Miss Guided

Show Reviews (15)

Great
392 votes
8.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Miss Guided is about Becky Freely, a guidance councilor. She is working at the same high school that she attended, where she wasn't very popular.

    By kendalkendal, Dec 19, 2008

    Miss Guided is a clever show with a great cast. Judy Greer plays Becky Freely so perfectly. Greer has this sort of awkwardness to her portrayal of Becky that is more charming than annoying which is hard to do. The show is quite funny. Becky is always competing with Lisa, which always proves to be comical. The guest stars are fun and well acted. Ashton Kutcher playing the hot Spanish teacher is great and that he likes Becky is a funny plot choice. I am disappointed that there are only seven episodes of Miss Guided, I think that it should have stayed on air and that ABC made a big mistake.moreless

    2 0

  • 7.0

    Unlike its title, this show is anything but mis(s)guided.

    By beredy, Sep 07, 2008

    Considering that ABC basically cancelled this show even before it started to air it by cutting down the episode order number I fully expected that they have another comedy bomb in their hands as sual. But Miss/Guided turned out to be quite a funny and charming show.



    Judy Greer brings most of the shows whackyness int the mix, but supporting characters elp out to - mainly Chris Parnell as the closeted vice principal.



    The 7 filmed episode provide great variety and the show is never boring.



    It's a pity ABC cancelled Miss/Guided because it fit perfectly in tone and charm with (slightly superior) Samantha Who?moreless

    0 0

  • 6.8

    This series could have used some guidence counciling to make the characters three-dimensional.

    By dude6363, May 29, 2008

    I was excited to see Miss Guided because I thought it was a nice premise and I was intersted to see Judy Greer out of her normal supporting role but I was pretty disappointed. It almost seemed to have took a different turn from the average sitcom premise and cliche but didn't improve upon it, just brought it into school. There's no lie, some of the lines were funny, but not enough to carry the series. Becky Freely's naiveness wasn't endearing, it was just discomforting. All the character's seemed so unreal, like they never let you forget you were watching a television show with actors and scripts. I wasn't suprised it was cancelled, it seemed to be filler. Despite all of Miss Guided flaws, they're were some definitely funny lines and I believe the undeniable charm the show had would make me want to watch the nonexistant season two.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.0

    It took a few episodes to get into, but then it gets great!

    By count-chocula, Apr 05, 2008

    Months and months and months ago when I first heard of this project I was skeptical: I didn't think it would be very good and it wouldn't suit me at all. After watching the pilot I was inclined to agree with my earlier self. However, I perceviered with it and come episode 3 this show really came into its own. I know think it is hilarious!



    In my opinion, the best episode is number 4, "Rebel Yell" where the staff break into the school at night.



    However, I don't believe this series would be half as good if it wasn't for Bruce Terry, portrayed by Saturday Night Live allumni Chris Parnell. The character is hilarious and really makes the show, otherwise it may go "stale".



    This is a great series and I only hope ABC picks it up for a second season.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Well it took me a few episodes to get into this after i was actually disappointed at first but now since ep4 i must say this show has really picked up ..

    By eastman-music, Apr 05, 2008

    Well it took me a few episodes to get into this after i was actually disappointed at first but now since ep4 i must say this show has really picked up .. i hope this show wont get trashed seeing its been shown with double episodes ... it seems the writers really warmed up after a few episodes and now this really is kickin it .. the characters are now really working and starting to make sense .. i love watchin it at my lunch break after havin it recorded .. i gotta be careful that i dont choke on something while laughing and eating :-)) ace !moreless

    0 0

  • 9.9

    Very Cool Show

    By crzza, Apr 05, 2008

    "Miss Guided" is a new show that aired March 17th 2008 on ABC. Its about a lady who goes to work at her former high school as a guidance counsler. There uhave been many guest start appearances by familar faces in the first couple of episodes. I hope this show lasts along time. if it goes soon we should send in peanuts in protest! Just like people saved Jerico. Im not sure how many people like it so early on in the run but I think it was a really good idea for a show. I hope others like it too.moreless

    0 1

  • 5.0

    A cross between 'The Office' and 'Legally Blonde' except I enjoyed the both of them, but not this.

    By lexacliche, Apr 02, 2008

    In order for you to appreciate a show, you have to appreciate the characters. Quite frankly the main character annoyed me at the beginning of the pilot that I couldn't even like the other characters on the show. The story line is an interesting take; a guidance counselor in school, but it begins to get typical when we are introduced to a love interest of hers and the possible competition for her. I could practically tell what would happen in the entire episode one quarter into the pilot, which left little room for suspense. This act has been done many times on television. The episode bored me soon enough as I could not tune into the last half of it. I would not tune into any other episodes as there are much better comedies on television.moreless

    2 2

  • 9.4

    I love this show! I laugh all the way through it. It been a long time since anything has been on TV this funny. I love the guidance counselor.

    By rgreen920, Apr 02, 2008

    I love this show! I laugh all the way through it. It has been a long time since anything this funny has been on TV.

    I love the guidance counselor, I've always been for the underdog. I see a little of me in her. Always close but still always slightly missing the main prize. I hope it becomes a show that comes on every season. We needed a real funny,funny comedy on TV and this is it. It reminded me of the comedies that use to be on TV like The Beverly Hillbillies, Leave it to Beaver and The Jeffersons. Comedies when you laughed from the start to the finish.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.6

    If only my high school guidance counselor had been this helpful, perky, and entertaining.

    By tillievision, Mar 30, 2008

    Another delightfully bright and cheery comedy. I only hope it won't get lost when ABC's heavy hitters come back with new material. Like "30 Rock", these episodes are short and sweet half-hour gems. And like "The Office", sometimes the characters interact one-on-one with the camera, speaking their mind (or the truth as they see it) directly to the viewers. It's little things like that that help give this show a wonderfully fresh feel that I find irresistible.



    Teachers and faculty: they're people too. I had no idea Judy Greer could carry a leading role, but she does it easily. Greer loosens up as Becky Freeley, the very impressionable, yet cheerfully friendly high school counselor who is still struggling to shed her own awkward ways and fit in with the "cool crowd". Some of my favorite moments are the hilariously authentic-looking and ever-embarrassing flashbacks to Becky's old high school days. Whether it's her parents' camcorder recording as she delivers her pathetic one-liner in the school's play, or the documenting of Becky's agonizing and tearful departure from the debate team, grainy clips from the 80's have never looked so humiliating. I'm sold.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews