Holmes Inspection

Thursday 8:00 PM on HGTV
9.4
10
9.5
9.0
8.5
8.0
7.5
7.0
6.5
6.0
5.5
5.0
4.5
4.0
3.5
3.0
2.5
2.0
1.5
1.0
N/A
Rate Show
19 votes
Follow
  • Episode Guide
  • S 2 : Ep 13

    Heads Up Heating

    Aired 7/8/10

  • S 2 : Ep 12

    Plumb Unlucky

    Aired 7/1/10

  • S 2 : Ep 11

    Headroom Headache

    Aired 6/24/10

  • S 2 : Ep 10

    A Load of Trouble - Part 2

    Aired 6/17/10

  • S 2 : Ep 9

    A Load of Trouble - Part 1

    Aired 6/10/10

  • Cast & Crew
  • Mike Holmes

    Host

  • Damon Bennett

    Foreman

  • Adam Belanger

    Construction Crew

  • Robert Brown (IV)

    Construction Crew

  • Kate Campbell (II)

    Construction Crew

  • show Description
  • Mike Holmes is Canada's renovation guru who is continuing in his mission to educate potential home buyers with a series that profiles home inspections gone wrong. The show highlights what a qualified home inspector should be looking for before a potential buyer purchases a house.

  • Trivia & Quotes
  • Quotes (126)

    • Mike Holmes: (After inspecting the insulation in the attic) As far as I'm concerned, that sucks.

    • Mike Holmes: Shannon thought it would be a safe bet to buy a 26 year old townhouse. Not too old; have a good track record. The home inspection seemed to go well -- or so she thought. But now she's faced with a lot of problems. i gotta make it right.

    • Mike Holmes: (looking over what the home inspector dismissed as "cosmetic") What are they -- stupid? That's just stupid.

    • (After Mike had just told Damon and the crew that they had to completely disassemble the kitchen to prepare it for the new foundation access they wanted to install) Mike Holmes: You know that this is at least a day here, right? Mike Holmes: (scoffs) How about two? If you can do it in one, I'll be really surprised and I'll buy everyone a coffee. (The whole crew laughs)

    • Kate Campbell: (while she's cutting a hole with a drywall handsaw) We're actually cutting out a piece of the wall to look behind and do some exploratory work to see what's there. I tell ya, i don't need to go to the gym because my arm is aching! It's a good workout.

    • Mike Holmes Jr.: We're trying to, ah, we're trying to dig down four feet to see if we can find the footings for the foundation. Hard as rock! It's frozen clay, so, I mean, you can't get much harder than that unless your shovelling rock. So yeah...it's fun!

    • Damon Bennett: Do they have something else they can use as a kitchen? Are they going to be here? Mike Holmes: Yeah. It's called a restaurant.

    • Mike Holmes: This here is the drain line to the island upstairs. The problem with that is...what do we see? It runnning uphill. Water doesn't run uphill.

    Show More Quotes

    Notes (3)

    • Chris Kastoris, the flooring installer that Mike and Damon regularly call upon, did work on this project, but he did not appear on camera.

    • At the end of this episode, Mike Holmes memorialized Robert Graves, a roofing contractor he worked with closely throughout his career and his personal friend. Robert passed away on September 17 2009.

    • During this job, Damon had brought in an exterminator named Martin Aube. Mike and Damon frequently call upon the services of a chimney specialist who is also named Martin Aube.

    Trivia (13)

    • The stonemasons who reassembled the kitchen island were unidentified and uncredited for their appearances in this episode.

    • The home inspector that Tim and Cathy had used was recommended by the real estate agent. This is always a bad idea as it is a fundamental conflict of interest.

    • The inevitable mould problem that the closed in cold room had caused were especially dangerous for Kris (the homeowner) since she already suffers from lupus.

    • With the exception of actual burst pipes, this home had virtually every seperate kind of water issue that a house could have.

    • The roof vent stack that Paul had gone onto the roof to inspect in the first place had been converted into a roof drain, allowing rainwater to drain off of the roof and into the house's plumbing lines.

    • While opening up the roof to repair the water damage, Steven Graves found a newspaper from 1928 in the insulation. Price: 2 cents.

    • While performing a demolition on the interior of the homeowners' garage, Damon found a wasp nest inside the walls.

    • While on duty and dealing with a shoplifter, Kathy was attacked by her suspect. As he tried to take her gun, she held onto it with both hands so that he could not use it. With both of her hands occupied, he struck her repeatedly in the head, leaving her with a permanent neurological damage.

    Show More Trivia

    Allusions (2)

    • The title of the episode alluded to the fact that one of the homeowners, Clayton, was an artist who spends most of his working hours at a drawing board in the very room that was causing the crew so much difficulty.

    • The title of the episode alludes to the extremely low head clearance Erin and Scott had in their staircase to the basement.

  • Fan Reviews (2)
  • Mike Holmes is BACK!

    By Alex-R, Dec 20, 2009

  • Background music too loud

    By DaveFowler, Dec 27, 2010

  • Related