The Long Goodbye Job

Episode Reviews (16)

Superb
80 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    If you have to say goodbye, this is how you do it:

    By titan4lizife, Dec 31, 2014

    The old adage says that all good things come to an end. But TV fans know that shows often come to an abrupt halt rather than a bow-wrapped finale. Fortunately for us, who have followed the five-year adventure of Leverage Consulting and Associates, the show got the ending it deserved. The finale featured several allusions to the "Nigerian Job," like Parker ripping off her shirt in an elevator and Elliot commenting that she was "twenty pounds of crazy in a five-pound

    Indeed, "The Long Goodbye Job" was the final Lego brick in the masterpiece that the writers had been building all season. Nate's decision isn't shocking or tear-inducing because it's something that the writers had been building towards since the season's first episode. Like Sophie's neurolinguistic programming, they manipulated fans into expecting this outcome. And, after showing us the bloodier version of how Leverage could have ended (and many a series has ended with the deaths of beloved characters), we welcome and approve of Nate's decision.

    It's satisfying to see how much the characters, particularly Nate and Parker, have grown over the course of five years. While Parker's slightly nefarious version of Nate's "We provide leverage" speech was arguably the best scene in the entire series, it will be loved not only for its comic effect but for its openness. The series has ended. The voyeurs' window has closed. But, as that final scene makes clear, Leverage Consulting and Associates lives on.

    moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    very good. top off episodes

    By ralphramirez7, May 15, 2013

    How can they cancel t a great show. my wife and watching sence. it first. it back. bring it back......

    2 0

  • 10

    Ending.. but.. not.

    By houbou, Feb 25, 2013

    Great episode, but it's hard to believe it's the end. I hope this will come back as Movies for TV or maybe a new season 6.. somehow. Just loved this show and this episode certainly with the hard drive has enough for at least 5 more seasons.

    1 0

  • 9.0

    A great ending for a great series

    By cherold01, Jan 24, 2013

    The last couple of years of Leverage were inconsistent, with a few great episodes but a lot of just-okay ones, but this finale was everything the series is supposed to be, sharply written and intricately plotted. It did what the best con-artist stories do; convince me I had it all figured out and then go in a direction I wasn't expecting. Even though I'm sorry to see the series end, I'm glad they decided to pull the plug before they'd entirely run out of ideas, and happy they ended on a high note. This is everything that made me love the show from the first episode.moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    Very Fun ( Some Spoilers!)

    By klperkins1, Jan 05, 2013

    There's a lot that they clearly had wanted to pace the foreshadowing differently over the seasons, but I'm really glad they did the Real Ending, and to be frank, as this is one of the only shows I've watched these past few years, I'm glad it went it out when it still wasn't very far from the top of its game. Better than degenerating, and best with the vision of the future it has here.

    ErlendJohanne , what you missed was -- Spoilers! --

    that Nate was lying. The whole first part was a lie. Dr. Gallio hadn't contacted them, the 10th floor didn't have a cure for Stanhope's Sarcoma. He was feeding the Interpol agent a story because he didn't want to admit about the actual point of the heist too quickly. Like many parts of the episode, entirely fabricated. I really enjoyed the levels of lies, very well done, I thought.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    What about the drug?

    By ErlendJohanne, Jan 02, 2013

    Wait a minute! Did the team forget all about the drug they were going in to the building to get? The cure for Stanhope's Sarcoma in the Pallagen lab on the 10th floor? Or did I miss something? Also, theres usually a closure bit at the end where the client gets their stuff back (or whatever), and we didn't meet Dr. Giallo again

    2 1

  • 9.0

    The Gang will be missed!

    By spr12cr, Jan 02, 2013

    I was extremely disappointed to learn that it had been cancelled, even more when the Series Finale was in the middle of the Holidays and many of like me were not able to watch it think it deserved a better farewell, but other than that i did enjoy "The Long Goodbye Job", it did its job and the gang went out with a bang...

    0 0

  • 10

    OMG....

    By tmg, Jan 01, 2013

    what a way to end a series! I can't believe is over, but it sure went out with a bang. At the begining, I was shocked and horrified at what was going on with Nate telling the story as to what had happened with Parker, Elliot and Hardison being dead, I was like no they are not dead! Then I relazied, even before they showed what was going on, I have watched this show from the beginning and have never missed an episode, so I was like this is how the Leverage team operates and I knew they were NOT dead! But it sure kept me on the edge of my seat. Aww, Sophie and Nate are engaged, and the rest will go on as a team. I knew Sterling was good guy. Would love to see the show continue on, but all great things must come to an end. Just makes me sad to see it go. Was my favorite show... and I loved it. Leverage you will be missed.



    Good luck to all the actors and actress'.moreless

    5 0

  • 7.5

    The Long Goodbye Job

    By thefanof, Dec 29, 2012

    A fitting end, even if no one really wants Leverage to be over.



    They had a nice twist with us thinking Nate was captured and the rest were dead, so at least they went out with a bang. A solid case, but it was the "closure" that was the real selling point for this episode.



    It was fit to be the series finale, but we wish it was not the end. Still, when I look back at this episode, and Leverage as a series, it will be positive.moreless

    4 0

  • 10

    Bittersweet ending

    By lynna12000, Dec 28, 2012

    I am sad that the show has been ended. BUT! At least it was given a good send off. Nate and Sophie get to go off to build a life as a couple. And Elliot, Hardison, and Parker get to keep on doing what makes them happy. We even to got to see Sterling again. He turned out to be a good friend after all.



    At least the writers were able to present the ending that THEY chose. We, and the characters got some closure. Who knows, maybe TNT will do some 2 hr movies in the future. But even if they don't, I'll still be able to envision Elliot, Hardison, and Parker gleefully wreaking havok on those who deserve it.moreless

    9 0

Load More Reviews