel extremely complete and a bit rushed, it brillantly sets up the next volume. The heroes face new issues. In a X-Men-ish scenario, they will be branded as freaks, traitors and threats, be exposed to the normal world as such, become isolated and abused. There are very few actual human main characters anymore with Ando and Mohinder aquiring powers. Hiro and Ando are still friends but there will be tensions with Ando's new powers and there's no guarentee Ando won't be corrupted. Will Hiro get a power again? Claire will move away from her more-innocent self. Peter is now the only normal person in the relative Petrellis and I think he will have to face, even kill Nathan. And the heroes will have to band together if they are to survive this hunt. Heavy stuff. Hopefully, Season Three Part Two will deliver.moreless

    8 9

Load More Reviews