Broken Bird

Episode Reviews (18)

Great
339 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    When Ducky is stabbed it reveals his past.

    By DexterMorgan2, Feb 15, 2013

    I was surprised to see that Ducky got stabbed at the crime scene after NCIS had solved the original case in about a minute What was even more surprising is the things the attacker was saying about Ducky Only some of it was true which was that he killed but only stop people from getting tortured more Overall it was a good Ducky episode where we learn about his past.

    1 0

  • 9.0

    While Investigating A Crime Scene, Ducky Is Stabbed By An Unknown Woman. The Investigation Leads Down A Path That Could Destroy Ducky's Career.

    By Matt16020-FIN, Jul 16, 2012

    As a huge Ducky fan, I was thrilled when I heard that this episode would be centered to him. In my opinion it was great. This episode worked on so many levels. It had a great and very compelling story. I found myself hooked from the very beginning. The scene where Ducky got stabbed was terrific. It was well done. Ducky's past has never been explained so I was glad that we got answers. I was shocked about the accusation of the stabber. David McCallum was excellent and he gives his best performance to date in the series. I hope he is not forgotten when the Emmys are handed. Great episode! Do not miss this.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.5

    Wait, when did NCIS become a quality show?

    By noelveiga, Jun 14, 2011

    DonĀ“t take the score wrong, here. NCIS is a corny procedural that I just happen to enjoy as a guilty pleasure. It's the kind of amiable cheese I need to explain to friends and family who often wonder why I bother with it at all. Elsewhere I already mentioned that the fun way the characters are built, almost to golden holywood support cast standards, is the main reason why I stick with NCIS. Even so, this show has no business building an episode around two old timer TV actors, much less doing it so well.



    McCallum and W. Morgan Sheppard share one scene, and it makes the episode. All the credit for it falls on the actors, as their dialogue is overwritten and on the nose. The two just elevate it. It helps that Ducky has been built as a rambling literate old man, of course, but making the lines they had poignant and honest is a feat. Sure, the episode has highs and lows, it's definitely not perfect, but unlike other procedurals, NCIS has survived an attempt at social commentary and, surprisingly, even managed to end it in a high emotional note. I guess the move from me-too CSI to a successful show in its own right has happened for a reason. I can't say I'm disappointed with that.moreless

    3 1

  • 4.0

    Quintessential hypocrisy and angel complex.

    By ayershov, Jun 12, 2011

    Not for the first time I feel disgusted by Ducky's character...He always follows the same pattern: makes a difficult, but necessary choice, agonizes over it, then apparently reluctantly, but deliberately, finds somebody else to blame for what happened. Quintessential hypocrisy and angel complex. Why did he keep quiet for so many years? They tortured and murdered an innocent man. Now chickens came home to roost, and of course the good doctor allowed himself to be persuaded to give up someone else to take the blame. He submitted himself to the judgment of the victim's family (knowing they'd have to forgive him once they found the truth), so now he can go back being an angel and riding the high horse with everyone else.moreless

    3 22

  • 6.0

    Confusing.

    By tanargue, Mar 30, 2011

    Sorry but this is not one of my favourite episodes although it has its moments.

    I thought that the premise of the woman who stabbed Ducky, recognising him after thirty years when she had been only eight at the time was stretching it a bit.

    The idea that it was Ducky who was being tortured psychologically I found confusing. Why? Just for the torturer's sadistic pleasure? It seemed a very strange idea to me.

    In fact, Ducky annoyed me intensely in this episode. All that fuss about the starling in the house - I liked the Corgis though!!

    Jimmy Palmer and his search for the explanation of why there is no J street in Washington was amusing and indeed we now know why. Capital J was too similar to capital I in the script of the day. So there you are.moreless

    1 5

  • 9.0

    The first half of the episode was amazing, but the second half was just plain confusing!

    By amazing_race, Dec 26, 2010

    This was a decent episode of NCIS, but I have definitely seen better. I lvoed the idea of edelving into Dr. Mallard's past, and this was certainly an interesting storyline.



    Ducky being attacked at the crime scene was just a creative and great scene, but it was also a sad one, and fortunately, it wasn't a serious attack.



    I thought the storyline was interesting at several points, but as the episode unfolded, it became increasingly confusing and more and more frustrating to understand. I know I was definitely confused at various points.



    Overall, it isn't an exceptional episode, but I would still recommend it neveratheless. It's a great show, and even one of its weaker episodes can be seen as great. Keep it up, NCIS!moreless

    2 2

  • 10

    A must watch for any Ducky or David McCallum Fan. Outstanding!!!!!

    By Ducky_One, Dec 26, 2010

    "Broken Bird" is one of those episodes that really makes you see what the charactrers are made of. From the start to finish you feel a certain amount of pain for Ducky. It is only thru the unflagging support of his friends, especailly Gibbs, that the good doctor is proven innocent. I have to admit when I first heard what the story line delt with I was hesitant to watch. Ducky is my favorite character on the show and to see the type of charges brought against him was hard to comprehend. After watching in though, I now have a better understanding of his character and a much more sympathtic outlook. By the way I cried for a solid two hour after the episode went off. David McCallum proved what a WONDERFUL actor he really is with the wide range of emotion he displays in this episode. OUTSTANDINGmoreless

    4 0

  • 10

    Disturbing secrets of Ducky's past are revealed when he is stabbed at a crime scene.

    By Kalibri, May 16, 2010

    A nerve-wracking episode with just the right amount of humor and pain, and a little more enlightenment of how Ducky's mind really works. It opens with the death of a navy officer, like all episodes. But what makes this episode unique is the observation of the killer at the moment of the officer's death. Moments after the opening credits, Ducky and Mr. Palmer arrive at the scene late (as has happened in many prior episodes) and immediately fall into the conversation of how Mr. Palmer missed the street, while kneeling over the dead navy officer. While Gibbs and the Gibblets arrest the perpetrator, in what Tony describes as the 'quickest case ever', Ducky is stabbed by a woman wearing a green scarf. Ziva chases after the new perp, and Gibbs and Palmer rush to aid the doctor (in this scene I was a little disappointed that Gibbs wasn't more worried about Ducky. A friend of so many years is surly one to worry for when he's stabbed.). I enjoyed the next scene after this, with Ducky being taken out of the surgery, hopped up on 'just a drop' of morphine. In the scenes with Gibbs, I found myself wondering, for some reason, if his glasses had turned into a necessity. I don't remember him wearing them for as long as he did in this episode. And that also led me to take in the shape of the lenses. I believe that they are different from the ones that he received in the first season. Anyhoo, the rest of the episode revolves around Ducky and why a random woman would want to stab and possibly kill him. It came as a shock to me when Gibbs found him at the embassy, prepared to turn himself in for a crime he did not mean to commit some three decades ago. The reconcile between Ducky and the one eyed man at the embassy was a very interesting scene. How Ducky was the one who was really being tortured and all that was said. (By the way, was anyone else kind of hoping that Mrs. Mallard would make an appearance in this episode?) The last scene I though was extremely touching, with Ducky sitting in the morgue, crying. It really shows how Ducky is a 'broken bird'.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.5

    Really, a Ducky episode!

    By JPPT1974, May 16, 2010

    Not a lot of episodes, get to showcase. Ducky, the wise ME. But this one, showcases him, as well. Because, it shows part, of his past. A woman, tries to stab him. Over a three decades war crime. Despite knowing, that he did it. He didn't do it, for murder. But he did it, to end, the person he killed. Putting him, out of, his misery. Ducky tries to turn himself, into the Embassy. There, he and the one-eyed man, began to play, a game of, cat and mouse. Ducky is cleared. But still, he feels so guilty. He cries at the end. Really it touched me, that he cried. As viewers wanted, to cry with him.moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    wow DUCKY!

    By ellena93, May 16, 2010

    Who knew that Ducky had ever regreted something from his life? i love how its a Ducky episode and you get to learn more about Ducky than you ever have before. Its really thrilling and a great episode to watch, its an easy way to picture Ducky as a young repectable man and makes you think that all of his stories had some kind of more thrilling action behind them! I also love how in this episode Ducky has a love intrest, its just so cute! Its also great to know how Ducky is suppersticious about the birds in the house, its very interesting episode!moreless

    4 0

Load More Reviews