Krypto: the Superdog

Show Reviews (73)

Good
380 votes
7.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.0

    In a way it has a posetive spin but is pretty annoying that it`s not completely original

    By Raven77, Feb 02, 2014

    I think there are too many Superman clones out there an this show falls in that pile. Still, it had intresting characters and a few episodes with watchable plots. But I think that it defenently should have tried to be completly original.

    0 0

  • 8.9

    This series doesn't talk down to young viewers, but instills in them important life lessons through fun action packed and adventurous fun. As a parent, I can highly recommend this show to other parents.

    By bmoshier, Jan 25, 2011

    As someone who grew up with Krypto as the Superboy's dog, watching this version was strange, but yet familiar. At first, I thought these episodes dealt with the time period after Krypto left his master (Superboy/Superman). Yet, this isn't the case for two reasons: (A) Krypto left the Earth to explore the universe and have it as his playground. (B) After reading several episode summaries, I came to realize, in this version, Krypto just arrived on Earth. He was Kal'el's dog on Krypton, but when he arrived on Earth he joined up with a human boy (instead of his original master).



    I can accept in an alternative universe Krypto didn't meet up with Superboy, but with a normal boy who lives on Earth. Given this perception the series Krypto: The Superdog is really great children’s (TV: Y) series!



    Krypto, otherwise, has the same powers and retains the sense of right and wrong he learned on Krypton. These facts make Krypto a great model for children. The show doesn't talk down to young viewers, but instills in them important life lessons, through fun action packed and adventurous fun. As a parent, I can highly recommend this show to other parents (based upon the several episodes I viewed).



    As for my watching the series, it brings back many wonderful memories of Superboy, Krypto, and I up in my bedroom. Yet, it is painful not to see Superboy in these episodes, so I'll be passing on watching the series. I will be watching, though, The Legion of Super Heroes!moreless

    7 0

  • 7.0

    it was a ok cartoon about a super dog

    By cube2k8, May 07, 2010

    the show krypto was a about a dog that was like superman and he would help stop crime that was caused by cats. who had alot of weapons to try to take him down krypto had others to help him like another dog that looked like batman that had gagtets and like a utitly belt. the show was ok like i said the advetures were some times good and bad. and the dog was exactly like superman and his weakness was krypto night and he had all the powerso of superman. and that is why i gave the show a 7moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    A Fine Cartoon.

    By BlackTulip009, Dec 24, 2007

    There really is nothing WRONG with this show. It's cute, fun, entertaining, and colorful, with an excellent cast of characters. The issue is that ideally, it shouldn't have been conceived as purely a kiddie show. This doesn't allow it to live up to its full potential, which I think is tremendous. If they had gone at this as a more mature show, it could've been a real hit. If we could feel more real emotion, love, passion, danger, actual threat of death...it would be absolutely amazing. Same exact characters, less juvenile situations and dialogue. That's what I'd love to see. As it is, I love Krypto and am delighted to have discovered it by surprise on Cartoon Network. It IS a fine example of a modern cartoon show, clever and completely family-friendly. On the whole though, I would have preferred it to be more like many other superhero programs--not "dumbed down" for children just because it stars the cute little puppy dog. Anyway, in my humble opinion, the best part of the show is the recurring Dog Star Patrol.moreless

    2 0

  • 7.3

    A Passable Cartoon that has good plots but has a few problems, and it may not be as good as the Original heroes but still very decent to watch!

    By BlueMario1016, Aug 31, 2007

    My 36th review after a crummy spin-off: "All Grown up"!



    This cartoon is pretty weird because you get these super-powered animals from their DC comics Super-heroes such as Krypto the Superdog from Superman, Ace the Bathound from Batman, and Streaky well... From Aundrea! They barely save the day but it occurs some problems such as the storyline... well was the storyline successful? well... Let me see... Well umm... uhh.... IT STINKS!!!!!!! Well, it stinks because this rips off the Original heroes AND it just doesn't feel like the Originals. Weird. What am I gonna Grade this cartoon? I'm gonna give this cartoon a B. That's right. a B. Now I'm gonna show the results:



    Voice-acting: A- 8.0/10.0 Great Voice-acting! It sounds well enough to the super-powered pets!



    Animation: C 6.0/10.0 Nice, smooth, colorful, and clean, nothing new here.



    Graphics: A+ 9.0/10.0 Superb and Outstanding Graphics! That's how I like it baby!!! WHOO!!!!!!



    Dialouge: C- 5.5/10.0 There is however doesn't really have any Eductional Vaule in this show, but The dialouge is somehow Corny.



    Lasting Appeal: A+ 8.7/10.0 Childern of all ages will be enthrilled to this super-powered pet show.



    Overall: B 7.3/10.0 It was pretty Understandable to allow the DC studios make this spin-off on Cartoon Network, But I wonder why they couldn't Put the original heroes more often in more epiosdes... I'll just hope if they can try to bring it back on another channel.....moreless

    4 0

  • 10

    This is SOOOOOO awesome!!!!! This show gave me the my idea of...

    By Carlint, Jul 20, 2007

    MY FIRST MOVIE!!! It's the best movie I've EVER thought & it's all thanks to Krypto! He rocks! He's got all kinds of awesome powers! Here's a list of his powers;



    Heat Vision



    X-Ray Vision



    Super Hearing



    Super Speed



    Flying Power



    Ultimate Armor Skin



    Man I LOVE this show & the ideas it gave me! This is the best! I REALLY like this show & Streaky is funny! He likes to make up stories for his fan club pals!!! That is SOOOOOOO funny! And Macanic Cat is funny, too! And I like Snooky! And it's got a LOT of cats in it! And I LOOOOOOOOVE cats!moreless

    0 2

  • 10

    Krypto the Superdog is about a Kryptoian puppy who's ship crash lands in Metropolis and meets Kevin Whitney, a 9-year-old who just moved to Metropolis. They become friends and Kevin adopts Krypto.

    By tvfreak974, Jul 15, 2007

    i love this show! My sister was watching it last year and encouraged me to watch it. I started to watch and loved it. Krypto, Streaky, and Ace are the coolist superhero team ever!!!!!!!!! i suggest you watch this show & to the people who hate this show, you're missing out!!!!!!!

    2 2

  • 8.1

    Why does everyone hate this show?

    By Seabono12, Apr 29, 2007

    Eh no offense people, but I know there is always one hater of the show but you seemed to give way too low of a rating. Its not that bad of a show! The plots needed to be better though and the villains could have been a little better as well. I still don't understand why people hate this show to like death! There isn't anyrthing wrong with it. BUt at the same time theres only very few things that are very great about it. This show is not one of my huge favorites, but you guys do need to cut this show a little slack, even though its been canceled.moreless

    2 1

  • 2.1

    Is it dead?

    By marioman687, Apr 14, 2007

    I am very glad and proud of CTN for getting rid of this show cause it was a waste of time. The problem is that now Krypto the Superdog is in Kids WB. Kids WB will take any show that is stupid and this show is very stupid. All the charaters are brainless, all the episodes are just worthless, and all the plots are stupid. The worst of them all of the voices and the sound effects. All the charaters voice are stupid and annoying. The sound effects are dumb. When someone gets hurt on the show, you heard a kid sound of some sort that only kids will laugh at. This show should belong in the trash.moreless

    5 1

Load More Reviews