Oz

Show Reviews (68)

Great
2,094 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Would be great if.....

    By ChantalleRichardsonchiver, May 10, 2015

    Started watching but stopped after episode 5 of season 1 I got sick of the show cutting to the guy in a wheelchair talking totally ruined it for me!!!! What's the point! Just for the record unless I score high my review won't publish! Says it all

    0 0

  • 10

    We all want OZ back on HBO!!!

    By cabdriver718, Mar 09, 2015

    The 6 seasons that OZ did were great & the way they ended the series was almost like a Cliffhanger the cyanide chemicals were released & the whole jail was evacuated & they just left! ! That's not fair HBO why do that 2 your loyal fans!!!

    "BRING BACK OZ"

    2 0

  • 10

    That show makes me so scared of prison

    By Nickiller95, Feb 16, 2015

    I would be so frightened if I were to go to prison after seeing this the prison itself and the people in it makes the inmates go even more with beechers son.....

    0 0

  • 10

    I dont want to go to prison

    By Hardasstv, May 01, 2014

    With epic violence, brutal murders and storys that keep you wanting more. Oz would put the fear of God in anyone when thinking of prison.

    1 0

  • 10

    More than a decade later - still outstanding

    By aminarundol, Feb 28, 2014

    Gritty, dirty, unique, well acted, superbly written - one of the greatest TV shows ever. The atmosphere is dark, realistic but also weirdly surreal. It grabs you and hold in its world of violence, survival and deep human insticts and emotions. OZ is simply amazing.

    3 0

  • 9.0

    An Unrelentingly Bleak Meditation on the Violence and Dysphoria Permeating the American Prison System

    By Maxwell_Hammel, Sep 04, 2013

    Welcome to Oz (The Oswald State Correctional Facility), a terrifyingly corrupt Prison set in upstate New York where the burdens of the state are pooled together with the very worst being brought to "Em City" a cell block oriented around rehabilitation and education led by the originally naive Tim McManus. "Em City" brings many members of diverse groups (Neo-Nazis, Muslims, Gangbangers, Junkies and Psychopaths) into a melting pot where there are no secrets. There are no solid walls, with all of the cells being glass prisms forcing the guards to watch in helpless horror (and even take part in the cruelty themselves) as prisoners Rape, Kill and sell/use massive amounts of Drugs all in the pursuit of power and any equivalent of freedom they can get their hands on. Over the course of Six Seasons each consisting of Eight hour-long episodes we learn more than we could ever want to know about the crimes, passions, relationships and vices of the inmates and guards. The Acting across the board is stellar- striding a fine line between Bold Art (the show is narrated from the rotating prismatic perspective of a wheelchair bound prisoner floating above the chaos of Oz like Glenda the Good Witch in her bubble) and eerie naturalism. Beyond this however most viewers will probably be put off by the EXTREMELY BRUTAL violence and full frontal male nudity (often within the context of Rape). Oz is a grueling experience but ultimately finds redemption in its humanization and not glorification of Prison Life. This is not The Shawshank Redemption. Instead we get an intimate look at the horrors of the Prison System and the corruption that sews the seeds of discontent often ending in the deaths of human beings. For those who can stomach the default nastiness and cynicism Oz will prove to be a rewarding and highly engaging exercise in sustained tension.



    HIGHLY RECOMMENDEDmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    great tv

    By gregpearson18, Jan 19, 2013

    oz is an excellent show! from episode one it's in your face, raw and ugly, very unpc and with plenty of dark dry humour!! it has some great characters and concentrates on the inmates and staff, each episode devotes say 15 minuites to a current storyline and has a great narration by augustus hill on a topic like death, television and society! what's great about oz is that despite all the murders and mayhem there's plenty of morals too!! what the show does best is mix terrible violence, racism and villainy with plenty of dark humour! i also recommend the governer, the wire, underbelly and the shield!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    excellent show

    By TinaCowanDaw, May 09, 2012

    gives you a idea of what life is like in prison couldnt stop watching

    2 0

  • 10

    Best tv series

    By AichaAgne, Feb 14, 2012

    This is the best tv series ever. I can believe how it could have so much real prison life facts and also be so theatrical, I know many peolpe from jail personally and I cannot believe how much these tv series can reflect so clearly and perfectly. I love it because it is not fuc*ing commercial shit, fiction like prison brake. I like this reality witch is provoking and showing that we are all the same. We all want to love, we all full of rage and jealousy, competition, that we are all humans and equal, what is more it shows that everyone could change his inside world and become a better man and we all deserve for a chance.moreless

    3 0

Load More Reviews