Land of the Lost

Show Reviews (19)

Good
305 votes
7.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Great Memories

    By SFBarbear, Oct 25, 2012

    Probably the best of the Krofft Bros.

    a small family is stranded in a strange land with talking lizards, a space alien, dinosaur's and strange obelisks that control everything. They struggle in day to day life to find a way home and along the way make some great friends and enemies.

    1 0

  • 10

    Land Of The Lost Cast Reunion in MArch

    By EthanEsq, Jan 15, 2012

    Kathy Coleman will be appearing along with her "Land Of The Lost" Co Star, Wesley Eure at Steel City Con in Pittsburgh, March 2012. It's a "Krofft Superstars Reunion" and it will be a show you will NOT want to miss. It's been a LONG time since Kathy and Wesley have been at the same show together! Here is a link

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8FYO6uE5Ec&list=UUKiNzpkR31Pk5Ov2M-uAHuQ?dex=1&feature=plcp

    0 0

  • 10

    amazing. in a time when childrens shows had to have a talking dog even long established characters like superman and his superfriends were dumbed down. this show shined with intelligence.

    By benderfan7, Sep 29, 2011

    this is without question the greatest childrens show of all time and one of the all time great television shows. people today who werent familiar with the show in the 70s are sadly unable for the most part to appreciate the show because of its campy special effects. what most see as the shows biggest weakness I personally see as its greatest strength. if the effects had been better the creators wouldnt have needed to write such intelligent stories and work on character development. this theroy proves true if u have ever seen the attempt to recreate the magic in the 90s verson of the show. they tried to make great looking effects but didnt write good stories or create characters anyone cared about.



    i was 2 when the show first aired and I grew up watching shows about time travel , alternate dimensions and a family who really loved each other while most children my age were watching scooby bring chased by a real estate developer in a werewolf costume or some other show where the writers assumed children were stupid. land of the lost challenged us to think while bringing exciting and memorable shows. few people today will get excited to hear the mention of thundar the barbarion or grape ape. but go into a bar and mention the sleestak and many people will get suddenly excited and nastalgic in a way ive never seen at the mention of any other show.



    the most important thing about this show ( i only see this now as a 35yo father of 2 ) is the family development. lotl is really about a single father trying to raise his childern to be good people even in a difficult situation. my wife just bought me the series on dvd for valentines day ( wonderful woman. loves me even though I am a dork ) and i like the show even more now than i did as a kid its nastalgic , campy , brillant , and stands up even today.



    if you cant get past the special effects to see the wonderful stories , then u are missing out on a very magical show from a very special time.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    a nostalgic show for me

    By silverfoxy8472, Jun 04, 2009

    a note on my score this score applies to the first two seasons the third season gets a 1 all of the episodes were GREAT spencer milligan and cast were the perfect combo grumpy alice spike emily and OF COURSE dopey (makes a sound like dopey would) cha ka and ta and sa wow entertaining sid and marty kroft even came up with the time loop idea between season two and the third season which got the show canceled a perfect show for the first two seasons it was a great show. too bad the new movie is gonna shame it .moreless

    0 0

  • 6.5

    Ranger Rick Marshall and his kids take a canyon river trip and get swept in an alternate world with dinosaurs, creatures and alien relics.

    By aesgaard41, May 27, 2009

    This show was probably one of the first great shows of my childhood. Possibly the best of the Sid and Marty Kroft shows, watching it today is like reliving my childhood if but for the very cheesy special affects and acting that went into it. Unlike the modern series "Lost," the writers idn't seem to have any set definition as to where the Marshalls were; every writer added something new and there was no attempt to really link or solve any of the numerous riddles of what the dinos were doing there or who created the civilizations the Marshalls created. If the Pakuni were relatives of Bigfoot, I can only assume the Sleestak were humanoid-evolved raptors. They couldn't shoot straight nor were they very good in fighting or keeping prisoners. Hard to believe I was scared of those things as a kid. Still, despite a grown-up look at the series today, it remains a childhood favorite of mine. The earlier episodes were much more likeable before the dad left the series.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    adventure, action, dinosaurs, scary bug eyed creatures and a beautiful blonde to come to the rescue of every week. how could you go wrong??

    By cheryfan, Apr 14, 2008

    Adventure, Action, Dinosaurs, Scary bug-eyed creatures and a Beautiful Blonde to come to the rescue of every week. How could you go wrong??.. Answer is you can't it was ahead of it's time certainly but classic sci-fi/adventure full of imagination, and about as heart pounding edge of your seat entertainment as saturday morning television has ever dared to be, before or since. All of this done with the aid of the incredibly deep blue eyes, freckles and those braids, those unforgettable blonde braids, the plaid shirt..the blue jeans the hiking boots, and that eternally sweet caring smile that were all part of the one and only true Holly Marshall (Kathy Coleman), not the later pretender to the throne in the wannabe remake, it was good, but lacked so much feeling and intensitymoreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    Land of the Lost was a show far ahead of its time.

    By kensforce, Jul 30, 2007

    While on a routine rafting trip the Marshall family, Rick Marshall and his two children, Will and Holly, fall through a time portal into a world inhabited by prehistoric creatures and misplaced beings. Forced to learn to survive in a world turned upside down the Marshall's would have to rely on some help from unexpected places. Living day by day and running from dinosaurs or evil sleestack, a race of lizard-like humanoids, the family grew closer together. Eventually the family would be able to return home only to have another Marshall family from another rift in time enter the dimension. Land of the Lost was an intelligent show that didn't take children for granted. The shows episodes were written by some of the top names in science fiction of the time. Walter Koenig, of Star Trek fame, wrote what may be the shows best episode, The Stranger, which introduced Enik a more evolved Sleestak from an earlier time who ultimately aided in the Marshall family returning home.





    The shows cast would be lead by veteran TV actor Spenser Milligan (Gunsmoke, Quincy, and The Dukes of Hazard) who brought a heart felt touch to the role of the father Rick Marshall. A character who even today could be the poster boy for a perfect parent who was always willing to listen to his children, who was slow to anger and maybe the world's greatest teacher. Milligan filled the role to perfection and a generation of children grew up to think of his character as the father they never had. Young soap opera star Wesley Eure (Days of our Lives) would be cast as the adventurous teenage boy Will Marshall. Again TV experience would lend to a another memorable character. Will was always exploring his boundaries, often with catastrophic consequences, but was always on hand to look after his younger sister. Eure was great at coming across as someone who couldn't accept his situation and was willing to try anything to get his family home. Unknown child actress Kathy Coleman was cast as the ever complaining younger sister Holly. For someone with little TV experience Coleman did a remarkable job. Holly was always wanting to hold on to her older brother's shirt tales and mess up any plan he would come up with. It is obvious that Coleman drew upon her own innocence and awkwardness in her porayal of a child becoming a young woman under the worst of situations. Despite everything the show had going for it Land of the Lost would only survive three seasons on Saturday morning. Several changes in both story and cast would ultimately become the shows downfall. Milligan would be replaced in the third season by another veteran actor Ron Harper who would play the family's Uncle Jack who had been searching for them. He would enter the dimension just as Rick Marshall exited. The shows decline couldn't be blamed on Harper. A gaff by the network in "dumbing down" the stories and firing most of the shows original writers ultimately spelled the end for the show. New dinosaurs were brought in (including a fire breathing Dimetradon) to keep children interested, but nothing could replace the mind expanding scripts of the first two seasons. Land of the Lost was something unique to television. Never had such detail been added to a children's show. The dinosaurs were, for the time, excellent stop motion models. The vocabulary of the primitive Paku was developed by a UCLA professor . The scripts were written by the best in the business. Never before or after has such a production been attempted in children's programing. It is for these reasons that Land of the Lost is still remembered fondly by those old enough to have watched it in it's original airing.



    From Original Posting on Monster Island News (http://monstermovieblog.blogspot.com/2007/02/land-of-lost-tv-1974-1977.html)moreless

    0 0

  • 6.4

    didn\'t they? at some point yes, yes, they did redo this.

    By isakura, Jul 19, 2006

    I used to watch this show all the time, but of course on saturday i would get hopped up on eggoes, syrup and sugar sugar sugar frosted flakes or sugar smacks, (now known as honey smacks).... anyhow, i loved the blonde holly, the storyline was intruiging, sort of a rip off of journey to the center of the earth meets the 3 stooges except moe is a cave monkey named cha'ka and it has a slight 7th heaven (ok not that bad, but usually there is a moral to the tale) i remember a crummy episode with medusa, but wanted to always kiss little swiss miss holley. sigh.



    ps. didnt they, in the early 90\'s remake this show? didnt they? yes, yes they did, wwith some brown haired girl in glasses as holley, and cha\'ka still rode the little bus to one million bc.moreless

    0 0

  • 5.4

    i remember this

    By CAPNDEL, Jun 14, 2006

    wasn't peter brady in this show, as the oldest kid? maybe not, i really cannot remember much. i remember the sleestacks, and the super corny theme song. the special effects were pretty good considering the show was a child of the late seventies. i thought the remake during the ninties sucked though.

    0 0

Load More Reviews