Superb
988 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 4.0

    I think the writers slept through writing class.

    By buildam2005, Mar 02, 2012

    Don't get me wrong. I love this show. But this episode was terrible.



    Locke's conversations with each character were, with the possible exception of Jack, exceptionally boring and trite. The conversations basically were all Locke saying, "You need to come back," and the other person saying "No thanks," and that was that. Also, why didn't any of the O6 ask what happened to the island, what with it disappearing and all, or how Locke got back? And when did he tell ANY of them that his fake name was Jeremy Bentham? I realize that the writers couldn't show us everything, but they picked entirely the wrong things in this episode. Utter. Disappointment.moreless

    7 31

  • 6.0

    Great acting, too many "loose ends"

    By jmfoobar, Sep 03, 2010

    I am catching up in hopes to watch Season 6 on tv so am a little late in reviewing.



    As many of the other reviewers have said - this had some great acting but the logic is growing very thin for me (and I'm great at suspending disbelief).



    Two bad things:



    1) People keep wondering why Ben talks Locke off the ledge only to kill him. Ben kills Locke immediately after Locke reveals the name of Daniel's mother. That's all he was looking for - a way to get back to the island that is now jumping through time.



    2) Daniel's mother said something that really baffled me. "Why do you think that no one was able to find you?" implying that they had been jumping through time the whole time they were on the island. That doesn't make much sense. She helped Whitmore get there and both the Dharma and the Others have been traipsing back and forth to the island for decades. So there has to be some other explanation NOT that it's been moving through time. Also, if it were moving through time when they were on the island, wouldn't their stuff appear and disappear as it's doing now? I can only conjecture that it's so hard to get to get back NOW because it's stuttering through time and the proper bearings have been lost.



    3) And the whole recreate the scene as best you can. Really? Why? Any real reason for that? Ben wasn't there before nor were all the other passengers. They weren't in 1st class before. I could go on. And then the 6 go to some other point in time while all the rest who weren't the Oceanic 6 go to the present. Huh?moreless

    2 4

  • 10

    Quite possibly the best episode of LOST to date.

    By DerickBentham, Jun 26, 2010

    The life and death of Jeremy Bentham is as good as the all time best episodes of lost such as The Constant, Through the Looking Glass and The Shape of Things to Come. The episode explains exactly how Locke got the Oceanic 6 to believe him and want to come back to the island as well as explaining how he died. This episode is special for very many reasons such as Terry O'Quinn does a fine job of getting the viewer sad and feel badly for him. I could not believe that Ben was the one that killed Locke. Lost continues to get better and better through this season and i cannot wait til next weeks episode!moreless

    11 5

  • 10

    This was Amazing. I loved it. Ben's a lying bastard.

    By ajk021992, Jun 26, 2010

    I enjoyed every second of this episode. If you notice it took place during the season 3 with the flash backs. i hated when the middle eastern man got shot, he seem pretty tight. Ben is annoying though. I seriously want to know know what exactly he wants. His helpful but why? Why does he do bad things? But over all it was very enjoyable. And the next weeks episode looks amazing. As you notice the main characters are all back together. I wonder what happened to the plane crash or the flash when Oceanic 6 disappeared. So much running in my mind. I want to also know more about Christian, Jacks dad. now we know why Jack was obsessed with going back to the Island back in the end of season 3 when he said We have to go back.moreless

    11 4

  • 10

    OMG! What the heck did i just watch? Well, I watched quite possibly the BEST breath taking episode ever!!!

    By AnilThornberry, Jun 26, 2010

    OMG! What the heck did i just watch? Well, I watched quite possibly the BEST breath taking episode ever!!!



    Seriously I was gasping the entire episode. The real breathtaking scene was Ben killing Locke. Ow my god, I didn't dream that scene right? Theres no sleeping for me til the next episode. Ben murdering Locke will not get out of my head. :D



    I'm begining to think Widmore really is the good guy. Wow, actually he is the good guy. He's just after Ben and tries to bring him down, which he deserves. :P



    This was the only and most anticipated episode of the year and it was well worth the wait. The only thing I found very useless was Walt's scene. What was that for? I thought he would have a bigger role this season but I guess I was wrong. Oh well, whatever I didn't mind it -- he got SO BIG. Can't wait for the reunion next week. Sawyer looks like he saw a ghost in the previews. It's gonna ROCK!!!moreless

    13 5

  • 10

    Locke's journey off the Island, with mysterious characters coming along to get even more mysterious.

    By motleylil, Jun 26, 2010

    This might just be the most confusing episode of Lost this season, but when it comes to Lost, confusing isn't bad. It's actually very thrilling. And thrilling, 'The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham' was indeed. After seeing this, it becomes hard to tell who is the good guys and who is the bad guy. And I feel it will be a long time before we know. In the review I made for '316', I said that each time I say to myself that they can't do more than this, and finally they do. Well, they did it again. Not only was it impressively good, we actually learn a lot. Such as how Locke died, what did he do off the Island, what does Widmore want with the Island (not literally, but at least partly), who is Abbadon (again, partly), what happened to anyone from the plane other than the 3 in '316', and I could go on. But my point is, there is no reason to keep saying now that nothing gets explained. A lot IS explained, the only this is that there are so much mystery in the show that what we do learn is only a portion of what we want to know. But it wouldn't be right to be told everything so early on. This show is about a group of people who get thrown in a situation where they don't know what's going on. And it revolves about those people. So why would we know more than they do? That way, we go on an epic journey in places we never dreamed of, and that's what fiction is about to me. I say let the producers make the show the way they already do. As this latest episode proved, it's perfect this way.moreless

    15 3

  • 10

    Very good episode

    By Prophet1111, Jun 26, 2010

    This episode was awesome - maybe there wasn't that much action but it was very important for us to know all that thing. It was a huge plot development (as I was wondering - why Lock left the Island just few days after Oceanic Six but they returned after three years). I love Lock, he's the only one that knows what is going on - but he had this crysis. Fortunately his death meant something :) But this Ben guy - what was his problem? Why did he kill Ben after he heard Eloise's name... Well this is what Lost is all about - mysteries :Dmoreless

    28 6

  • 10

    The Best Episode Yet?

    By marcoportugal, Jun 26, 2010

    The Best Episode Yet? Anyone noticed how fast-paced this season is going? So many reveals, so many backstory...



    after "this place is death" I thought it was the best.... then after "306" I thought iit was the best again.... after this one I am still amazed how amazing, intriguing and PERFECT that episode was.... dont understand how anyone can give this less than nine. BEST EPISODE YET!



    that was perfect



    LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOST LOSTmoreless

    27 4

  • 10

    FINALLY

    By LetItBe1317, Jun 26, 2010

    This is what I have been waiting for all season. I was starting to get a little nervous because I hadn't gotten the same old "LOST feelings" (of course except for Jin's amazing return but I knew he wasn't really dead) but this brought them all back. Finally things are starting to fall into place. With all the different background stories and the retracing of the footsteps that have been going on - I was almost beginning to think the writers underestimate us LOST fans. Now don't get me wrong I love a good surprise here and there but when the surprises start getting predictable and stop making any form of sense that's when I think its time get your crap together and tonight they clearly did. With the tie-ins of Helen and Walt and C.W. behind the scenes this whole time, the reason Locke took his life altering walk-about... frigen awesome. Call me nostalgic but I love the connections and reunions with old characters. Can't wait for next weeks, and the question on my mind and everyone elses' mind I'm sure is "Who really is the bad guy!!?"moreless

    30 3

Load More Reviews