Metalocalypse

Show Reviews (61)

Great
1,038 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    One of the better shows on television, Cartoon Network should definitely hold on to this one.

    By snottman2000, Jan 11, 2013

    I'd agree with anyone that said this was a good show. I had stumbled upon it late one night and just started cracking up. This show has never let me down in the laughs department, not to mention that it is visually enticing. The basic fact that the band is so obscenely huge and that they get away with everything just adds to the comedy of such a big group having such a low I.Q.

    0 3

  • 10

    I am not a big fan of heavy metal, but I make an exception to Dethklok, they are just brutal and hardcore, and so is this show.

    By That_TV_Dude, Dec 24, 2012

    Brendon Small gives Adult Swim another classic show called Metalocalypse. The show is about 5 metal band members named Deathklok, and they are the most brutal and popular band in the world. They are so popular that the world leaders are watching them and plan to destroy them. The show has stories that are excellent and are funny. In each episode we see Dethklok try to integrate into society or try to do something new, but the results are always the same, they mess up and do funny stuff. All the humor is usually dry, but it's executed perfectly that will make you laugh, even if you aren't a fan of dry humor. The artwork is dark an has originality to it. The animation flows smoothly but it does seem stiff from time to time. The characters are all entertaining and will bring their own humor to the show. The music parts of the show are very entertaining to watch and the songs are very catchy and will have you headbanging in no time. Overall, Metalocalypse is a very entertaining TV show from Adult Swim and an instant classic in my book. Thank you Brendon Smalls for delivering another classic show for Adult Swim.moreless

    4 4

  • 10

    great show and one of the best deathmetal bands outthere

    By avulsed, Jul 26, 2012

    this show is made with a specific audience in mind,that being metalheads.which is quite rare since most shows will tend to go for a wide audience.in doing this the creators were able to create a cartoon completely catered to the metalfans.



    and its is a great relief that a cartoon about metal is made by people who are into metal themselves,this way we dont have to deal with crappy music they try to pass off as metal and genres completely mixed up.



    having 2 albums out and a 3th in the making,dethklok has been received as one of the best deathmetal bands in recent years.

    deathmetal is all about blood & gore so its quite fitting there's lots of it in metalocalypse.

    the show is also full of bandreferences.

    if your into metal you will love this show.if not,then move on,there's nothing for you here.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.0

    It finally happens...Spinal Tap gets animated! Metalocalypse is something The Jetsons wishes it could be...a hard-rockin' cartoon.

    By BatJane, Feb 22, 2011

    I am glad that Metalocalypse finally expanded to half-hour length cartoons in its third season. It is irritating to watch stories that are too short and are over even before I can enjoy the art and humor that go into each of the stories. This is actually even more enjoyable than "Beavis & Butt-Head", as you have to understand the intricacies of the music industry to get all the "in" jokes of this series. While I can't afford to own the pre-recorded videos, I record "Metalocalypse" from Adult Swim on my DVR when I possibly can--even at times when I should be in bed.moreless

    1 3

  • 6.0

    I don't mind watching it, but I'd prefer to watch something else, if only something else was on that late.

    By NejiShikamaru, Jan 02, 2011

    My main problem with the show, is it's very graphic, even if it is a show on Adult Swim...it's very overly done, I can understand that metal bands might equal black shirts and skulls and stuff, but having peoples faces melt away to show the muscles and tendons? Too much for me...overall I don't mind watching it, it's not a terrible show, it's just WAY overdone with the graphic display...if they didn't have so many faces melting all of the time and didn't have as many graphic scenes, I'd enjoy it much more.



    I find Murderface to be quite funny, I don't know the names of any of the other characters though, even the lead singer, who I struggle to understand a word he says, but it's not a bad show. Again, the only problem is how graphic it is...how does anyone think of that stuff?



    Definitely should be on Adult Swim when it airs, I would prefer to watch other shows instead, like Robot Chicken, but it's not a show to put down instantly. Just tone down on the graphic scenes and I would be quite pleased overall. Sure as hell beats the Squidbillies...moreless

    2 9

  • 1.0

    Boring, not funny, and little story plot.

    By ArtMasterFrylok, Oct 24, 2010

    This show is pretty much for people who likes hardcore rock music. For the rest of us, you'll pretty much hate it. I've watch around five episodes, and none of them ended half-decent. The characters has little emotions and cares only about sponsors and their band. Not only do they lack what all shows requires, it also lacks comedy, which is what it's supposed to be. It's incredibly boring with random plots that takes you to some absurd idea that normally revolves around death. While at some point they have the right idea, they would mess up the entire episode in less than 4 minutes.moreless

    3 17

  • 9.0

    the Spinal Tap of death metal!

    By heylin_prince, Feb 24, 2009

    The show revovlves around a death metal band called Dethklok which consists of vocalist Nathan Explosion, lead guitarist Skwisgaar Skwigelf, rhythm guitarist Toki Wartooth, bassist William Murderface, and drummer Pickles. Dethklok is one of the most popular bands in the world and is 7th biggest economic resource. Nevertheless, all of the band members are moronic, imcompetent, and can't do the most simplest things such as buying groceries.



    Anyways, I first stumbled upon this show at the Guitar World forum when someone mentioned the band. I decided to check them out on Youtube and found out they were a fictional band from the show of the same name. So I recorded and the first episode I was laughing my ass off. The humor is anything but dry, the band's ego and personality is well done. Not to mention their music is pretty solid too. One problem, it's eleven minutes! If you're fan of metal or any form of rock, I highly suggets you watch this show, you won't be dissapointed.moreless

    2 2

  • 10

    Simply amazing.

    By AlbinoMonkeyRat, Jan 16, 2009

    This show is made for the people who used to watch Beavis and Butt-Head back in the 90's because it was more real than The Real World, when those were the only two shows on MTV (aside from the actual music videos). There are an incredible amount of references to death AND black metal in this show, which would be left unnoticed to non-metalheads...and most of these references are simply hilarious. For example, when Nathan Explosion had to find a job because the band no longer existed, he worked at Dimmu Burger...a reference to the mispronunciation of the (arguably) most popular black metal band from Norway, Dimmu Borgir. Other references are also visual, where some stores have the name of bands in the names of said stores on the signs. Subtleties such as these make the show interesting, as does the voices from real band members. All in all, I would recommend this show to anybody that listens to (at the minimum) rock, even if they don't listen to metal, or death metal...but I wouldn't recommend it to the girls who listen to just pop, rap, or country.moreless

    3 4

  • 10

    This show appeals to musicians, and people who like comedy. Many jokes will go over the heads of non-musicians and family guy fans. The best music related comedy show since Tenacious D.

    By RAGNAROK2112, Dec 17, 2008

    This show comes in at number four after The Simpsons, South Park, and KOTH. You must have some sort of background or knowledge of music and metal to appreciate this show. Showcasing characters like Dr. Roxo (representing David Lee Roth) who want nothing more than to tell everyone, "My name is Dr. Roxo, the rock n roll clown, I do cocaine!!" The entire band is hard-headed about music, everything must be "brutal." Though they are the most popular thing on the planet, (in the show) but their manager can barely get them into the studio to start on a new album. The band being more concerned about cell phones, merchandise, drugs, and drinking. Never worried about their self-destructive fans who will literally kill themselves if they think it will bring them closer to the band. In one episode the band is complaining about their "summer colds," while visiting horribly disfigured fans in the hospital. (the fans being injured by a bombing of a band sponsored coffee shop) And then complaining about it. This show contains references to all things music, without resorting to the, "remember the time I..." tactics of shows like Family Guy. The humor is often dry, and right on the money. I hope that before the show is over they are able to make a full length movie. I can't accurately describe the genious of this show, you must watch it.moreless

    3 4

Load More Reviews