I Dream of Jeannie

Show Reviews (34)

Great
1,185 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Magic Women of the 60s

    By anastasia1243, Feb 08, 2014

    Few ep (09)

    0 0

  • 10

    I Dream of Jeannie With the Blond Hair

    By daniellemccullers3, Oct 23, 2013

    I loved this show when I was a little girl as well. I saw the black & white episodes as well as the ones in color. Thanks to sites like & Hulu, I can really have a good time watching the shows I used to watch when I was a little girl. And it's never a waste of time, either! Seeing shows like this again make me age slower. I'm so happy I get another chance in my life to watch these wonderful shows. Thanksmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Larry Hagman's comic timing and physical slapstick

    By danshumway90, Jul 06, 2013

    I have been watching Larry Hagman closely in the IDOJ reruns and I think he is BRILLIANT! He does many of his own pratfalls and physical stunts and has the perfect comedic timing to portray a formerly cool dude who's life becomes a chaotic mess due to a well-intentioned but meddling, bumbling genie named Jeannie. Larry Hagman is very under-appreciated and under-recognized for his comedic genius. I love this show so much. It definitely belongs in the top 5 TV comedy shows ever. When the writers decided to get them married, it became cute and sweet and romantic too. I wish it went on forever. Thank heavens for reruns!!!!moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Total Laugh Riot!

    By Deanna_T, Oct 07, 2010

    When it comes to classic, older shows, one show comes to mind, and that show is I Dream of Jeanie. The show's jokes carry their weight though time and still come off as funny and well executed, instead of cheesy and tired like other shows of the 60's, even today. I used watch IDJ when I was child, and laughed at the jokes, and I still bust a gut every time I watch my DVD’s. The joke timing between Genie, Tony, and Roger is impeccable. Especially when Dr. Bellows is involved and trying to get Major Nelson to tell what is going on. Such as elephants in Tony’s room, Roger with frost bite, Genie’s dog Gingin attacking the general, Genie wanting to marry Tony, Genie playing with Dr. Bellow's mind with his dinner, the list goes on and on, and the moments instant classics. Heck...What little girl hasn’t tried to clean their room by blinking, or crossing their arms and moving their heads? Or rubbing bottles to find a genie of their very own? When it comes to the acters, I can't think of brighter, talented, well dispositioned, happier cast then the IDG crew...amazing chemisty between the main three folks (Tony, Genie, and Roger), with Tony's easygoingness and charm leading Genie on, Genie's spunk and grace smoothly mixing with Tony's more mature character, and Roger's tact and wit blending tightly for the perfect joke, and the most unforgettable cast I have ever seen on Tv thus making IDJ the ultimate feel good show for the ages! One more thing, doesent it seem like every generation of girls who the shpw always seem to fall in love with Tony? Me and my friends have and we are in our teens! Our mothers also liked the show and were in love with him also...hmmmm.

    moreless

    6 1

  • 9.9

    The Best

    By mulderNscully95, Sep 14, 2008

    Following in the magical fantasy footsteps of Bewitched (1964-1972), I Dream of Jeannie was one of the classic sitcoms of the 1960s. Perched precariously between the conservative 1950s and the sexual revolution, it was both a paragon of wish fulfillment and a product of the Cold War and the Space Race, thanks to the memorable device of making the hero an astronaut. This four-DVD set collects the first season, consisting of 30 half-hour episodes.



    The concept is no doubt familiar to just about everyone thanks to endless years of syndication, but briefly, in the pilot episode Captain (later Major) Anthony Nelson (Larry Hagman) is shot off in a rocket for a mission, but something goes wrong and he's forced to land on a desert isle. Instead of Gilligan and friends, he finds a bottle that contains a genie named Jeannie (Barbara Eden). She immediately falls in love, and although Nelson frees her from her servitude, she's delighted to continue in his service back at Cocoa Beach, Florida. But a genie isn't the sort of thing you can explain to the Air Force, so Tony has to keep her under wraps. When Jeannie invariably makes trouble by trying to help, base psychiatrist Dr. Alfred Bellows (Hayden Rorke) is determined to find out what secret Nelson is hiding, or go nuts himself in the process.



    Initially, Tony Nelson was strapped with a fiancée, Melissa (Karen Sharpe), but she and her father (Philip Ober) were briskly written out of the series and were gone by episode 4. But Melissa does serve the purpose of setting up the theme of Jeannie's sexual jealousy and possessiveness over Tony. The show was fairly radical for its time, featuring a scantily clad young woman living with a man not her husband, and certainly not in a platonic relationship. Jeannie's attempts to appeal to Tony are the focus of some good episodes, such as G.I. Jeannie, in which she attempts to join the WAPs in order to become Tony's secretary. In The Americanization of Jeannie, she decides to remake herself in the model of women's magazines, and soon is out of control with Tony's credit cards, among other problems, an episode sure to rankle the feminists. In Too Many Tonys, she creates a second Tony, who's eager to marry her, which understandably causes significant confusion.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.8

    It's about the wonderfully crazy things that happen when an astronaut becomes Jeannie's master.

    By FantasyDreamer8, Jun 19, 2008

    For a show in the 60's, I Dream of Jeannie is absolutely amazing. It has evil sisters, magic, action, romance, comedy, and best of all it's in color. The situations that occur are completely crazy. It is somewhat like Bewitched only much more fun to watch. The acting is awesome and the characters are very charismatic. The show has perfectly clean humor like every other show in the sixities, making it great for families and individual viewers. After a few episodes it feels like you're going to visit old firends and that's what makes it so great. It's light, silly, and the hair is fantastic.moreless

    2 1

  • 7.7

    Old, decent comedy .. always a pleasure.

    By immortalpayne, Jul 02, 2007

    I was looking through my collection of DVDs when I got my hands on Season 2 and Season 3 of 'I Dream of Jeannie'. Sitcoms have fascinated me since I started watching Friends, and then moved on to That '70s Show. I didn't really remember watching 'I Dream of Jeannie' ever before, so I thought of giving this one a try too.



    It's about an astronaut who finds a Jeannie, and that's just where the adventure begins. There's a whole lot of magic and pretty decent comedy. I was actually bored when I went on with watching the first couple of episodes, but it got better after that. It's a show good enough for the time it was made in. You can't really compare it with what we have these days. But I must say my parents love the show.



    Go for it if you have time enough to spare. Nothing really out of the ordinary though.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.9

    i dream of jeannie lo mejor del mundo

    By locasowilito, Jun 12, 2007

    la mejor del mundo por algo no es una comedia de comedias

    es una comedia que tiene un gran diferencia con las demas y eso es en todo los aspectos , primeramente los actores que son de primera y los episodios , las ocurencias y en verdad esta serie es unica a comparacion con echisada , ahi algunas personas que dicen que es una copia de echisada , peor si es que fuera una copia no seria tan fantastica como es no , i dream of jeannie es una serie que nunca va pasar de moda pase loq ue pasemoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    If I think of TV shows from the 1960s one of the first shows that pop in my mind is "I Dream of Jeannie".

    By LianeCartman, Feb 23, 2007

    "I Dream of Jeannie" is a 110% better than it's rival show "Bewitched". Jeannie never did remakes on the same plot. Each Jeannie episode had a different plot. "Bewitched" on the other hand did different episodes on the same plot. Jeannie always made me laugh. I loved the episodes when Jeannie's evil sister Jeannie II made appearances on the show. Jeannie & Jeannie II are as different as night and day. Jeannie was more fun than Samantha (Bewitched) because no but Tony and later Roger knew that Jeannie existed for several seasons.



    The first season (b&w) were classics in my opinion. I loved the way Jeannie's bottle was decorated on the inside where she slept.



    A perfect family show!moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews