Show Reviews (76)

1,606 votes
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    This smart slickly done show is the best

    By bradhurley737, Jul 02, 2013

    I was a fan of the American show "Leverage" first but thanks to AXSTV for putting on reruns of "Hustle" here in the States, it is obvious that it was the model for "Leverage" (although it is a bit more physical in nature in their cons using ropes and what not). And they have the token American (Robert Vaughn) in there. I think Adrian Lester is a brilliant actor and Hollywood should give him a shot, if he wants it.

    0 0

  • 8.0

    Hustle - The 'Oceans' of TV.

    By akshit05, Oct 14, 2011

    Hustle is my first British TV show. Before watching this show, I was told that British Television was full of boring stereotypes. But, Hustle really stood out for me as it was witty, entertaining, slick and stunningly stylish. The show is about a group of diversely skilled con artists who perform a series of scams and heists which are elaborate and challenging. It first looked like an Oceans rip-off but came into its own as the pilot progressed.

    Adrian Lester plays the clever, charming con man 'Mickey Stone' who has a perfect record in conning the rich. He is the leader of these 'pros of con' and completely outclasses rest of the cast on screen except Danny Blue (Marc Warren), a young talented short con expert who tries to join Mickey's team. Marc Warren certainly adds a touch of class and elegance to the show by his super comic skills and sarcastic nature.

    Another unique quality of this show is the 'freeze frame' shot along with 'thought tracking' in which time stops so that the characters can explain the minute details of the sting. The technicians crew have to be credited for this amazing camera-work. The writers also have done a great job by adding plenty of twists and turns in the plot, thus, making it worth watching.

    I have only watched the pilot till now and for that I would give it 8/10 but the show is bound to get better with time.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.5

    Hustle is a show that keeps you guessing

    By Thejokercard, Mar 14, 2011

    You end up trying to figure out how they manage to get themselves out of whatever situation they're in or how they are going to con someone, when you find out how the hustle gang has managed it you realise how clever the show can be! This show has a good balance between the hustle gangs personal life and between their work. Sometimes you might be able to guess how but almost always you won't guess it all. Some parts in the show seem pointless but when it all comes together it makes you think you definitely wouldn't be able to become a grifter.moreless

    3 0

  • 3.5

    This is one of my favourite shows, but this 2nd episode failed to live up to the famous recipe. The fellowship is broken.

    By ansaar99, Jan 14, 2011

    I was excited as hell to get into the series. I liked the first episode, which wasnt the best but was fairly imaginative. This episode however was fully of uncomfortably long irrelevant conversations, dry and mundane delivery, camera shots trying to fill in the gaps and more character concentration than plot. Ok, so there are two new players, but the shows about cons, so lets have more of the cons. Who is this Matt Di Angelo anyway? He is dry and boring as hell. Danny was irritating, but funny on occasions and had some character. Matt is a plank of wood so far.

    I just hope this was a one off, and theres much more pace and action next episode.moreless

    1 10

  • 9.9

    Roll on season 6. It can't be wors then season 5.

    By pghj2005, Aug 04, 2009

    I love this show. Or maybe i should say loved. Season 1-3 were brilliant i watched every episode, then went out and brought the box sets. Season 4, Was good but i missed the interactions between danny and micky, I watched them all but didn't buy the box set. Then came season 5, I get micky back but loose danny and stacey, to be replaced by a new yummy male an a cute female, whos characters instantly anoy me. However i give the show a chance, and am so disapionted i only watch the first three episodes. Still hopefully the new season will have improved.moreless

    0 2

  • 8.5

    Some episodes have been amazing - Seasons 1 -3 were the best

    By sramv9, May 24, 2009

    This show is still very watchable but in its prime it was amazing. I would rate a lot of the season 1 to 3 episodes very highly. That's when the cast was the strongest - later in season four there was no Micky and now in season five Stacie and Danny are gone :-( Overall, the show really stylishly and wittily spins out the cons though, and it is fun to watch. The characters have their own moral code that they don't con people who aren't greedy - for example they would not rip off little old ladies on pensions or honest business people. The technique and psychology of the con is talked about eloquently by the characters - - especially Albert Stroller - so you feel like you are learning these inside secrets of something usually well hidden. I think in some small ways this show has made me see the world a little differently and how many tv shows can you say that about? Favourite episode: Albert's Challenge (but best watched with a bit of a grounding in the characters and storylines).moreless

    3 3

  • 9.0


    By taylor1308, Feb 16, 2009

    I think that Hustle is just as good as it has always been. Seasons one to three were the best and i would say they were better than four and now 5. This is probably because season 3 didn't have mickey in it and now five is missing danny and stacie. However, i'm a fan of the show and will still be watching every episode. Just because it's missing a few favourites doesn't mean i'll abandon it. Will still watch it until it finishes and will still enjoy it. No matter who's in it, it's just as funny as always and the way pull off each con is fantastic. Really interesting and fun to watch.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    The art of the con, "getting something for nothing." Hustle is a show that is in a league of its own! Amazing pace with plot twists and turns everywhere.

    By song85, Jul 01, 2008

    Hustle is a show about a group of grifters(con artists) who work together on elaborate long cons. Each episode shows the crew trying to hustle a big score, and on they way they pull off smaller cons to raise money. What is so great about this show, is that you think you know what is happening, but each episode throws you a curve ball at the end. The audience usually has no idea whats going on until the very end, when the amazing plan B has worked like a charm. The characters are very well written as well as the script. Quick witty remarks, action, and the cons, make Hustle the show to watch!moreless

    4 0

  • 9.2

    Hustle - four seasons of high quality episodes

    By inaralover, Jan 13, 2008

    Hustle is an ensemble show about a team of con-artists who work together to pull elaborate 'long cons' (cons that take anywhere from a few hours to a few days to plan and implement). There are some exceptions, but, in general, this team tries to target moral lowlights (not that grifters are exactly capable of taking the moral high ground). Hustle has occasional moment of violence, where the tension level is raised, but for the most part, the show has a light feel and it is obvious that the stars are going to come out of the other side unscathed (although there's no guarantee the cons will succeed).moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    its an amazinhg show, however in season 4 it is just not the same without mickey. 10/10

    By jono31192, Nov 02, 2007

    an amazing show. a con crew based in london, they work the long con getting huge takings. it is so amazing after you have watched it you feel like you have been conned as well. it is written and directed very well, you cannot fault the programme the only problem is that in season 4 mickey is not there and he was the best character so that season is still good but it cannot match up to the amazingness of 1-3.abolutely. watch it it is addictive. actors are amazing storylines are untouchable. un comparable to anything else. 100% ., 10/10 ,. bring on the next seasonsmoreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews