Duel Citizenship

Episode Reviews (14)

Good
407 votes
7.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 2.5

    Unfunny, offensive and dumb

    By nananabatman, May 04, 2013

    Ted and Marshall decide to make a road trip to Chicago again, like in old times, but Lily joins the duo and spoils it for them. Meanwhile, Barney's trying to make Robin a real American while she is unsure which country she actually belongs to.



    This episode had two plot parts that I didn't enjoy at all and there weren't even really funny moments in it. It had a bad screenplay and every single cast member played below average. This is a stupid episode and quite possibly the worst one this show has had to date.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    Robin is from Canada

    By Lostindharma, Feb 24, 2013

    When we first meet Robin you find out that she is from Canada. What makes Robin such a great character on this show is that is not your stereotypical Canadian you see on TV. Except for the occasional quirk, she is truly Americanized women. These quirks are funny and enjoyable. What was even funnier was the jokes the gang but mainly Barney did on Robin. Due to a misunderstanding (funny storyline) Robin has a chance to be deported. Unlike the previous time this was more funny. Barney drills Robin on test and then he helps her with the test. It was funny how Barney said he would help Robin. What was even funnier how he helped her to become a real American. His answers to help Robin had some truth to them. Again also funny. Robin ends up on a bender and ends up in her homeland. How this all ends up was a nice ending.

    Another good storyline with Ted, Marshall and Lilly. Ted and Marshall have always been friends since college and even when Lilly entered the picture they were a trio. They were a trio even after Marshall and Lilly were married. However somewhere along the line, the trio became Marshall and Lilly with Ted hanging out with them. Ted realizes this and wants to have a guys night out with Marshall to a pizza place in Chicago that they went to in college. Even though this pizza place was bad it was more about the trip. A wrench is thrown in the plan when Lilly decides to join. What follows was pretty entertaining. While this trip to the pizza place was different it help strengthen the realtionship of Ted and Marshall. On a small note, I did enjoy the energy drink Ted, Marshall, and later Lilly had.

    This was a nice episode, especially considering how the last two were.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.5

    one of my favorite episode

    By JohnnyDeFina, Jan 06, 2012

    i do think Robin and Barneys scenes were weak but had their moments but Ted, Marshal, and Lilys scenes made the episode, especially with the flashbacks and when they ditch Lily, great episode

    0 1

  • 4.0

    Offensive episode.

    By Jon_MW_14, Aug 28, 2011

    "Duel Citizenship" was the most offensive How I Met Your Mother episode that I've watched. I'm Canadian and I usually find all the Canadian jokes pretty funny, but in this episode it's just offensive. You think this show would be different when it comes to Canadian jokes, and it past episodes they were, but in this episode they were just like every other show that makes fun of Canada. I hated Barney in this episode. He should of being praising Canada instead of calling it lame. I love when he got beat up. He deserved it. I don't want Robin to have duel citizenship. I think her character should be completely Canadian. The reason I give this episode a 4/10 was because of the subplot. I love the subplot because Marshall and Ted bond in this episode, and they get closer than they were before.moreless

    3 2

  • 1.0

    This show used to be funny and fresh, now it sucks! And become lame

    By cloudav23, Jun 02, 2011

    This show used to be funny and fresh, now it sucks! And become lame... They must stick to the past season story about how Ted met his wife. Because the story focus now on Robin and the Dogie Howser guy (about Barney by the way, i like him as single guy because its more funny and we can not think of him as gay because he is in real life). And please less story about Lily and Marshall because they are the most lame. But it is funny when Marshall act like gay because he is a big guy its so awkwardly funny.moreless

    2 24

  • 4.0

    I don't know what happened to this show..

    By koyettsu, Feb 22, 2011

    I really have no clue what is happening to this show. It went from a very funny entertaining show that at times made my side hurt to a very mediocre show that will make me laugh maybe a few times an episode. There really isn't much to say about this episode. It continues the tread of this show going downhill. I say the end of this show began when they decided to make Barney fall in love with Robin and I stand by the belief that they need to kill this storyline. Barney NEEDS to go back to how he was or this show is dead.moreless

    4 10

  • 8.5

    Not that great, but Tantrum was cool!

    By amazing_race, Feb 14, 2011

    I thought this was quite a boring episode, and I thought the storyline was very weak in some places. The episode was a little funny, with the Robin and BVarney storyline, but overall, it was not that great with Ted and Marshall (and Lily).



    I thought the episode bordered on boring with that story, but if it weren't for barney and Robin, I would've given it a much worse score.



    I wouldn't recommend this one too highly, but it did have its strengths. There have been a couple of somewhat uninteresting episodes for me recently, and I hope that changes soon, before it gets any worse.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.5

    One storyline was great. The other one sucked.

    By TineRua, Nov 04, 2010

    Okay, I get that the inevitable "my best bud is a married guy now, I've lost him forever" story had to come around, but the way they did it in this episode was just lame. Sure, the idea of going to an old college haunt about to be destroyed was a good jumping off point... but the entire storyline was weak.



    As for the Robin and Barney part--personally I loved it. Being a Canadian girl myself--I own four Vancouver Canucks jerseys, thank you very much--a lot of the jokes were things my cousins and friends that live in the States have riffed on a thousand times, especially about the money--but I've never confused a five dollar bill for a fifty here; I went to San Fran a few years ago and did that a dozen times because all the money is the same exact colour.



    Still, the Robin and Barney storyline in this episode had me cracking up the whole way through. I did Philosophy homework during the other half of the episode.moreless

    5 2

  • 8.7

    Robin faces deportation… again.

    By Canogaparkcindy, May 04, 2010

    It's not good when shows start recycling plots, in this case, this show did. This episode got a high rating because it was enjoyable. I enjoyed watching this episode, and I got some laughs along the way. You know why; because I've seen the same thing before. Regardless of it's recycling of plots; it was still funny which has become the show's strong point this season. In this episode, Robin faces deportation when she beats a guy with a chair in her Canadian bar. This was recycled from season 4, when Robin was going to get deported because she had no job. This episode put a spin on it; Robin decides to become an American citizen to remain in the USA. Why didn't you think of that years ago, Robin? Barney trains her America skills, which was copied from That 70's Show, which kind of brought the rating down for me a bit, but the episode put another spin on it when Robin wants to stay Canadian, and she freaks out, gets drunk and wakes up in Canada. Meanwhile, Ted feels left out when all Lilly & Marshall do is spend time together, and things become hasty when Lilly joins on their road trip. Something that their supposed to do alone. This was recycled from the season 1 episode: "The Duel" Instead of a road trip, it was an apartment. Ted "kidnaps" Marshall, and leaves Lilly at the hotel they stayed at so they can have some alone time, they end up getting in a fight when Lilly won't answer any of Marshall's calls. When they return from the (what turns out to be awful) pizza place, they find Lilly sleeping. Turns out, she didn't even notice they were gone. Robin decides to have duel citizenship after Barney rescues her from Canada. This means she will be a citizen of both countries. Why didn't you think of this in the beginning of the episode, Robin? The problem was just too solvable by the end. I thought I really liked the Ted/Marshall plot until they overused the "Tantrum" gag. Especially the cheesy Lilly on top of car, being all hyper, it went a bit too far there. So the good outweighs the bad in this case, it's rewarded with an awesome rating for a funny episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 4.0

    What's happened to this show?

    By Cytrax, Oct 21, 2009

    I mean, it was one of the best shows on TV. First 3 seasons made laugh like no sitcom had managed to do since Friends…then season 4…huge disappointment…and I must say season 5 started very weak as well… Then came Robin 101: One of the show's episodes destined to become a classic, I got that head ache from laughing so hard I hadn't felt since season 3. Then Best. Night. Ever. Which wasn't as good but far better than any 4th season episode… But now this? Really? I ask the writers: In five seasons you have already used every storyline possible so you have to go back to Robin's deportation? Besides, Canada jokes and Marshall and Lily couples jokes are getting old, you are kind of stucked there. Oh and writers, please remember that the show's name is "How I met your mother", you have to give Ted more character development, I mean, I don't ask to see the mother just yet, that would imply that the show's about to end, I just think that we need more of those episodes with hints like the yellow umbrella or the mother being in Ted's class.



    And last but not least: What are you doing with Barney? Are you trying to kill the character? You have to drop the "In Love with Robin" stoyline, you are killing the goose of the golden eggs people!!moreless

    4 9

Load More Reviews