Termination for Cause

Episode Reviews (18)

Superb
393 votes
9.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.8

    Yet another incredibly exciting episode which again proves how hard the writers are trying to save the series.

    By whiteraven2005, Aug 06, 2010

    I finally get around to doing this review only to find out that Jericho's been cancelled again. My heart's not in this review but I'm gonna write it anyway but it's gonna be short.



    It shows how much Jake has come to trust Beck that he's the first person Jake goes to. With bigger fish to fry – New Bern again – he leaves Jericho in Jake's hands and though Jake tries, the situation quickly gets out of hand. Without Beck to keep Goetz on a leash, Goetz actually declares the med centre a hostage situation and starts kidnapping people's families! Our traitor Fred is finally exposed, he's lucky no-one shot him. The siege was excellently done. After the disclosure about Jake's semi-military past, we see him searching with Hawkins, very efficient, very cool.



    Stanley killing Goetz was a shock – usually in tv series, the hero will always stop his best friend from doing something bad, the bad guy will get his justice in the end. Not in Jericho, which has not been pulling the punches in season 2, and Stanley actually does kill Goetz. Which of course, is incredibly bad. No matter what they do, Beck will find out, too many people know what really happened. Gotta admit, the look on Goetz's face when he gets fired is one of those little moments that make you all warm inside. Brilliant to get him fired before he dies, J&R won't retaliate.



    New Bern is a powder keg that's been waiting to blow since the New Bern War and no surprise that Heather's on their short list, a prestigious list that includes Goetz too.



    Some truly great moments in this episode but my favourite was Stanley signing a conversation to Bonnie. Very touching. Beautifully done. Another scene I enjoyed was Stanley going to see Mimi. Naturally she starts apologising, she'll always blame herself for Bonnie, but Stanley doesn't allow it, instead saying that Bonnie would glad she was able to save Mimi.



    Another very intense episode in a series of such episodes in season 2, the writers are managing to keep up the tension effortlessly with each episode, without ever being repetitive. Really impressive.moreless

    3 1

  • 9.5

    Thrilling episode...

    By Parricida, Aug 06, 2010

    Oh.. Again a really superb episode - they really are doing amazing job with those and to cancel after this - the ones making decisions are crazy.



    It starts like a bitter aftermath of last episode happenings and soon turns into the crises between Ravenwood and Rangers who stand on their way to luckily survived Mimi. And it is not so easy - one of their own turns against them, a lot of excitement and action, cleverly plotted storyline. And then the end on the field - the way it was done - a little victory and then the end of the things what had boiling all episode - Goetz is killed by Stanley. And the way it was done - so much speaking, so impressive, emotional. Thing he would never do but for revenge for his sister.. he is able to over come that line..



    And the totally last scene - the picture.. it was again.. well done.moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    great episode

    By sfviewer, Aug 06, 2010

    Jake and his rangers defy Goetz authoritarian rule over jericho. a jericho ranger betrays his own fellow rangers. heather's friends from new bern comes to jericho to warn her that there is a bounty on her head for being closely associated with major beck. they tell her that the bounty for her will be disregarded if she helps them catch goetz. this is a really exciting episode, the ravenwood threat makes everything so exciting. i can't wait for the next episode. the writers are coming up with a really cool episode each week. the stories are tight, the characters are fleshed out. great episode.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.5

    Jericho takes on Ravenwood

    By bitihal, Mar 19, 2008

    When Jericho takes on Ravenwood I remembered exactly why I watch this show! The first season was thrilling and exciting and I could not wait to see every next episode. Season two was even better when you look at the new developments and new characters but I missed the thrill I had during the first season. Untill now that is! This show continues to provide drama, excitement, action and has an original cliffhanger at the end of each episode. The way humans and their greed/ego/fight for survival are shown makes it even more interesting to watch. And this episode is a great example and I hope Jericho stays on for a long time.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.3

    Self defense has new meaning now.

    By sosoCraig, Mar 17, 2008

    This show picks up right where the last one left off. It was touching the moments Stanley spent with Bonnie's body. Very gripping writing there and the scene was expertly played out. Goetz claiming self defense and his subsequent firing didn't come as a shock. What did come as a shock was his final moments as Jake and the New Bern guy just stand there as Stanley strolls up and takes revenge for his sister's death. The hanging from the tree was an added bonus for the Bonnie's death.



    Perhaps Stanley can cry self defense to Beck and unlike Goetz...get away with it...moreless

    1 0

  • 9.6

    cant believe they almost cancelled this show.

    By efesdark, Mar 16, 2008

    cant believe they almost cancelled this show. it keeps getting better and better. the whole plot seems more intriguing and exciting than ever. the first season was really good with the setting of characters and giving you the feel of the whole story. but this season reveals unlimited possibilities. There are some tv shows that go on for seasons with less and less character development and more boring and repetative story lines. Yeah should name no names after all but 7 seasons of meteor freaks and an insecure super-guy who just can not put on the cape and be done with it... c'mon guys be realistic!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    Fantastic. Jericho works brilliant as a shorter series

    By stonerose, Mar 16, 2008

    Five episodes in to the this shortened season of 8 and Jericho is still great tv. I suppose due to the short length this season the writing and direction can be alot more focused without the need for padding and filler episodes (which occured far too often in season 1) I really hope Jericho gets picked up for another season because on the basis of the past Five episodes this show is one of the best on television right now. After a shocking and suspensful episode last week it was great to see this episode picking up right after the end of episode 4. It was good to see the suspense still right there will the ever increasing evil of Goetz hanging around (no pun intended) and more action again with the standoff in the hospital and Hawkins doing what he does best. Only 3 more episodes remain, and on the way the last Five have played out its going to be a great finale, and maybe a great season 3.moreless

    0 0

  • 2.5

    One of the better villians

    By saiga762, Mar 15, 2008

    At least the acting has gotten a little better, although still not very good. So far Season 2 is better overall, but the premise of Season 1 and it's apocalyptic survival scenario made it most interesting for those who are of the survivalist subculture. But again, the bad acting really ruined Season 1. The only good actor is the Black dude. *SPOILER* And why was the best villain so far killed off? And why did he only embezzle $10k? He could have easily made more while looting, etc. Make it a little believable. And enough of the weapons drawn every 10 minutes. So damn stupid. And why do they have to rack the slide every time? Wouldn't most law enforcement keep a round chambered at all times and especially during such volatile situations? Shouldn't a round get ejected every time they rack it?moreless

    2 32

  • 9.9

    This show just keeps getting better and better.

    By ATragicOffense, Mar 13, 2008

    Out of all the seasons of shows I've ever watched. This is my favorite season. Ever. I've loved every single episode. But this is the best. We find out several things about Jennings and Rall, we see Jericho's finest at their finest, (Jake and Hawkins fighting side by side!) and our heroes make a stand against their enemies.

    And we finally get to see what the Rangers can do when they need to. SPOILERS BEYOND THIS POINT:

    We also get to see Stanley recuperating after his sister's death. Which brings us to the conclusion of the episode which was amazing. Stanley gets his revenge and at the same time condemns Jericho to Beck's wrath. I can't wait til next Tuesday.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews