seaQuest DSV

Show Reviews (24)

Great
919 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    SeaQuest DSV

    By IronEagle1, Jan 26, 2013

    I Love SeaQuest DSV and I have Season 1 and Season 2 and I will be looking for Season 3 soon but right now I am not sure when I will be able to find it

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Fun and entertaining, been missing it for over 10 years

    By KDHMHE, Sep 11, 2009

    This show was one of my favorites from the early 90s.



    The characters and the places they go are just awsome. The show its self is a cool blend of military action and science know how. Although some of the show is a little out there, especially those alien episodes, the stories are fun and you could see how most of the technology is just around the corner.



    Although the special effects are dated now back then they were top of the line for a tv show. Darwin was especially fun to watch, come on who does not love a talking dolphin.



    I loved the first 2 seasons and the stories were great, but the 3rd and final season was just ok. It never really got going, it changed from being a mostly scientific adventure series to a military one adn it just sort of lost me. Also it was a real shame that they lost the original Captian of the Seaquest. The first 2 seasons are definate buys on dvd and they look great, but the 3rd season is just ok and if you are a fan of the show worth a watch but that is about it.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    the captain has a party and piclo has to help his dad

    By seaqueastdsv, Sep 26, 2008

    this is my favourite one. we get to see pickol and lucus and dagwood go to the smoke room to see his father who in real life is his father dom deluise and also his other son has appearance in it.. his mum has turn young and he has to try to save her from the pills she is taking. we see the whole crew go to the captains island where he is having a party. they all arrive for the bbq and are having a great time. darwin learns about money, and there becomes a atraction between wendy and bridger...moreless

    0 1

  • 8.0

    Has a show ever gone from good to crap as quickly as "seaQuest?"

    By jamoon2006, Oct 23, 2007

    When it premiered, "seaQuest" blew me away. I loved every minute of it, and it was a Sunday night ritual in our house, marking the end of the weekend and serving as one of the few shows my whole family could watch together. The mix of adventure, sci-fi and humor, coupled with a cast that seemed to be enjoying themselves under the command of Roy Schieder, was perfect. seaQuest saw action, to be sure, but there was always a sense of awe and wonder about the ocean and the world beneath the sea. This wasn't a gunship, it was a vessel of discovery.



    Then Season 1 ended, and the downfall began.



    What went wrong? Too much to list here, but the sense of adventure and exploration (along with oceanic tidbits from Bob Ballard) were jettisoned for more action (which was usually mindless), more women (who lacked the charm and beauty of Stacy Haiduk and Stephanie Beachum) and more sci-fi (which brought far too many aliens, monsters, ghosts and mutants to the forefront). It's the curse that befalls any show that wants to aim high. Network interference inevitably brings it back down to earth. Don't even get me started on the retcon which jettisoned Schieder. I wanted the seaQuest of Season 1 back. No Daggers, no DeLuise brothers, no Neptune, no travel to other planets. Just the seaQuest trying to keep the peace and aid humanity as the UEO tried to control the oceans.



    At least Season 1 is out on DVD. A bit hokey now, but it has recaptured my imagination. And I don't have the subsequent seasons to disappoint me.moreless

    2 3

  • 9.1

    This show got me through my childhood!!

    By Azrealsky, Mar 30, 2007

    Seaquest and Earth 2 were my first big forays into relatable science fiction. Beyond that of Star Trek, being set so far in the future. Seaquest was near future and had a dolphin. I was convinced that by now we would all be living in the Oceans, So sad that no one ever took a queue from the show. Oh well. Season 2 was my favorite because there was a more supernatural twist to the show, and although the critics were disgusted with it, I think it finally saved the show to not always be so focused on polotical things.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.8

    An updated version of Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea.

    By SoylentYellow, Feb 19, 2007

    I did like Roy Scheider as the captain of the sub and the stories were fairly interesting enough to keep me watching but overall the series was good but not great. I dont remember much of it these days.



    Michael Ironside in Season 3 was good as well, but the struggle to decide where the series was headed killed it. In Season 3 it became darker and more like Star Trek under water. I do remember the Season 2 to Season 3 cliffhanger where the submarine was scooped up and transported to a water planet to fight in a war, but not much else. Season 3 picked up 10 years later after the sub returned to Earth by the aliens, explained by time dialation of near light speed travel. I think the time passage and darker themes turned alot of viewers off. Though I thought it made the series a little better.



    I havent seen the series since it originally aired and I really dont care to see it again.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    SeaQuest DSV had all the signs of becoming a science fiction classic.

    By D-LinkUK, Nov 27, 2006

    In the twenty-first century, the nations of the world have expanded their spheres of influence to include the ocean, the last unexplored territory on Earth. Because of the pervasion of pirates, terrorists and war-mongers, the nations of the world have built an experimental submarine named the Seaquest. Seaquest's job is to maintain the peace of the world. Seaquest was one of those unforgettable science fiction shows that was driven by the strength of its characters and the quality of the writing. With adventure, drama, and danger, this series promised something for everyone. There was even a treat for animal lovers in the form of Darwin, Seaquest's resident dolphin who, thanks to an experimental computer program that allowed him to talk, gave the crew of the Seaquest a unique insights into the world, as well as a look at the world of humans from a dolphin's perspective.



    Seaquest offered a galaxy of guest stars, including Charlton Heston and William Shatner. This is a sci-fi series that definitely went before its time but after it's 3rd season was cut short after ratings fell.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    i like the 1st season, not sure about 2 and 3.

    By sfviewer, Aug 08, 2006

    i really liked season 1 of this show, it was ahead of its time. but i'm not much of a fan of season 2 and 3. the addition of the genetically engineered lifeforms looked silly. when roy scheider was replaced by michael ironside, i didn't like that either. i kept watching the show anyhow just to check out the effects. and the stories were still interesting. but it wasn't as good as the 1 season, that season was cutting edge, it was truly ahead of that time. the writers screwed the show by adding the genetic people. it looks silly from that point.moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    In the year 2018, mankind has began living and exploring the sea. To serve as law enforcement and keep the peace the UEO's Deep Submergence Vechicle, Seaquest, ventures into the deep sea, discovering new and exciting things about the oceans.

    By night_wolveX, Jul 02, 2006

    I loved watching this when i was younger, it was the first sci fiction tv show i got hooked on and i watched it regularly on the tv. The stories were interesting and the special effects were amazing, especially for the year it was made it. One very unquie and interesting part about the seaquest show was the educational credits they presented at the end of each show, which taught me many interesting things about sea creatures and the ocean enviroment. Unfortunately the show only lasted 3 seasons which i was disapointed at but all things must come to an end.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews