Five Years Gone

Episode Reviews (163)

Superb
2,236 votes
9.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Great

    By Shinigami124, Mar 09, 2012

    This episode was great. It showed how important it was, to stop Sylar and save the world. Everything was great, except for a few minor flaws. The first one is why the heck is Claire still alive? they can't leave her out of one episode. Anthor flaw is that Mohinder acted kind of out of character even for him. I mean i doubt he would ever do that to the people he was trying to help. But it has been five years, anyways i liked the battle between Sylar and Peter at the end. Man the future was bad, i mean Sylar as presidentmoreless

    4 2

  • 10

    Award worthy episode...

    By kavazavut, Apr 24, 2010

    This is the best episode yet. The writing on this was just brilliant, I had to watch it twice. I was transfixed from the moment it started. We get it here in Canada on two separate channels, one after the other, and I had to what them both. I could not believe the twist. Sylar imitating Nathan and taking over the running of the country... brilliant! It gives a whole new meaning to the phrase "Save the Cheerleader, Save the World." Keep writing like this and Heroes will be around for a long long long time. I smell the Golden Globes on this one. Excellent work!moreless

    4 1

  • 10

    Best One Of The Series!

    By AliFan22876, Jan 01, 2010

    I love this episode its my favorite one from the entire series. I loved Milo Ventimila in it and i loved Ali Larter. there was a few lines that i really liked and a few scenes i really got into like the scenees between Nik and Peter. I like how they still managed to tie in Jessica with Niki even though she was "gone" I wasnt a big fan of Matt in this episode though I like Matt as the sweet Matt. Zachary Quinto and Milo Ventimila's fight scene was amazing I love them both not to mention Zachary is a local boy for me. I watch this episode so much. I got a little teary eyed though when i heard that Micah died. But that was why i was so into the conversations between Niki and Peter. what more to say than this show rocks! great cast and great writing!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Hiro and Ando travel five years into the future at a destroyed and darker New York. The special people are hunted and killed, while President Nathan tries to put forward a plan that would rid the world of the special ones forever.

    By Panicos888, Aug 07, 2009

    Set five years into the future (2010 I assume), our Heroes are very different from what we've seen so far. Niki is a stripper at a club in Nevada. Having got rid of Jessica, she has a romantic relationship with Peter and she has lost both her son and her husband DL at the explosion of New York five years ago.

    Peter is with Niki but is darker than the Peter we are used to. Having every available power there is (he is super powerful and super cool), he doesn't care about what has happened to New York and leaves a life in hiding from Nathan's (the President's) agents who are after everyone with abilities. When Hiro (of his time) visits him however he changes his mind and decides to everything possible to change the past and save the future.

    Matt is in Homeland Security working for the President. His wife and son (Matthew) are saved by Mr Bennet and kept in hiding. He holds blind devotion to the President's cause and he does not fear to use dangerous measures. When he arrests the Hiro from the past, he realizes he is not the terrorist he has been hunting down and goes after the Hiro from the future. The result is the death of future Hiro.

    Claire is in Midland Texas and is now a brunnette. She has a romantic relationship with a guy named Andy and they are ready to get married. Her stepdad visits her at the coffeehouse she is working as a waitress and advices her to leave (once again as she has done so many times before) because they (the President's men) have found out about her. She refuses to leave her life again and run which as a result ends in her captivity by Matt. The immediate result is that she dies by the hands of Sylar (who everyone thinks is dead).

    Mohinder is now the President's right hand concerning the plan to rid the world of all the special people. Mohinder still has his morals something that Nathan seems to be lacking. Mohinder however saves the day when he realizes that Hiro (the one that Matt has captured) is from the past and that what both Hiros are trying to do might be making sense and change the future. Finally, Hiro is considered a terrorist. Numerous killings has caused people to be afraid to go out in the streets. We are revealed that Ando has died in the explosion and his death has caused Hiro to become this dark person we have already seen in chapter 5:Hiros. He still continues with his plan to save the world by stopping Sylar (who in this future is thought to be the bomb) and thats why he appeared to the present Peter in chapter 5. Overall all this may sound confusing. This chapter actually makes more sense after you see the later volumes. How each character interracts with the rest is also sort of confusing. Key facts: Nathan unleashes or wants to unleash a programme that will kill all the special people (a little bit foreshadowing if you see volume 4). The shocking scene of Nathan and Claire is the one which makes this episode exciting so I am not going to ruin that for you. Also notice the revelation of Peter towards Niki about who the bomb might just be something that is important for the volume finale. Enjoy!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    The future they thought they changed might not be far from happening..

    By DrummerJoshAPF, May 03, 2009

    Okay, so now that I've seen the finale of season three I decided to go back and watch everything. I just watched this episode last night and was reminded of a couple of things that I had forgotten. One things mainly. Nathan Petrelli was the president. Everyone knew about people with abilities because of the explosion. AND the fact that when Peter went to fight Nathan, we see that he's really Sylar. I guess I just wanted to mention that I like how small things from old episodes still tie in to everything that's happening in current episodes. So maybe the future they thought they changed isn't that far from happening. Maybe not the explosion, but the other things I mentioned.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.2

    In future..

    By Parricida, Feb 02, 2009

    Wow.. They really did managed to turn this episode into dark - is this the future what is coming? Will the manage to save any of it or it all goes down like this? or if they change it, what will change. For sure this was very scary look into future.



    I did loved the storylines put together, how finally everyone is connected, there are those stories, those people.. the interaction, those emotions. And ofcourse two Hiros was quite a good trick.. those two - one from "our" time, other from future.. they together.. and Ando in all that mess and wanting to know what happened with him..moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    One of the best episodes of the series.

    By cactusjack39, Jan 27, 2009

    The best Heroes episode in my opinion. It had a great plot, storyline, and was well written. I also think that it was absolutely entertaining from the beginning to end. It caught my attention immediately and I never got bored. Five Years Gone was a very dark episode in which Hiro travels 5 years into the future after the bomb explodes. The setting is the aftermath of it all and dives into the lives of the Heroes. It seems that all the heroes have been dramatically effected and we find out that some of the heroes have not made it this far. Future Hiro gathers a band together to try to save present Hiro and in the process of the rescue mission, gets killed. Overall, this was a pivotal episode that foreshadowed what would happen if the bomb exploded and added extra significance to the story. Thank you.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    5 years in the future...

    By titiembe, Aug 23, 2008

    This episode takes place five years in the future. Some of this was so quick and intricate I kinda lost myself at points, hah hah. Sooo, in the future, people with special powers are being hunted, killed, like terrorists or a foreign species. Hiro and Ando meet up with other, more evil sides of the heroes that have been shown in this show. Peter has a scar on his face, and is fiercly less optimistic and hopeful that he usually was. After losing Micah, Niki won her battle with Jessica, but is all alone after losing Micah. She uses Jessica as her stange name for stripping though. Matt turns evil... just evil. And adding to the people who die in the futue, the Hatian, Mr. Bennett, and a brunette vesion of Claire get killed. After a huge fight scene, Hiro and Ando return to the past, where they now know what to do... a futuristic episode.moreless

    3 0

  • 9.5

    Hiro and Ando are 5 years in the future and meet the prospective Hiro, and some other familiar faces

    By ystein, Aug 21, 2008

    How come everyone is involved with everything in Heroes? Well, I don't know how intense and hard the screenwriter works on this series, but I'm sure, if it is possible to do work overtime in screenwriting this guy does it. Definitly a world class show. Good acting (except the Cheerleader, which I will never like) and extremly dramatic ending.

    However... It was kind of obvious in the end, that Sylar was the president, but still the showdown between Peter and Sylar was cool.

    Well done Joe Pokaski and standing ovations for Paul A. Edwards. Amen this is what I like and this is how it hopefully might go on!moreless

    2 0

Load More Reviews