Shining Time Station

Show Reviews (20)

Great
131 votes
8.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.0

    Who made this show!? This Show is boring!

    By HotWheelsdude, Jul 05, 2012

    This Show is boring. The only intersting thing i have with this show is George Carlin narrating seasons 2 and 3 Thomas stories part. And the Thomas stories. But everything else sucks. I give it a 7/100 Horrible

    1 3

  • 10

    Shining Time Station Shined Brightly.

    By Dawalk86, Oct 25, 2011

    I've always loved this PBS series and it became one of my favorites growing up, this was how I first learned of Thomas The Tank Engine via this show. And while I found the Thomas The Tank Engine and Friends stories fine, I liked what took place in the eponymous train station more and was always more interested in that. I liked how those stories were always incorporated into the episodes when either of the two Mr. Conductors (portrayed by Ringo Starr or the late George Carlin) would tell whatever the stories were, depending on the episode's subject, to the handful of kids who frequented there. That aspect of the program makes it similar to the concept of the Noddy series from the late '90s. This gets my vote to be on the most outstanding kid shows of all time list. What isn't there to like about it?

    Aside from the aforementioned two Mr. Conductors (who were small, could magically appear and disappear at will, and weren't seen nor known about by many, and the few, notable kids who visited the station), there were also the station master Stacy, who I think was related to one or a couple of the kids; Schemer, who if I recall exactly owned the arcade there, loved money (especially nickels) and was always trying to come up with and plot ways (as his name is self-explanatory and implies) to get rich quickly, almost like a true con artist or scam artist; the Flexitoon Puppets who comprised a band and lived in a jukebox where they performed (and they were the ones who played the tracks every time a nickel was dropped into it, and a track was selected) and more. If anyone reading my review has never seen Shining Time, I say check it out, because everything about it, from the storylines to the characters are great. With morals or lessons that were done the right way, I pick and consider this as yet another winner and a keeper for sure.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Probably my favorite childhood show.

    By cactusjack39, Jan 22, 2009

    Shining Time Station was probably my favorite show when I was little. I really was a huge fan of Thomas and all of his friends. I couldn't get enough of the show and every morning I would try to watch every episode. It is a shame it only lasted as long as it did. I thought that it had some really good stories and it was cleverly written. My favorite engines had to be Thomas, Edward, and The Scottish Twins, Donald and Douglas. Whenever they were on the show, I made show to watch as I would think it was extra interesting. I will never forget watching this show as it was an all time classic for children. Hopefully they will run re-runs again. Thank you.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    One of the ways I watched thomas when I was younger.

    By duckfan8, Nov 13, 2007

    This show was great because of its storylines and great characters. This was the American spinoff of thomas the tank engine. The person mr conductor was played by Ringo starr for 3 years and George carlin for the rest of the show episodes. Mr conductor was the 18 inch man that told the kids that visited shining time station about thomas the tank engine and all of his friends and then told them a story of thomas each time. For the viewers he showed an episode of thomas the tank engine and the end of every thomas story he told them a valuable moral and a lesson about their problem in the episode of shining time station. Even this show is ended this is one of my favorite shows so i give this show a 10 out of 10 score.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    What Introduced me to Thomas

    By Bladez636, Nov 05, 2007

    A Great Show whcih Introduced me to Thomas and Friends, I liked George Carlin the Most though I noticed when he started narrated Season 4 of Thomas his voiced changed somewhat or hes just using a Different Tone, Who Knows, But Ringo Starr was also Great. Schemer had to be one of my favorites as well as Mr. Conductor. This is an old Favorite of Mine that I will never forget. Im glad they decided to Introduce Thomas on such a show even though I wish they could have done TUGS to America as a Segment Properly though they Screwed it up in Salty's Lighthouse. Anyway I give this show 5 Stars!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    The Information on this site is wrong... George carlin filmed this show from 1991 until 1995 not 1993 like the site says. Check carlins website to see the truth!

    By CrimReaper, Aug 28, 2007

    The Information on this site is wrong... George carlin filmed this show from 1991 until 1995 not 1993 like the site says. Check George carlins website to see the truth! George carlin is one of my favorite actors and comedians i would hate to be misinformed about his career on this show or any other. I think this is a great program that teaches young children great values in life and I wish it was still around so that my kids could watch it. I truely belive that is the reason that George Carlin agreed to do this show in the first place not realizing that he would be nominated twice for an Emmy.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    A show that needed to keep going!

    By gambler42, Jul 07, 2007

    This is the show I grew up with over the years! I just need to ask one question. Why did it cancel?It's one of those great shows that get canceled out of nowhere! It doesn't have to make new episodes,I just want reruns! Anyway about the show,there's Stacy Jones,the station manager of STS.Billy,whos an enginner and works in the workshop.Schemer, funny but sometimes ridiculous character who owns an arcade and plays jokes on people, and I saved best for last. Mr.Conductor. He tells stories about our favorite tank engine and lives inb the signalhouse.



    Such great characters,such little time for 3 seasons.(Although there was a spin off seires,Mr Conductor's Thomas Tales.)moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Mr. Conductor was the best ever

    By BTRAV, Feb 04, 2007

    I used to love this show when I was a kid. My favorite train was Duck. To me, he was so cool. Diesel gave me the creeps though - I was terrified of him. It's funny how Ringo Starr was in it, but since I was young I had no idea.

    0 0

  • 10

    One of my most favorite classic show.

    By yuki_megami, Jan 07, 2007

    An best classic show.Which I used to watch when it was on Nick or perhaps on PBS.I think it was first on PBS.Man! That show is the best.It does teaches some important things as well.Yeah an show that takes place in the train station.Many things happened in the station as well.Also the cool thing is sometime the conductor the little guy gives the story about Thomas and the gang as well.But my favorite part was the jukebox when the coin goes in the puppets start to sing and stuff.Man this is an total classic something that people should've watched.I wished they brought it back on tv.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews