Coalition of the Willing

Episode Reviews (29)

Superb
523 votes
9.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.8

    Great show in an amazing series.

    By DaveyDave, Nov 17, 2011

    This episode has the best use of a popular song in it. When the acoustic of Times like These by the Foo Fighters is played and Stanley (with no Armed Forces experience) scouts the activities in New Bern. It almost seemed like the song was written for that moment. "I'm . . I'm a little divided, do I stay or run away, and leave it all behind" while Stanley is running for cover to get into a better position, made the hairs on my arms stand up. It is already a powerful song but used in this episode made for one of the greatest TV moments I have ever witnessed.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Fantastic!!! The plotlines are all coming together. The story is riveting! I can't wait for the season finale. Next season is seeming years away.

    By doktorzeep, Jun 10, 2011

    Wonderful program. I can't wait to see it every week. This episode is a stand alone great one. I love how they are inclusive to each episode but still lead you to the next full force. Classic serial, wonderful plot driven television. The characters seem as you could know them yourself. And it's interesting to see how "normal" people react under incredible duress. Amazing show!!!

    6 0

  • 8.5

    Coalition of the the many!

    By sosoCraig, Jan 13, 2008

    Although Hawkins managed to blow up the mortar weapon factory in New Bern, New Bern has stockpiled several hundreds. Those mortars find their way to Jericho's streets. A demand by that S.O.B. mayor from New Bern for farms or Jericho gets it falls on deaf ears and Jericho is hit again. Gray freaks when he realizes his town is under attack and realizes he has to do something...as if! Heather is no where to be seen but Jonah reappears. Hawkins comes through again with an armory full of guns and ammunition. It's no longer the United States, it's no longer brotherly American love, it's down to survive or die.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

    By anass6891, Dec 30, 2007

    bgggggg hh lksjdf mskjhse mhzef mhuzerfs moshgdfg iuers kshfks jsfbhs iugser ugser ygsf sufser ms f ierfgsgsdgdt fgsd dgr dg g g g g g g g g g g g g g gs s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s ss s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s ss s s smoreless

    1 1

  • 9.6

    New Bern starts to bomb Jericho with mortar shells.

    By expatriot, Oct 18, 2007

    Fabulous episode full of tension and drama, major drama and human drama.



    The human drama was shown by Mary welcoming back Eric and by Emily, witnessing her father shooting someone from New Bern in cold blood. Johnston's appeal to Dale for help was very poignant.



    Gray finally has to admit that he needs Johnston's help in dealing with what amounts to civil war and a hostile invasion.



    I loved Hawkins' comment about how he never expected Jericho to become his home and I loved that he and his wife seem to have resolved at least some of their differences.



    The scene were Jake is offering a weapon to everyone willing to accept one is scary.



    Outstanding episode!!moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    Review

    By cavanagh15, Sep 07, 2007

    Well deserved of the highest rating among season 1 episodes, certianly my favorite episode of the season up until this point. This episode had everything you could ever want - no filler scenes and a main plot throughout the entire episode. The only scene you could say was filler was Mary and Erics reuniion, but nobody can say that wasnt a needed part of the episode to begin with.



    Everything is coming to a head this season, with Jericho fighting for its survival with the rival town of New Burn. Jericho and Jonah won the first round of battles that consisted of gaining weapons that New Burn was using to hit them, but the fight has only just begun.



    I thought the scene with everyone taking over the New Burn people with the mortors was a great scene. Everyone was in it that we have grown to love this season. Also like the unspoken decline in power that was Gray and Johnsons scene. Gray realized that there is no way he can make the big decisions under pressure like Johnson can and I thought that was a very well written part in terms of the show for character devolopment. All sets up for an exciting finale, lets hope it doesnt dissapoint.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.2

    Definitely one of the best episodes of this serie.

    By Parricida, Jun 17, 2007

    First I had some really second thought if to watch this serie but for episodes like this, it shows that this serie has so much to offer. They have great characters and the story, motion... It really catches the eye and you just cannot notice when those 42 minutes pass. And when it is over, you cannot wait for another episode.



    What this episode has special? I think this episode is somehow turn point - when season started with big boom, then got some slow tunes and then started to build the heat, then now everything explodes. And not only literally.



    So, this is most episode - and get ready as after this, you just have to see the season finale!moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    great episode

    By sfviewer, May 14, 2007

    Jericho wakes up one day to be shelled by a couple of mortar rounds. The mortars land right next to the town hall injuring some residents. They receive a message from constantino demanding that jericho gives up a number of their farms in exchange for a peaceful coexistence. When Jericho refuses to comply with the demands of constantino they get shelled again. Mayor Anderson talks of surrendering and accepting the terms of New Bern, but a few of the residents of Jericho are hardened souls, they wouldn't give in easily. This episode is pivotal to the storyline of the series, it's starting to get exciting.moreless

    5 0

  • 10

    great episode

    By sfviewer, May 14, 2007

    Jericho wakes up one day to be shelled by a couple of mortar rounds. The mortars land right next to the town hall injuring some residents. They receive a message from constantino demanding that jericho gives up a number of their farms in exchange for a peaceful coexistence. When Jericho refuses to comply with the demands of constantino they get shelled again. Mayor Anderson talks of surrendering and accepting the terms of New Bern, but a few of the residents of Jericho are hardened souls, they wouldn't give in easily. This episode is pivotal to the storyline of the series, it's starting to get exciting.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.7

    Great episode, I was bored by some of the earlier episodes, but this one has stood out!

    By Frainc, May 09, 2007

    This series hasnt been the most appealing for me. Firstly, the acting seems awful and the characters are very uncomplicated and dull at the best of times. Although, this episode was incredibly exciting and the plot makes up for the lack of character development. This series seems to be a cross between Little House on the Prairie and Band of Brothers. This episode kept me entertained for the full 42 minutes.

    3 0

Load More Reviews