Liberty's Kids

Show Reviews (19)

Great
137 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    A Revolutionary Show

    By kevodo, Sep 28, 2013

    This show will truly teach you about the American Revolution. It isn't perfect but it does a very good job of blending good stories with factual scenarios pulled from the founding of the USA. It also gives a good sense of the international aspects by having the lead girl just off the boat from England and Benjamin Franklin in England and then France. Bravo

    0 0

  • 9.0

    I love Liberty's Kids!

    By selena_cyrus16, Apr 04, 2013

    Just a quick review of this great show.



    Story: 9/10

    Characters: 8/10

    Art: 10/10

    0 0

  • 1.0

    Horrible anti-British and petty nationalist propaganda

    By Beery1, Nov 13, 2011

    Am I the only one not drinking the Kool-Aid here? I mean Liberty's Kids has about as much connection to actual early US history as does Mel Gibson's 'The Patriot'. The British are portrayed as stereotypical monsters unless they are pro-revolution. This show is overly simplistic - even young kids can understand a little complexity, but Liberty's Kids gives none whatsoever.



    This show represents xenophobia and petty nationalism mixed with bad history. D.W. Griffith's racist movie 'Birth of a Nation' was more historically accurate and less prejudiced than this awful garbage. PBS should be ashamed that it even bought this show. The fact that they allowed impressionable kids to see such nonsense is unforgivable.



    My 5 year-old daughter is British, and I would hate for her to meet with the sort of hatred that a show like this can easily engender. I'm so glad that Liberty's Kids has been cancelled and that her friends are no longer likely to see the show.moreless

    2 12

  • 10

    Watch the show :)

    By ErickaBigsby, Jul 01, 2011

    I love history! This is pretty much my favorite show. I've researched characters as they are introduced and have found that their portrayals are very accurate!(Fun Fact:When Sybil Lundington goes on her "Midnight Ride" the man who answers the first door is Edmund Ogden..the man she marries). The show often gives a pretty patriotic view of the Revolutionary War but also teaches viewers that having the facts is always important. They even out the patriotic feeling by having Sarah as a character to offer opposing viewpoints and by giving the main characters opportunities to learn more about their enemies, showing that they are regular people as well. (Good example is the episode The Hessians are Coming). Liberty's Kids also illustrates the fact that in war, journalism and the citizens are important factors, just like the soldiers are. I am now 17 and still enjoy this show as much, if not more, than I did when I was younger. I believe this show is the perfect way to expose young children to American history for the first time. I plan on sharing it with the kids I babysit and my students when I become a teacher.moreless

    2 0

  • 8.0

    I show this series to my class!

    By benchervin, Feb 26, 2009

    I am a 5th grade teacher, and I often show episodes of this series to my class when we learn about the Revolutionary War. It is a great series that teaches about the events that led up to, during, and after the war. It also comes across as a great drama series also, so it is entertaining as well as informative. The characters live their lives as they did back in those times.



    Another reviewer was incorrect in stating that in the show some kids go back in time to the Revolutionary War days. Actually, the kids are apprentice journalists under Ben Franklin at his printing press newspaper business.



    Informative show, and entertaining for all ages as well.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Series about a group of kids who go back in time to learn more about the Revolutionary War.

    By trm6, Nov 23, 2008

    Call me a nerd, but I used to love this show!!! XD When I was in fifth grade, we started learning about the Revolutionary War for the first time. To get a better understanding of it, my teacher would show us these episodes. They really helped! I got better grades on that part of history than any other XD It's also the easiest to remember. I would recommend this show to any child or adult who would be interested in learning more about the war that started the United States of America. I really can't think of a better way to learn about it.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    This happened before they made George Washington our first president.But he did not want that to be the ruler of the country, he just wanted people to live free with out someone telling them what to do, what not to do that's why the Constrution was made.

    By turkeybaby, Dec 26, 2007

    When i started to watch liberty kids in the morning, i just never thought i could learn so much from one eposide than i could learn in a class room. If anyone has young kids and they are learning about the history of the land that we all come from i would say that liberty kids is a good and interesting show to watch. Eveyone can get a lot out of watching a show of how things came together before George Washington became our first presdient of the United States.To all the parents liberty kids does have fighting in it and action of all sorts, but that is what George Washington went though to make it all posible for us to become the United States of America.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.9

    A show about the colinial times, when America was just getting started.

    By amrcndt324, Jun 11, 2007

    It's a great way to learn about history, it's like an animated history book in my opinion. I think it needs a better air time, mainly because it comes on at all different times in the morning, I've seen it at 4 AM, 5 AM, and 3:30 AM(all centeral times). Normally I'm asleep by then, but on rare occasion I'll be awake longer and be able to see it. Liberty's Kids is a great show, it's informative and I like it. I even remember once I was watching it and my cat was sitting in a chair and watching it as well, as if he was a normal human child enjoying a good show.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Liberty's Kids is an animated story about the adventures of James Hiller, Sarah Phillips, and Henri LeFebrve, three children living during the American Revolution.

    By MrsMcDreamyy, Mar 30, 2007

    This show is so wonderful. The three children experience the hardships and the passions of America's War for Independance as well as meet many of America's Founding Fathers and influential characters. It is filled with great lessons on American History presented in a fun and interesting way! The characters are funnay and colorful and the history is fantastic. More shows on television like this one are definatly needed.

    2 0

Load More Reviews