Winter's End

Episode Reviews (28)

Superb
464 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    April goes into labor

    By sosoCraig, Jan 06, 2008

    April goes into labor early and has the baby. The baby dies which broke my heart. Then April died! I was absolutely shocked at this turn of events. Eric was with her which was nice at her end. I was severely disappointed in this turn of events, however. Why is it writers are determined to kill off the nice people but drag out story arc's like Hawkins? Stanley and most of the good people left are off to New Bern and promising away part of their spring crop at the same time. I just don't understand what exactly they are doing that for.



    It was an extremely downer episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    April goes into labor.

    By expatriot, Oct 16, 2007

    What a bittersweet episode.



    I was surprised that the writer had the guts to let April die. I always liked her so I wasn't too happy about that, but it did lead the way to some new, potentially interesting storylines.

    Eric going away and Heather not returning with the wind turbine makes me wonder whether everything is OK. Will Eric and Heather need rescueing sometime in the future??



    Dale standing up for himself and getting some girl action was a good development, I thought. I hope he's growing up.



    Stanley and Mimi, what can I say. It was on the cards and finally it happened. I'm glad for them and with the little bonding between Mimi and Bonnie, it might just work out, especially with Stanley gone too. I just hope he returns quickly, I like Stanley...moreless

    1 0

  • 8.1

    Review

    By cavanagh15, Sep 05, 2007

    April randomly going into the hospital was a decent storyline because of the character devolopment that spanded from it, but it didnt make for the most exicting of an episode. After April died I thought the episode got some life to it, with the conclusion to the trade coming in the episode as well as two huge character devolopments.



    Mimi and Stanleys scene together was huge. Just to see how far they have come since the beginning of the show was just great. Dale and his girl finnaly doing something was another nice moment in the episode, again that happens in the end of the episode.



    Heather not being there was interesting, either she grew away from Jake or something happened to her that we dont really know yet. Eric also made a huge commitment in this epsiode, leaving the town for a while to help build the windmills. Im sure we wont see him for a while, but his storyline needed a little something anyway. Overall, one of the worst of the season but the ending of it was solid.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.1

    great episode

    By sfviewer, Apr 07, 2007

    April collapses at work and goes into early labor. Jake gets the drunk Kenchy to come to the hospital to treat April. Hawkins is having problems with his personal life as his wife refuses to talk to him. Dale confronts a farmer who refused to honor passed deals with Gracie. This episode looks good, it slows down a notch after the high octane episode of the previous episode. It's a good one though, the writers fleshed out all the main characters, the supporting casts did well, the story didn't look dry, there's some fluidity in every scene, it's a watchable episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.1

    Thought this show was faltering, however the second half of this episode reedeemed Jericho for me

    By stonerose, Apr 02, 2007

    I have to admit i was getting slightly bored with Jericho, gone is the tension about the bomb and all the suspicion and gone is the mystery surrounding some characters. With that i thought it was going to fail, and the first half of this episode confirmed this for me. I didnt care about any of the charcters any more, it all seemed a bit boring. However the entire scenes within the hospital and operating room were brilliant. It was tense and heartbreaking at the same time, something i didnt think they would do with it (i had a feeling they would go with the happy ending with everyone ok and april alive)

    Hopefully Jericho keeps like this now (maybe drop some other mysteries in) but the human survival element is what is keeping this show great.

    A bit of coldplay always helps aswellmoreless

    2 1

  • 9.4

    This show is not all about a bomb...get over it!! :D

    By tramlaw301, Apr 01, 2007

    April dies and so does the baby. I honestly thought she would just lose the baby but she's gone, too. I wish Dale would die but instead he and Skylar got to make out. Dr. Kenchy is drunk and cool. How is he getting drunk!? I don't know...I don't really care either. It's a TeeVee show, I'm just watching. :D Eric leaves Jericho to go build some windmills..he's off with Heather. When is she coming back...don't know...don't really care right now. Robert Hawkins was in a pickle and got out of it. Jimmy was hilarious. I'm sad to see him and Darcy apart and I hope they work all that stuff out. Jericho is getting themselves into trouble with the deal they made for the windmills but we'll see what happens later, I agree, they should have more help by the time New Bern comes over to collect their crops.moreless

    1 2

  • 9.1

    Winter, Son's April Death, April's Death, Despair, Nuclear Threatening, Hunger Threatening. Hope?

    By cezar33, Apr 01, 2007

    Continua saga familiei Green in lumea post nucleara cu o noua drama, moartea lui April si a fiului nenascut. Incercarile de a o salva sunt sortite esecului de la inceput din cauza salbei inzestrari a spitalului. Dale dovedeste ca a devenit barbat si ca de aici inainte lupta pentru supravietuire va deveni apriga. Zece oameni din oras printre care Stanley si Eric devin moneda de schimb pentru trocul dintre Jericho si o localitate vecina. Acolo vor fi realizate zece mori eoliene contra 700 kg de sare si 10% din recolta din toamna urmatoare. Continuadestramarea pentru familia Hawkins, Darcy si copiii se separa de Robert. Amenintarea nucleara din preajma acestuia aduce blestem si moarte. Enjoy!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    A very intense episode.

    By ketra1416, Mar 31, 2007

    Wow is about all I can muster at the moment. This was a very intense episode. There are quite a few unresolved issues and questions that make you want to come back for more. Events occur that nobody expects, especially the death of an important character. Feelings are expressed that everyone watching has been waiting for for a long time. Many of the characters are coming into their own skin, such as Eric, Kemchy, Mimi, and others. The episode sends you on an emotional roller coaster until the very end. As always, "Jericho" doesn't disappoint. This is an amazing show.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.6

    well an atom bomb may have destroyed Denver, but it seems a stupid bomb hit Jericho, because there is nothing intelligent in this episode.

    By fortunato777, Mar 30, 2007

    I love this series, I just wish that the characters would have a little bit of common sense. But what have we got? Supposedly common small town folk, behaving like big city people think of them, a bunch of stupid hicks.



    First of all, there's the subplot with Hawkins. Nothing much happens, even though it's a major part of the screen time. Hawkins cleans up the mess of Sarah's blood and guts, gets the body buried (er, isn't it winter? isn't the ground frozen?), doesn't get caught out (yet), Darcy doesn't rat out on him (oh, maybe she did, we don't really know), but he does find out about the guy Sarah killed...



    And then there's Dale and Gracie's store. This farmer guy had a deal with Gracie, but he's not honoring it. Dale demands his fair share. Does he negotiate? Does he reason with him? Does he explain how important keeping his word is for future deals? How the farmer is going to need supplies and it's Dale that will have them? No. Any of that would take half a brain, but Dale is just a stupid country hick, right? so he takes his gun, loads it up, and gets his portion at gunpoint. And then there's the deal about the generators. Like a generator is some mystical piece of high technology that's beyond most country folk, and someone out in New Bern knows how to make them, and so the Bernies have them over a barrel. Hello! even a quarter wit country boy knows that a car alternator is a generator, and doesn't take a whole lot of know how on how to stick a fan blade on an alternator and stick it on a pole. It's the dumb-ass writers that are ignorant of basic mechanical or electrical know-how. Now, of course, an alternator on a stick (with voltage regulator of course) is just gonna make about 14v electricity, so it wont do to power regular 120v gizmos, but hey, 12-14v systems can do a lot. and hey, many people have regular generators already designed to run off of gas or diesel, those could easily be converted to run off wind, water, or even horse power. And with power inverters, a car voltage system could easily be cranking out 120v. But does anyone in Jericho know this? Nope. Again, the city slicker writers think all country folk are dumb hicks. AND then to add insult to injury, the mayor, the former mayor, and all the other top dogs in town don't know the first thing about negotiating. The Bernies have them, they gotta have the power, and so they'll take whatever deal is offered. The Bernies at least know this, and then, having gotten their demands, demand more. They need to borrow ten men to help build the generators???? What freakin' idiot wrote this crap? and Jericho says, OK, sure, we don't need our best farmer to get the spring crops going that we promised you 10% of. Sure, take our best guys. If the scripts don't get any better, this show is gonna go down the drain fast.moreless

    4 6

  • 10

    This episode was a day unlike any other in Jericho so far, as the previews were telling us. Losing on of their own brought several characters closer together, while setting up the development for other characters to step in. An emotional episode...

    By AnAppleADay, Mar 30, 2007

    that made me cry and consider what it would truly be like if this were to happen in real life. Without all the modern technology we have today, this kind of situation is a very real possibility and it is one that would scare anyone. People don't just die from having babies nowadays. But, not having the power and lighting to perform a proper surgery, nor the sterilation of instruments and knowledgeable staff to assist and work together as well as not having the proper equipment all contributed to bring about the painful death of April. It was a very emotional episode and painful to watch.



    I was very touched that April named the baby and that Eric was with her when she passed away. They were still married and her family has never been mentioned, so I'm glad she wasn't alone even though they weren't together anymore. Mary's support of Eric also really touched me. She hasn't every been resentful of his history with April and that says something about her character, even though they did have an affair. I really hope they are able to come through this when Eric is returned to Jericho. I think they are a good couple. I also can't wait for Stanley to return and see where the relationship with Mimi goes, but it will be fun to see Mimi and Bonnie get to know each other during his absence. I think his absence is exactly what those two need to help them bond and become friends. They can be good for each other.



    I am looking forward to the next episode and I know it will be just as good as of the previous ones so far! I haven't been disappointed yet.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews