The Chinese Restaurant

Episode Reviews (14)

Superb
343 votes
9.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.5

    Boring

    By denisedel, Apr 18, 2012

    I love Seinfeld but honestly this was a boring episode. Nothing worthwhile happens!

    0 2

  • 10

    I hate Seinfeld, but I didn't hate this episode.

    By teamocil, Nov 05, 2011

    Yeah, you know it. I have never enjoyed watching television as much as I did watching this episode. I saw this show air because my friend complained about how much more funnier this sitcom was getting; I remember watching maybe 2 or 3 episodes from season 1 which my friend and I fondly disliked. He continued watching the show because my friend had no life and he still doesn't now, lol. To get to the point, I thought watching this episode was a hilarious expirience because it is so simple which helps making no room for flaws (like one of my favorite films 12 Angry Men), one location, one brilliant plot. The episode had funny dialogue which was a hot seat Seinfeld never managed to lead. -Mmoreless

    1 6

  • 9.5

    One of Seinfeld's most famous and defining episodes.

    By ilex91, Apr 01, 2011

    The Chinese Restaurant wasn't the funniest Seinfeld episode ever, but it was very funny, and was pretty much unprecedented for sitcoms. Jerry, Elaine and George wait for a table at a Chinese restaurant in real time. Thats it. Nothing else happens. I guess its not suprising that the network resisted it, but what made Seinfeld so funny was the hilarious disection of the minutiae of society, and that is what this episode did so well. No one else could have pulled this off. I loved the interactions of the gang with the Chinese host, and their increasingly berwilderment with the situation. Particularly George when he realised he missed his phone call because the host yelled "Cartwright". Classic.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Possibly the best episode in the series!

    By kittengoespop, Aug 10, 2010

    Jerry, George, and Elaine all go out to eat at a Chinese restaurant before going to see \"Plan 9 From Outer Space\", but are forced to wait an incredibly long time for a table.



    This simple concept with which we all seem to have experience, waiting for a table, was turned into comic genius in this wonderfully crafted episode of \"Seinfeld\". Everything about this episode clicked. From Elaine\'s desperation, to George\'s frenetic anticipation, to Jerry\'s levelheadedness, this is a prime example of why \"Seinfeld\" is considered one of the greatest comedies of all time. Not to mention that this episode has the perfect ending.



    As they all come to the realization that they probably won\'t get a table, they decide not to go to the movie, and to not even bother to tell the waiter that they\'re going. As soon as the door shuts, the waiter comes back to the room and shouts out, \"Seinfeld, four!\"



    So, in summation, this is a definitive \"Seinfeld\" episode, truly showing that nothing can indeed be funny.moreless

    2 4

  • 10

    One of THOSE episodes...

    By thebestoftv, Aug 10, 2010

    This was one of THOSE episodes. The episodes that can't be sorted by any particular category, but you love 'em anyway.



    Such episodes like this include: The Parking Garage, The Airport, The Limo, etc.



    Anyways, great episode! So many funny lines; I don't think I could name them all if I tried.



    THIS is Seinfeld.

    2 0

  • 9.1

    One of the best.

    By Ruudklomp, Aug 10, 2010

    Why this epsiode is called The CHinese restaurent is quite obvious, the whole episode takes place in some sort of waiting room in a chinese restaurent. There Jerry,Elaine en George deal with the pressure of waiting for a table. The way the three characters deal with the situation shows perfectly what Seinfeld is all about, it\'s about normal people handling quite normal events in a hilarious way. The Chinese restaurent is one of the best episodes of season 1 and 2, it\'s fresh yet so reconisible. And that what Seinfeld is all about, normal fresh events but in a hilarious way.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    Waiting for a table at the Chinese Restaurant... and waiting... and waiting...

    By miffster, Aug 10, 2010

    This is one of the classic episodes of Seinfeld; the gang is waiting for a table at the Chinese restaurant, and that's it. That's the plot. They stand around and talk, and it's one of the best episodes of the series! The only thing that would make it perfect would be if Kramer had been there with them; unfortunately, this is an episode that was filmed to be shown early in the second season, but the network execs were nervous about the lack of plot, so held it back. At the beginning of the second season, Kramer never left the apartment building... which is why he wasn't there.



    This episode really shows the strength of the Seinfeld series; the characters, their chemistry with each other, and the writing. Because that's all this episode has, and it works beautifully!moreless

    4 0

  • 9.0

    Great episode- but a bit overrated

    By EMINEM772, Aug 10, 2010

    In this episode, all four of them go out to eat at a chinese restaurant but they get stuck waiting for a table. The whole episode takes place at the chinese restaurant. Many funny things happen, like jerry betting elaine money to take food off of a strangers table. It really is a very funny episode, but i think it might be a little bit overrated. I mean there are alot of boring parts that are probably just there to take up time. In my opinion, the epsiode really should not have been in the chinese restaurant the whole time. With all that said, its still a great episode and definately the best in the earlier seasons, Its just not the "funniest greatest episode of all time" like some people make it out to bemoreless

    3 0

  • 9.5

    a grate episodes

    By metalavery, Aug 10, 2010

    funy that they cud never get a tabel and that they menchon it in a later episode. one of my favert episode it ti so just cool and as a my first review i sa i say it is one of the best of the best infact it was thot itwas goin to be bad by nbc but it was in fact grat so i say itwas horabil win i found out that it was canceld i say it shud brot back one day let ever one that so this is good doo by by so long . . .moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews