Raising the Bar

Show Reviews (24)

Great
481 votes
8.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.5

    Too Bad I Missed the Original Run

    By LarryMindlin, Aug 08, 2012

    Very good show, watching on Hulu now. Missed the original run even though I always wanted to catch it. Just finished season 1 and started S2. Loved S1 but S2 is leaving me dissapointed, they are not finishing storylines (read cases), and we do not know the results. Characters are great though.

    0 0

  • 4.0

    Cheap Money!!

    By bostonjoe, Dec 23, 2011

    Let's face it; the fact that this show was cancelled shouldn't surprise anyone. TNT casted actors that still have some popularity and had then do a show. Why, because they came cheap. None of these actors and actresses are commanding even a medium amount of money. As with any star that's playing on TNT, Lifetime or other networks like it. That's went you as an actor should know your career is just about over and it time to move on to something else.



    Charlotte Rae played Mrs. Edna Garrett on Facts of life said it the best after the show was cancelled.



    Charlotte Rae: Now I go off to Lifetime to die!!moreless

    1 3

  • 7.3

    There is potential here, if the producers are willing to make some significant changes.

    By dragonwych, Feb 20, 2011

    I went out of my way to watch the pilot episode, becoming one of the millions drawn in by the advertising. Given the cast, the producer, and the basic premise, I expected solid, engaging entertainment.



    Instead, I got the undisciplined, mouthy attorney versus the over-sexed, maniac judge. That judge has to go first, either much less of her or a sturdy rewrite. Anyone can have moments of extreme arrogance or profound stupidity, but all she did was swing between the two. Give her a gag, a courtroom law refresher, and HRT, somebody, and quick.



    Then there's Jerry, our impassioned public defender. The job apparently requires really bad hair. Jerry also needs to revisit law school along with the judge (a one-photo ID? Not lately.), along with a few charm classes. But he has heart and a lot of potential. Just stop writing him stupid.



    Charlie is the best character in the show, both as written and as acted. Don't change anything about him.



    Anything Gloria Reuben does is good. I'm glad to see her in a series. Same goes for Jaime Richards.



    Prosecuters who will stop at nothing to get the "W" irrespective of the truth no doubt exist but, at least this week, behave so at their own peril. This show has an office full of prosecutorial alligators: small brains, totally focused on the successful destruction of their prey. Right out of the chute, Jerry's honey does all she can to hide his exculpatory witness so she can get her win. She doesn't care that his client may well be innocent or that her behavior will undoubtedly terminate their relationship. She doesn't even seem to register either issue.



    Assuming that this show doesn't mean to be a total farce, and that I just missed the times I was supposed to laugh, then it has gone way too far in its attempt to show the flaws in the legal system. By pushing the stereotypes so far out of whack, the show negates its message altogether.



    Good news is that the next two episodes do seem to address some of the glaring problems of the pilot. They still aren't where they could be, but there's hope.moreless

    1 3

  • 1.0

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ. Everyone's a caricature.

    By rstutes, Jan 02, 2011

    What drivel. The first show was a waste, but I kept hoping it would get better, and it barely did. Then the last episode "Hang Time," broke the back. The impassioned speech after the Judge ruled, according to the law, that after the client said he did it, the fact that a witness died and his strategy would have changed didn't support vacating the plea, was a waste. I'm sure he feels better to have talked about the bedrock of our justice system, yadda yadda yadda. Didn't do his client a whit of good. And does he EVER defend a guilty person?moreless

    3 15

  • 2.0

    Pathetic script. Every lawyer on this show would be disbarred.

    By tmbuktu, Jan 02, 2011

    I've given this show multiple chances hoping that it would get better, but it's the same tired story every episode. All the prosecutors and judges are corrupt. Additionally all the public defenders are inept and have no concepts of how to gather evidence. For having so many innocent clients, the public defenders seem completely unable to ever gather evidence proving the client's innocence. Instead the PD's rely on begging prosecutors and judges to believe that the client is innocent. And magically, most of the accused are innocent. When these innocent clients with intentionally sympathetic backgrounds are found guilty, the PD's (especially Jerry) rely on lengthy in-court speeches to prove the show's main point (real creative Stephen). Furthermore, the prosecutors are apparently completely devoid of any concept of prosecutorial discretion. Everyone one of these lawyers would be sanctioned by the state bar and the show is an embarrassment to the legal profession. This show pretty much qualifies as the worst legal drama in years. Stephen Bochco should be embarrassed.moreless

    5 15

  • 1.0

    Oh dear! What a stinker!

    By sandbur, Jan 02, 2011

    This travesty has done nothing more than reinforce my utter disdain for law shows...and anyone behind the "creative team" (and I use the term loosely) for this series might want to rethink their day job.

    Neither the story lines or the key characters are in any way even mildly compelling. They either whine about how how unfair the system is (don't we all already know that!) or they do nothing positive to represent the "profession".

    I am beyond amazed that this low-brow production ever even made it past first review.

    They should have run it through MTAC first. "Gibbs" would have shot it squarely between the eyes before it could put any of us into misery...moreless

    1 9

  • 6.0

    Legas shows are not for me...

    By Arrix85, Jan 02, 2011

    ...especially this one. I watched the first two episodes, and I cannot go over the fact that the lead character is just plain annoying (watching him making almost exactly the same tirade against the judge didn't help), a loose cannon, I don't think he would last long in an actual court without being disbarred. On the relationship front the show is a mess, by my point of view, lawyers working for prosecution and defence that manage to maintaining their friendship??? It's beyond me: how could they calling themselves friends after throwing crap at each other in court? sorry, but that's it for me. Maybe the show gets better, after this "not so great" start, but I don't see it losing this unbelievable friendship front (I don't even try to address the love relationships).moreless

    1 1

  • 10

    It is very disappointing to find that this show is canceled. It was refreshing, humorous, interesting, and had me coming back for more each week. It wasn't properly marketed and I never knew when it was being aired. I will miss this show.

    By BETSC, Jan 13, 2010

    There should be more shows like this one! Good story lines, interesting characters with just the right amount of tension, and a wonderful cast. I am so disappointed that it is no longer on the air. It was not advertised like some of the other shows, and it was sometimes difficult to find. I used to look forward to this show each week and now sadly it has been canceled. Mark-Paul Gosselaar did a wonderful job portraying a young, idelic, overworked attorney, trying to make a difference, and work for his client at the same time. I hope the network will reconsider.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    This show is awesome.

    By ferreira0665, Oct 05, 2009

    For those whom say that the lawyers and judges would be sanctioned doesn't know what they are talking about. These people think judges have all this power. They don't. All they have the power to do is to keep order in the courtroom. If a previous case similar to the one at hand has already been ruled, the judge has to rule the same way as she/he ruled by precedent. Also not all the clients, in fact most of them, that the public defender's defend are not all innocent or completely for that matter. The heroin abused mother, the child molestor accused of killing the kid he molested, etc. There have been others. The heroin abused mother, honestly needed to have her kid taken away from her, the child molester didn't kill the kid but still had to do his time for being a child molester. Lawyers can be vindictive when it comes to winning a case. It is frowned upon but you don't always get sanctioned for it. Also there has been at least one or two episodes where the prosecution admitted fault. The girl accused of drug trafficking and then found the real drugs. She found out how bad the cop was that screwed her over. She literally thought she should have been fired but her boss kept her even telling her he shouldn't. To get your people prosecuted and get your people off sometimes you willing to do things you wouldn't normally do. You don't always get sanctioned for every wrong thing you do. I am going to Heald college right now for a Paralegal degree. We don't get to practice law but we have to usually know more about the law than the lawyers we work for. We are in fact required to know the law front and backwards and/or know where to look up the most current statute or law when we don't know it or even to make sure it hasn't changed.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Great Show with interesting cases.

    By Dyep1988, Jul 16, 2009

    Rasing the Bar takes the whole legal drama genre to the next level. The passion of Kellerman with the tension between he and his (ex) girlfriend all creates a formula for cant even get up to use the bathroom during commercial break T.V. Sunday and Tuesday's are the most painful days of the week as I wait for the current and next weeks' episode to air. God bless DVR as these are the caliber of shows that its creators intended to not be missed. Bobbi from Brooklyn meet up with me in Cadman Plaza im sure we could have good conversation.moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews