Hogan's Heroes

Show Reviews (33)

Great
640 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    Better than you remember!

    By ldweisberg, Aug 27, 2014

    If you haven't watched in a long time, give it a shot. The Allied plans for sabotage under the direction of Col. Hogan are really well done. Until recently, I hadn't realized that Hogan and his crew were actually more or less on assignment from the Underground to remain POWs for the purposes of sabotage and supplying information. Watching with this in mind, it makes more sense as to why no one escaped when they actually all had the means and could. I understand the criticism from the standpoint of minimizing Nazi cruelty and actual prison camp conditions, but this criticism isn't applied to movies (like Stalag 17 or The Great Escape), so it shouldn't be applied here. Hogan and his team take their job and their mission seriously. In the long run, it is an enjoyable show with lots of familiar guest stars, Jews portraying the lead Nazi roles (so they must have been OK with it!) and even Gene Reynolds (one of the creators of "M*A*S*H") directing many episodes.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    I know Nothing. NOOOOOOOOTHing.

    By troybreitmeye, May 01, 2013

    Glad I got every episode before they were pulled from Youtube! Still today, one of my most favorite shows. So, unbelievable, and yet funny. Listen, sometimes, when Kinch has the shortwave on. You can sometimes hear real phrases when they are using morse code. Truly a show that was about, what TV was about!

    Sparky

    0 0

  • 9.0

    A classic show with brilliant acting and some of the best humor in comedy. It's a must watch.

    By DavidMiller22, Sep 01, 2011

    This is what good TV looks like. This show has the ability to have key characters be naive and possibly quite stupid but do it in a way were it makes you love them even more for it. The character chemistry works so well with Holgan and his fellow prisoners operating a covert operation under their dim witted, ignorant but most of all lovable Sgt. Scholttz and theiroverconfident, stubborn, and foolish Kommandant, Colonel Klink. These characters are like a banana, a bowl of ice cream, and chocolate. All good alone but together it turns into an amazing concoction that is delicious, fabulous and hilarious! OK well a banana split might not be hilarious but its still the same idea. Bottom line is that this is a classic show and has all the elements of what makes a comedy great so if you feel like changing up your flavor of comedy put this in your queue and in 3 episodes you'll be hooked.moreless

    2 0

  • 8.5

    The networks today do not know what's FUNNY! They need to watch shows like "Hogan's Heroes" to re-discover the comedy that we like!

    By howellfilm, Dec 17, 2010

    Only in America can you produce and air a program about a POW camp in WWII and make it a popular comedy! And, I love it! Unfortunately, the industry today is run by pre-pubic IDIOTS. Contestants on modern-day game shows (many called "reality" shows) are called "reality STARS". Come on...STARS are people like Bogart and Clooney, NOT Kim Kardasian or talentless Kate Gosselin.



    We need to bring back MORE great shows (and writers) like we had in the 60's (and parts of the 70's and 80's). What's wrong with the networks these days? All they have to do is WATCH Hogan's Heroes" and the other popular shows from that era for a guide. And, what's going on with TV LAND? They seem to have forgotten what they're all about! Write them a letter and protest! And, if they don't go back to shows like Hogan's, call your cable company and tell them to DUMP TV LAND! The market is wide open for a NEW network to run the old programs that we like! Who's going to do it?moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    HUGE FAN!

    By SEMegaWarsIII, Nov 27, 2010

    Im 42 yrs old.My dad watched it while i played on the carpet with my toys in front of the T.V. Thought the series was stupid.



    Then I grew up turned on TVLAND and now im hooked!



    The show is great humor. Shultz is the best..I like to think he is saying "IM NO NAZI" every time he says " I KNOW NOTHING". Im a WW2 fan and like to pride myself on knowing most things about WW2, land sea and air. And I get a kick out of many of the insults directed towards Himmler ,Goering and Hitler Funny stuff.



    They dont make them like this anymore.



    5 STARS ***** !moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    The single most influential show on my life. I am a career Soldier in the U.S. Army, a military historian, and a volunteer at the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum - in large part because of this show's impact on my life.

    By ABNATW, Nov 27, 2010

    I remembered by accident today why I started studying World War II when I was so young...Hogan's Heroes. It was on from 1965-1971, so I was almost 2 until I was almost 8. It was on CBS Friday nights, I think from 1900-1930. I loved that show. Also why POW/Concentration Camps are my second favorite thing to study, after European Theater Airborne operations. There is a Hogan's Heroes marathon on today. I just watched the episode that gave me my favorite, most-quoted, TV line, "Another day, another munitions dump." Very exciting - I have wanted to find that exact episode for years. (And yes, I own boxed sets of all six seasons). I usually hate watching old shows - not smart, savvy enough - but no problems with old episodes of Hogan's Heroes. I understand that it is not historically accurate, but it began 20 years after the end of World War II and helped keep interest in fore...sort of like what "M*A*S*H" did for the Korean War.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Hooogaaannnnnnn

    By comet19, Nov 27, 2010

    One of my favourite shows from the 60's. This show was well written and well acted by all of its main characters. Too bad the politically correct have butchered this show or else it would have alot more fans than it already has. Still with all its negative reviews by TV guide and others its DVD seasons sell very well. The show was consistently good throughout its six year run but it drops a little by season five. The DVD releases are all excellent with lots of extra's and beautifully remastered and very reasonably priced. My advice is to burn your TV guide and turn on Hogan's Heroes.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Hogan's Heroes is the best show ever!!!!

    By cfiso, Mar 14, 2009

    this show is the most clever show I have ever seen. Imagine if real prisoners were like that. It would be funny. I think that before you see this show's dating. watch and episode and then say that it is not funny, exciting, and good for the whole family. Just try not to judge the show by its age. This show shows the tactics that Hogan is smart enough to get out of prison one million times over, and that seargent klink is truly the dumbest man on earth. Watch this show and I know you will definately love it!!!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    The misadventures of a group of allied POWs during the Second World War.

    By Woolsey, Dec 31, 2008

    Hogan's Heroes is something totally unique, with a formula that can never be duplicated. A comedy set in a POW camp? It sounds completely nonsensical, and it is many times, but it also has some great acting and terrific verbal word play and characterizations. The characters are all believable, and a perfect cast was selected, but sometimes the scenarios are totally absurd. The Nazis are portrayed as stereotypically stupid, and never manage to catch on to the Allies wit. Although none of the events that take place on the television show could even have the remotest possibility of happening in reality, the show proves itself to be great, harmless fun.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews