Pilot - A Love of a Lifetime

Episode Reviews (38)

Great
428 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.0

    Thank god for the satisfying ending to the pilot

    By BevinChu, Dec 28, 2012

    Thank god for the satisfying ending to the pilot.



    Man, it was frustrating having everyone think Dan was high or insane and seeing Dan helpless to prove otherwise.



    I was so frustrated I was ready to give up watching this series. But when Dan vindicated himself, at least to his wife, that all changed.

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Reporter Dan Vassar discovers that he can involuntarily travel through time. What is his purpose? Is he fixing or interfering.

    By walrus_8463, Nov 21, 2010

    Dan Vassar is a working family man who appears to love his family and enjoy his job. However, throw time travel into the mix, and his life starts to tear at the seams. People think he's slipped into substance abuse or his gambling addiction. However, he does get a chance to see Livia, the woman he was going to marry before her plane crashed. During his second time travel, he is in 1987 what seems to be day. To everyone in the present, he is gone two days. Apparently, time travel is a bit unpredictable. However, Dan saves the life of Neal Gaines, a man who is about to commit suicide and the life of Neal's unborn son. I am reminded of The Time Traveler's Wife when I watch this show, but Dan keeps his clothes when he travels and his present is subject to change when he returns. I enjoy this series very much because who hasn't thought about going back in time to change something bad that has happened?moreless

    0 0

  • 9.1

    Dan Vassar time travels one day out of the blue and his life is never the same again.

    By timdavis7, Aug 25, 2008

    This episode had everything a pilot should have. It had a fun and interesting story about a man that the main character (Dan) was supposed to save. It had an interesting back story involving Dan's wife, his brother, and his former fiance. This is a story that they will continue to come back to that you have to set up in the pilot.



    All in all, this episode was amazing. You can tell from the first episode that Dan actually has to be careful with what he tampers with in the past as it will effect the present/future. This is something that has been missing in other time-travel shows. An excellent story. I feel bad that this show wasn't given more of a chance on NBC. This network didn't know what it had.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    A new modern up-to-date a jazzier version of quantum leap - this is how this was explained to me, boy was that person wrong. They should have just said, it's awesome, watch it - and I would have.

    By captainbritain, Apr 03, 2008

    I was so happy that I did watch this pilot episode, even though I was expecting something like an updated quantum leap, thankfully it proved to be much better than this, also much better than anticipated.



    We get introduced to Dan and Katie and a usual type of day, well until after the celebration of their anniversary when Dan wakes up to find himself 20 years or so in the past.

    Very strange, but was he dreaming, was this a Hiro-mode type of approach to time travel, it was time to watch more to discover this.



    It doesn't look like he has any control over the time travelling, as the following day whilst in the car, he travels again, leaving it to be involved in an accident.



    His travels are centred around Neal Gaines, an unborn child and his finance. With each visit back he is closer to finding out and helping the situation.



    His wife is also trying to work out what is happening to him, wether he is telling the truth or just gone crazy.



    Things work out all good in the end, is all i'll say for those who havent seen any of them.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.7

    First episdoe Reveiw

    By CTUBauer24, Feb 10, 2008

    Journeyman made a good start with the first episode and did not dull nor boring and made for good TV and not bad TV the characters are likable and are not dull and made the show stand out and did not make it bad TV show the city of San Francisco is a great back drop for the TV show and the first episode looks great in it the first story made for a great start to a fine series my over all rating for the first episode of the TV show Journeyman going to be 9.7 over all endmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Dan Vasser a San Francisco newspaper reporter and family man, inexplicably begins to travel through time and changes the course of people's lives.

    By chinadollM9, Jan 06, 2008

    Along the way, he must also deal with the difficulties and strife at work and home brought on by his sudden disappearances. His freewheeling travels through the decades reunite him with his long-lost fiancee Livia -- which complicates his blissful, present-day life with his vivacious wife Katie and son.



    When I first saw this being previewed I thought I have to check that show out. Boy, am I glad I did! My parents did not really care for the show, but I found the show to be irresistible. Going back in time helping someone make the right choice, what is there not to like?moreless

    0 0

  • 8.6

    A low-tech Quantum Leap except he actually gets to return to his wife, so unlike sam, he can't fool around in the past.

    By QE-Zodak, Nov 02, 2007

    There's no ziggy helping him, only spider finder & his reporter's instincts. Kevin McKidd is a good actor but disappointing his wife & having marriage trouble is going to get old & frustrating very soon. He'll end up unemployed & divorced if taken to it's logical conclusion so luckily he told his wife at the end with proof but they are going to have to figure out a way to control when he leaves or it will be too much to bear for any wife & we'll end up right where we started. I thought it was very clever that his job wasn't to save that guy's marriage but just ensure that he had a son who did a lot of good as an adult. They better figure out a good explanation for livia appearing in the past & knowing what's going on. She seems to be helping him so unlike Tru Calling I don't think she's there to balance out whatever changes he makes.moreless

    1 0

  • 5.0

    Another example of a series concept badly developed

    By EliasC, Oct 12, 2007

    I wish I could like this show. It has potential with decent acting and good production values, but unfortunatley is also another example of a series concept badly developed. This will be another cancellation casualty very soon. Networks have a a very good track record of failing to see plot faults in a developing series. 'Journeyman' is a good example of this. Journeyman is no 'Quantum Leap' and has has some built in problems that counters the viewers willful suspension of disbelief. Amoung the problems are: 1) Our hero jumps back and forth thru time 20 years and nobody notices aging? 2) Our hero has a girlfriend in the 1980's and a wife in the 2000's ? Anybody have any morality questions here?moreless

    1 1

  • 10

    great episode

    By sfviewer, Oct 10, 2007

    Dan Vasser's goes about his ordinary life as a newspaper reporter. One day, while following a lead on a story, he gets transported physically back in time. He gets back to the present with a few days passing by. He gets a headache and he goes back to another timeline that relates to the events of the previous time trips. He gets to meet his wife again who died years ago, and it seems that she has some relation to his time travels. It's a really interesting episode. Looking at different parts of a person's life and it goes by fast enough that it feels like you're not trapped back in time for too long.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    A Love of a Lifetime,

    Dan Vasser travels back in time without warning to help change lives.

    By AlphaMale27, Oct 06, 2007

    I just finished watching the pilot of Journeyman and I think it's a really good show. It's a show you really have to watch you can not blink cause if you do you will miss something. The show takes you on the journey with Dan because he goes back in time and he really does not know why and you kind of go along for the ride and if you watch you can see what he's suppose to do. In this pilot it was a Love of a Lifetime. he goes back in time to save the son of Neal Gaines because Gaines son has a purpose. His wife and friends think he's crazy because when he goes on these time travel journey's he like gone for a couple of days in real time. Also he it appears that when he's in the past he should not be seen by his present self this happened in Cafe Luka this could be something to keep an eye on plus his girl friend Livia who is suppose to have died in a plane crash is alive. I will be watching this show.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews