The Package

Episode Reviews (20)

Great
867 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    While mainly a Sun and Jin centric show this one was pretty busy filling in a lot of storylines.

    By polsixe, Mar 28, 2011

    The two Koreans are just boy/girlfriends in the sideways world here, Sun is quite the seductress as she loosens up her buttons, baby. Jin is mixed up with the bad dudes and we see how he ended up in the walk-in fridge. Surely we've seen the end of Martin Keamy now? In island time Sun gets a strange case of aphasia and can't seem to connect with her hubby. NotLocke struggles to gather his team as the story spins and whirls. Lots of stuff happening, all in the immicable Lost way. And finally the package, who not what and there's a shocker.moreless

    4 1

  • 10

    We learn 2 things about rooms. How Jin got in his and how Desmond came out of his.

    By Picklepiss, Dec 15, 2010

    Obviously we knew shortly after Kevin Durand comes on to the screen that soon Jin will be captured by him and taken to the restaurant but will be eventually saved by Sayid so I wasn't worried about him during the episode. Who I was worried about though was Sun. Being that MiB has not been told no to in Locke's form, when she said no to him and began to run, I wondered what was going to happen to her. So she slams her head on a tree and then MiB runs away. Why? Don't know. But then MiB's people get taken out, well for a short while, and then here comes Locke running out of the jungle to see what happened to them. His enemy is Charles Widmore so now Widmore has scored some major points here and isn't exactly the bad guy we thought he was. And last but not least Desmond is called "The Package" and is told that the island is not done with him yet. What is his purpose on this island though? Is he a catalyst towards this "war" we are being setup to witness? Good episode, but is it just me or did this episode feel like it was 20 mins long? I guess one thing I have come to notice is that the episodes are speeding up in pace so I am left sitting there scratching my head saying "There is only 10 mins left to the episode??!. I want to see more!!!". So it is obvious that the plotline is drawing us in, well at least me so the producers are keeping things moving and I'd say they are doing a pretty good job with trying to answer questions in the midst of current events that are being setup to happen. Til next week!moreless

    21 12

  • 10

    Jin and Sun ! .

    By Yasser-24, May 31, 2010

    Sun really delivered her best performance ! .







    and her finale scene with Jack was really touching and breathtaking . Jack really did an amazing and Phenomenal acting this season . and Sayid scene with Locke when he said i don't feel anything why ? and Locke simply answers him it's better for you because you don't wanna feel what's coming . ( amazing scene ) . Clarie i just felt so sorry for her when she asked Locke am i on the wall ? and he answered with a cold heart NO . if you pause the scene at Clarie face , i dare you that you will not tear ! . and Last Desmond ! welcome back , this man is a Legend , i bet he will blow you mind in the coming episodes as Always . 10/10 .moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    More answers, and developments :-)

    By Dunga103, May 26, 2010

    After first finding out why Smokie (locke) wanted to leave the island, the first thing that struck was that he was well, smoke, why not just bubble over and drift away? Well apparently he just cant, or he wouldnt be here in the first place. Why can't he? He didnt explain. Could have been more forthcoming.



    Some episodes ago, Sayid went to visit his brother (who is now married to Nadia - Sayid's sweetie) and then ended up some a restaurant kitchen where he killed the ppl who had brough him there, and rescued Jin in the process. For those of you wondering how Jin got there in the first place, this episode should answer that. Alpert also grows a pair of balls and for once he knows what he has to do instead just being the only guy with eyeliner (just kidding) and that is "to stop the man in black from leaving the Island". Wasnt that his mission from the very moment he started working for Jacob, in directly anyway? Frankly he can be a far more interesting character but sadly, somebody with real answers considering how long he's been on the Island but oh well, once a lackey always lackey. Whitmore kind of finalises the point that if Smockey got of the Island, all hell will break lose, and hence he's brough the package to stop that, and for some odd reason he needs Jin's help. Lastly, for an episode to be titled "Package" there was really nothing about the package except we see a drugged Desmond being dragged out of the sub. So is he the package? I guess we will just have to wait and see. Overall, not a bad episode but like all others previous episodes (except for the series finally, hopefully) did not have enough answers.moreless

    9 13

  • 8.2

    the package

    By thefanof, May 26, 2010

    Two years ago Desmond infamously shouted, "I'm not supposed to be here!" You have to assume he was thinking the same thing here as he was dragged out, drugged and all, from a submarine.



    The Jin and Sun flashbacks are almost always boring, and tonight was no different, but the stuff that was taking place on the island was entertaining and more than made up for it.



    I kind of wish that the Ben and Widmore rivalry would be renewed as those confrontations were among the best in show history, but the Widmore vs. Locke/Smokey feud has been interesting as well. Looking forward to seeing where this goes in the future. While this was a good episode and while we are all going to miss Lost when it finally signs off, I will not be missing these Jin and Sun-centric episodes.moreless

    11 15

  • 8.5

    Don't get me wrong, I give almost all episodes a ten. But seriously, things are starting to get frustrating even for me (I know greater fanboys and fangirls than me will give this review thumbs-down, but just think about it). They are dragging.

    By deathly_hollows, May 26, 2010

    This episode could have easily been one of the greater episodes of earlier seasons. And I respect the "season one feeling". But as we're approaching the grand finale, things are going too slowly.



    I didn't have a problem with 'What Kate Does'. Not even with 'Recon'. Now I have a problem with too much of these time consuming flash-sideways and no action on the Island. I mean story action. Sun not being able to speak English... we already suspect that's going to create some kind of a problem in later episodes. But now, it's just plain pointless. I have faith in Lost, I've always had, but the show doesn't have the luxury to stand in one place for this many episodes. I understand the pieces are slowly moving, but don't give us all the answers in the final three episodes. It's lame. Start unraveling now, let the characters discuss their situation, let them make theories, let them do something. Anything.



    On the positive note, I'm glad the Dharma Initiative isn't forgotten (I had fears, especially because of the lost time in the previous season - things could have been pointed out much better). And Desmond... we all saw that coming. Or him to be more precise. All that talk about his specialness requires a lot of Henry Ian Cusick screen time. And hopefully we're getting it.



    8.5 is just my way of saying: Lost, please speed up, you have time, you have fans, and I sincerely hope you have all the answers that will prove to all of us that everything that ever happened, happened for a reason.moreless

    10 8

  • 8.3

    Surprise.. surprise..

    By Parricida, May 26, 2010

    Ok.. I think that episode was one that had few brilliant spots and some filler moments and overall the storytelling felt very bumpy.



    We all know how the alternative reality thing will be working out. I mean.. that Jin will end on that restaurant and Sayid will come. And when the moment was there, it was always quite guessable what will happen with Sun.



    On the island.. I totally did not get the whole Locke camp thing.. That was confusing. I liked quite better the whole thing on the island with Sun. The garden, she speaking Korean again and yelling on Richard and he understands nothing.



    And ending.. like always.. brilliant.. I most say, the Sayid "no feelings" development looks quite promising too.. I mean.. he seems to be smokies perfect errand boy now. What is going on with Desmond is the question I want to know!moreless

    5 8

  • 9.5

    A Word to the Wise; Answers

    By jquaite07, May 26, 2010

    Okay I get it. There were no answers in this episode besides the package: Desmond. Okay I get it. Many of you probably saw that coming. I also get that it is becoming very late in the game and I understand the screams of "for the life of me LOST please stop with the teasing!! What does the alt timeline really mean??"



    But what I don't get is why people are rating this show based on answers every single week instead of episode value and entertainment. I also wonder if anyone saw a subtle twist in this episode that I might be making too much of but could be significant. Lets face it, these flash sideways are an intergral part of this season and probably won't stop until maybe the last three episodes of the season. But when they do stop I believe that the crowd is in for a big reward. Then, those three final episodes that are not flash sideways will be ample time for the plot to get into second gear plus the two hour season finale I'm sure won't be an old grandma driving 30 miles an hour on the expressway. So that leaves us five hours of plot and action and answers plus who is to say that alot won't be answered in that moment on that episode when we finally figure out what the heck the flash sideways purposes are. I may sound like a broken record here but I'm really hoping that the wise will persevere and continue to trust the writers who have not failed us for five seasons. If they do fail us lets wait until the season finale is over to say so. I'm not saying I'm not a little frustrated because I am; but what I will say is that I hope fans aren't getting so frustrated about answers that they are now missing good, entertaining hours of LOST. Last night's episode was really good. It was just boiling over with supsense, intensity, and distrustthat you can tell that developments are about to explode right before us. Take these examples: Man In Black's subtle hints to Claire that if she still wants to there will be an appropriate time to kill Kate. MIB's statement to Sawyer that he doesn't like secrets referring to the fact of Whitmore trying to hide the package from him had to have a double meaning just for Sawyer who is trying to con the MIB.



    Finally there was a subtle clue to the flash sideways that maybe people aren't seeing. When Sun bumps her head on the tree while running away from MIB did and they made the switched back to Sun in the flash sideways opening her eyes, did anyone get the feeling that the two mirror characters may have connected becuase of the trauma and that is the reason why Sun can't now speak English? Of course she can still understand English but maybe that is just her now dangling between the two worlds. Maybe if the characters undergo certain traumas they can actually gain some sort of access to the flash sideways. Juliet certainly seemed to. But enough theorizing for now, I really enjoyed this episode and yes I hope that more questions begin to get answered before the end, but what I think is most healthy for all LOST fans to do is to try to enjoy the episodes for what they are now and complain later if the answers still aren't given to us near the end.moreless

    24 5

  • 10

    Upon review, this episode reveals subtle brilliance!

    By northpoint77, May 26, 2010

    On the surface, it's easy to find this episode a little slow and uneventful, but nothing could be further from the truth. Sun and Jin and their babies future hangs in the balance. When Sun hit her head on the Island running away from Smokey, it's not just a cheesy plot device that she wakes up unable to speak English anymore, it's much more interesting than that. It's actually that Her 2 realities on and off the Isand appear to start to run together as she can no longer speak English, like her sideways self. This is the first time we've seen these two realities directly affect each other.



    This was a great character ep...and it's literally loaded with subtle and meaningful clues that are easily missed...I think this will be one of those eps that will be revealed to be very important once the whole season plays out...moreless

    14 8

Load More Reviews