My Bed Banter & Beyond

Episode Reviews (14)

Superb
390 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Definitely one of my favorites.

    By Canogaparkcindy, Apr 15, 2010

    This episode was so original, this show is so original in general. I love how this episode jumps around to different days and the psychiatric reviews. This episode was in continuation to the last fantastic episode. Elliot & JD have had sex, and basically one of the timeliness is them having sex all day. And their relationship seems perfect, but then it jumps around to the next day where everything goes to crap. When it turns out to be so hard to handle a relationship, it just wasn't working out. They argued over the most stupidest things, it annoyed me at one point. At least this episode gives closure to their relationship, at least for now. From this episode, we take that there not good together, which was the point of this episode to show us that. The psychiatric reviews were pretty funny and a light break from all the Elliot/JD. Turk/Carla seem to be coming along nicely. Kelso continues to be a jerk. Cox opens up completely to the psychiatrist. And I think I liked his tapes the best. He told it like it is, and that's what I love about Cox. It was still sad to see Elliot & JD breaking up in the end, and they both tell the psychiatrist that their not in a relationship by the end. That last scene broke my heart. They were so sure it was going to work out, and it just didn't. An amazing unpredictable original episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Elliot and JD spend their whole day in bed, and then the next day go through a years worth of relationship roller coasters in one day at work, eventually ending things.

    By EPHS009, Jul 22, 2008

    Oddly enough, my girlfriend and I just watched this episode together and she loved it, having never seen Scrubs before, and I think this was the perfect episode to show her. The writing in this one was classic, from the way the characters revealed their inner emotions, to something as simple as the camera work on the pizza box to reveal the time JD and Elliot have in this somewhat dream like reality of repeated sex. The awkwardness revealed in their next day of work is a perfect replica of average relationships and how they encounter problems, and sometimes don't overcome them. Another reason Trilling is a genius.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    J.D. and Elliot embark on their first romantic relationship. But, as many people know, no relationship is perfect and they soon discover just how feelings for another person can destroy a relationship.

    By jmac070, May 06, 2008

    This is my favorite episode of Scrubs. However, it's not very funny and does not deal with medicine, but rather emotions and REAL life. If that's not what you want, then watch a different episode. But for people who do, this is the perfect episode. Through testimonials and monologues, the Scrubs writers show truthfully the fragility, ups and downs of relationships. Elliot and J.D. seem to have very strong feelings for each other, which eventually leads them to the beginning of their relationship. But, unfortunately for them and as demonstrated by the psychiatrist interviews, relationships aren't perfect and cannot be based just on romantic feelings. This is very well illustrated by Turk and Carla's separate testimonials, which show that although their relationship has problems, it works out because they really do love each other. Dr. Cox's testimony is my favorite part of the episode because it shows that just because someone is rock hard on the outside doesn't mean they must be on the inside. And he doesn't get over-emotional either. He plainly states, "Bottom line, those couples that are truly right for each other wade through the same crap as everybody else but the big difference is they don't let it take them down." It was a tear jerker, though, because I personally wanted to see Elliot and J.D. end up together. Wonderful acting, music use, plot, and beyond, you will not be sorry after watching this classic episode.moreless

    2 0

  • 8.5

    SPOILERS AHEAD. In this episode, we see two of our favorite characters trying out the relationship they seem to be meant for. But as always, there's trouble in paradise, and the whys are seen through the staff's individual interviews with a psychiatrist.

    By filmafic06, Mar 24, 2008

    I think this is one of the best episodes of the season, if not of the series. Although it includes the typical happy-in-love escapist bedroom scenes and shots of J.D. and Elliot being a couple, such standard TV-love fare is balanced by Dr. Cox's excellent monologue on how delicate and torrential relationships are, intercut with the fall of J.D. and Elliot's relationships. It's tragic and tugs the heartstrings in the show's typical introspective manner. I teared up at the end of the episode when I first saw it, and I don't recall any show like "Dawson's Creek" ever making me do it.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    A hospital psychiatrist inteviews the staff.

    By raulgabriel9999, Jan 06, 2008

    One of the more erious episodes in the series. It explores the relationships of the various cast members. The relationship between JD and Elliot is shown in this episode that takes place within the bedroom and a matter of two weeks. This episode is my favorite for th season because it showed how real relationships are disfunctional and how often we tend to base everything on our own impressions of a perfect relationship. It alsoshowed Turk and Carla's relationship and on how it is not perfect and how it works inspite of it not being perfect. It also shows Dr. Cox as somewhat of an expert in relationships.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Fine example

    By MrPixelAttack, May 27, 2007

    So after dancing around eachother for awhile Jd and Elliot finally sleep together. And may I say it's about time, although things don't go quite so smoothly. At first things are good and actually go pretty well, if you know what I mean, and even after the initial fun wears off things still manage to stay okay. But after the first day things begin a slow downward spiral that eventually pits Jd and Elliot in constant fighting. Turns out it might have been better if they hadn't, and even Jd and Elliot know it. You feel really bad for both of them in this episode because I really think that we were all so sure that it would work out between them.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    JD and Elliot spend all day having sex, and the next day at work they try to hide their relationship but everyone already knows about it.

    By platedate, Feb 25, 2007

    I liked this episode a lot. I think that JD was much better off with Elliot than with Alex, even though he was only with Alex for two episodes, not even, but I wish that at the end they ahd stayed together! It was kind of obvious, though, that something like that was going to happen, so it wasn't that surprising. The pizza they were eating when they were having sex, though, looked really gross. A pretty good episode, kind of predictable, though, but I enjoyed it. I didn't like the end when they were both like, "Am I in a relationship? No." Mostly just because I really wanted them to stay together! A pretty good episode that I enjoyed watching. It had that typical Scrubs humor to it.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    Will they, won't they, they did!

    By SMGslayer97, Feb 03, 2007

    So after dancing around eachother for awhile Jd and Elliot finally sleep together. And may I say it's about time, although things don't go quite so smoothly. At first things are good and actually go pretty well, if you know what I mean, and even after the initial fun wears off things still manage to stay okay. But after the first day things begin a slow downward spiral that eventually pits Jd and Elliot in constant fighting. Turns out it might have been better if they hadn't, and even Jd and Elliot know it. You feel really bad for both of them in this episode because I really think that we were all so sure that it would work out between them.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    My Favorite Episode

    By beeftony, Dec 28, 2006

    This is undoubtedly my favorite "Scrubs" episode of all time. The interview sequences give us great insights into each character, and the disaster that is J.D. and Elliot's relationship plays out very powerfully onscreen. I always liked how show creator Bill Lawrence refused to conform to sitcom norms by having the male and female lead end up together or worse, have a "will they/won't they" relationship. Dr. Cox's monologue at the end captures this perfectly:



    "Relationships don't work the way they do on television or in the movies. Will they, won't they, then they finally do and they live happily ever after, give me a break. Nine out of ten of 'em end because they weren't right for each other to begin with and half the ones that get married get divorced anyway. And through all of this, I have not become a cynic, I have not. Yes, I do happen to believe that love is primarily about pushing chocolate covered candies and, in some cultures, a chicken. Bottom line, the couples who are truly right for each other wade through the same crap as everybody else but the big difference is they don't let it take 'em down. One of those two people will stand up and fight for that relationship. If it's right and they're real lucky, one of 'em will say something."



    The sort of relationship that he describes near the end is that of Turk and Carla, the relationship by which all others on the show are measured. They truly complete each other, and as supporting character relationships go, their's is one of the best in television history, and the best on television today. I love how this episode gives us insight into all of the major characters through psychological interviews. Dr. Cox's deep side is truly brought out in this one, as he gets the most screen time in terms of his interview. Dr. Kelso's interviews are truly hilarious, and his obliviousness to his wife's pain had me rolling on the floor in laughter, despite how wrong it was. Turk's competetive edge is explored in other episodes, but this is the first time we get a true picture of why he chose to be a doctor. Carla's motivation for becoming a nurse is similarly revealing.



    The part of this episode that I found the most revealing, other than Cox's on-the-money monologues, were the interviews at the end with J.D. and Elliot. J.D. speaks the undeniable truth when he says, "Things that wouldn't have mattered a week ago in a friendship become that much more important when sex is involved. I think it would be easier if you weren't friends with your girlfriend. At all." Anyone who has been in J.D.'s situation can tell you that this is true.



    Elliot's interview is similarly powerful: "I was so sure of everything in my life. I was sure I was going to be a doctor. I was sure I was going to be married by the time I was 25. But relationships. . . I always heard that when they were right, that they were easy. That even when things got hard, that they were easy. I totally don't get that at all. I mean, how is that possible?" The answer is, quite simply, that it's not, as revealed by Dr. Cox's earlier monologue.



    Overall, I really enjoyed this episode. My only complaint is that syndication has made it impossible to watch in its entirety due to its 27 minute running-length. This episode has only once aired in its full, which was the night it premeired. This is why I restrict myself to the DVD. Check it out; you won't regret it.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews