Swarley

Episode Reviews (27)

Great
589 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Swarley's friends get back together

    By Lostindharma, Aug 01, 2012

    Don't read this until you saw the episode. This may contain some spoilers.

    The producers did a good job of getting them back together slowing setting up. But more on that later.

    That was a great start of the episode. It was a shot at Friends but it was done a light hearted way. Swarley. What a great name and the jokes never got old. How Chloe got Barney from Swarley and I think one reason to believe Chloe was not all there. When you watch this episode, you don't realize it.

    This was another classic story telling of two different tales. Your opinion of Chloe changes a lot in this episode. You went from thinking she's cute, to crazy, to normal and back to crazy. More on that soon. Ted and Barney had it right on the head about her.

    The ending was great and the producers and writers did a great job of setting up Marshall and Lilly back together again. What Lilly did to Marshall, even from the biggest feminist can be seen mean to Marshall. At the same time the door was not closed on their relationship. It was a nice touch that the same place they broke up, they got back together.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Marshall goes out with someone not named Lily and Barney gets a new nickname.

    By pudgebyrd722, May 05, 2012

    Marshall asks out the girl at the coffee shop that he believes likes him. This is the same girl who accidentally gives Barney his "Swarley" nickname that will never stop haunting him, and she says yes. So they go out and Lily tries to act fine but she's dying inside, so she tries hunting this woman down. The others try to help keep her calm by saying it'll never last, saying she definitely has "the crazy eyes". Then a lot of, well, crazy things begin happening and Marshall is almost convinced that Chloe does have the crazy eyes. But all of these crazy things, it turns out, are linked back to jealous Lily. Marshall and Lily finally get back together on the doorsteps of the apartment while the others give "Swarley" hell. This was a great episode and I'm glad that Marshall and Lily are finally back together, each with the person they should be with. And the tactics others used to torture Swarley were hilarious.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.9

    Best episode ever!!!

    By BabyKitten199, Sep 03, 2011

    I was soooooooooooo upset when Marshall & Lily broke up last season & I have been waiting for them to get back together since she returned from San Francisco & realized what a mistake she'd made. I loved it when she revealed that she was the hunchback w/a limp chasing after Chloe! Chloe totally sounded crazy on the phone with Marshall & it was hilarious to see how the pieces fit together in the end. I missed why Barney is called "Swarley" but who cares, Marshall & Lily are back together again!!! I hope the rest of the season is just as good!!!





    (I also agree with whomever wrote that the episodes are better when the focus isn't on Robin & Ted.)moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Barney gets a new nickname.

    By Jon_MW_14, Aug 16, 2011

    "Swarley" is one of my favourite How I Met Your Mother episodes. It's actually in MY Top 5 How I Met Your Mother episodes. I love how Marshall gets a date, and Barney tells her she has crazy eyes. I love the crazy eyes. I love how both Ted and Barney reminisce about girls they been with who had the crazy eyes. I love how Lily tries to follow Chloe and find out who she is. I love how Lily and Marshall get back together in this episode. I also love Barney's nickname Swarley. I love how everyone starts calling him Swarley and he hates hit. I love how he pretends to like it, but then ends up admitting he still hates it. I give this episode a 10/10.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.5

    Season 2, Episode 7.

    By Wanted23, May 03, 2011

    This episode was OK. I didn't like the Barney plot, at all. Swarley is the stupidest name. The best part about that storyline was that Robin got a Spanish magazine subscription sent to his house under the name Swarlos. Haha, I love Robin. Otherwise, the episode was OK I guess. I didn't catch the whole thing. However, Chloe, the coffee lady, was pretty weird. It was a cool plot though. Lily was so jealous. I liked the flashback to Ted's crazy ex-girlfriend. Yay, Lily and Marshall are finally back together! I loved when Lily was sneaking around in the apartment and jumped back in between them. Good episode. Marshall and Lily back together 11-6-06. Awesome. :)moreless

    1 1

  • 9.0

    Lilly & Marshall get back together.

    By Canogaparkcindy, Oct 11, 2010

    An eventful episode, Lilly & Marshall finally get back together after 6 months of being apart, but of course there had to be some buildup to get there. Marshall meets someone new, and Lilly gets jealous, basically stalks Chloe to see if she's pretty and then she hides in Marshall's apartment when Marshall is on a date with Chloe. Meanwhile Marshall is trying to figure out if Chloe is crazy or not. When someone mistakes Barney's name, and calls him Swarley: It catches on and soon everyone starts calling him Swarley. Him getting so bothered by it was hilarious, and that final scene in the bar with everyone calling him Swarley was hilarious. Just when Chloe & Marshall were going to kiss, Lilly jumps out in between them, she goes outside to cry and they finally kiss and get back together. Coincidentally Barney & Ted are walking along and they see them together. It also mentions how Marshall was in the season finale compared to now. Things definitely have changed. Robin needs a plot of her own, lately she's just been a side character or just sucked in to a relationship plot with Ted. What happened to plots that were related to her career? Anyways a great eventful episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    One of my favourite eps

    By jgriffiths, Apr 09, 2010

    I love this episode definately one of the best of the entire show. Seeing Marshall and Lily get back together was terrific. Barney stole the episode however with his reaction to being nicknamed Swarley. Everyone's efforts to annoy him with the new nickname was hilarious and the variations of Swarley were epic.

    I really liked chloe in this episode and Lily's attempt to make Marshall feel bad for seeing her. The crazy eyes examples were quite good to. If you want a good HIMYM drinking game try drinking everytime some says Swarley or some variation of it, works a treatmoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Crazy and funny episode defining characters´ psyche scarcely with a few brushstrokes...

    By robiolin, Aug 31, 2009

    This episode comparing a Coffee and a Pub, scent of glorious past tv moments, maybe, is absoltely gorgeous and well woven, even when there are some gaps (for example when the gang got surprised about the explanation on the Crazy Eyes stuff, previously spoken). I have just enjoyed a lot when Ted and Robin are trying to find different ways to create so many variations on Barney's new nick . A. Hannigan is awesome with her performance of a hunchbacked `being´, resulting sorta a strange limp-man in the rain. And the voice... fabulous. I´ve been laughing for days!!! remembering that. One of the best situations ever in the show not only in that punctual scene, but the way it is related to the nervous Chloe, previously explaining something which seemed to be a crazy mind thought... 10!!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    One of my favorite episodes, funny, and a great couple got back together.

    By Bmiles76, Jan 10, 2008

    I think that this is one of my favorite episodes overall. I loved how people were calling Barney funny Swarley nicknames. I wish they would have had more actually. And the "I wanna go where everybody knows my name" was definately classic too. And what also made this episode great was how Marshall and Lily got together again and i loved how they said she had an even worse case of crazy eyes than the other girls. I would definately watch this episode again someday. I've watched the other episodes and there aren't any more Swarley nick names any more I am pretty bummed about that.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Swarlos.

    By HaveSumFaith, Dec 27, 2007

    this was such a great episode. it has two main parts, both being very entertaining. it is one of my favorites, first is swarley. barney gets the name swarley written on his cup, and everyone starts to call him that. theysaid stuff like swarles barkley and bob swarley man. those two were classic. barney even tries to call robin something else, but the gangdoesnt think its as funny as swarley. and at the end with the cheers reference, where everyone said swarley, tht was cool. also in this episode is crazy eyes, hence the title. marshall is dating this woman with crazy eyes, and everyone warn him. lilly chasing her was hilarious. shecalled hera hunchback old man with a limp. that made marshall think se was crazy. but in the end, after all the funnieness, lilly and marshall get back together. all happy in the end.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews