Sid the Science Kid

Show Reviews (18)

Poor
57 votes
4.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.0

    Barf!

    By panteirra84, Mar 27, 2014

    I saw this show a couple times with my daughter and Sid, who's supposed to be a science boy talks and asks people questions like he's a toddler. Is Sid a re-tard or what? I almost thought this would be a show similar to Bill Nye the science guy. At least he made educating about science fun and humorous. And the jokes that Sid tells people are dumber than a door-knob and are not funny at all. And on top of that, it teaches kids things they usually learn before they get into preschool. And the song he sings at the beginning of the show, Double barf! Makes me wish Simon Cowell was on the show to criticise Sid's singing. And what really makes the animation look cheap is that all the characters in the show appear to have either red or purple hair and reminds me of Ronald McDonald and Grimmusmoreless

    4 2

  • 1.0

    CRINGE

    By FreedomIsNoDebt, Jan 14, 2014

    I cannot stand letting my son watch this show. I literally cringe when it comes on and turn off the TV immediately before my son's IQ lowers. I hope this show gets taken off television as soon as humanly possible. If I could vote 0/10 stars, I would.

    0 0

  • 1.0

    Awful in So Many Ways

    By PaulSiraisi, Sep 17, 2013

    Let's start with the actors--adults pretending very badly to be children. The fake kid voices are excruciating. Gabriella's precious, put-on stammering, for example makes me want to rip that red-topped piece of cartoon foam rubber to bits. The sashaying teacher thing has the smug, I-don't-want-to-sound-too-American lilt of the PC-addled liberal. I'm sure the actress believes she's being loving, graceful, sophisticated and full of spirit. What she actually is is an ode to presumptuous pretense. Gerald, the white kid in this carefully racially calibrated political screed, sounds like a sort of screeching monster. Why would you make a child sound like that?

    Of course in the carefully disguised hate speech that is this show, Gerald is subtly denigrated at every turn, from his slightly uglier face (disguised in the general ugliness of the cartoon foam rubber shapes, but the aesthetic decision-making is discernible nevertheless), to his horrible rasping voice, to his ever inferior ideas, for example when the writers select Gerald to be kid whose parents have told him that women can't be scientists (seems someone forgot where feminism happened). Did we need this message? The writers of this show reveal their low minds in thinking so.

    More on the poor quality of thought in the writing: Apparently someone had a plan to have a show "celebrating science", and the writers thought they had to make the kids literally celebrate it. Like "food let's do a dance and celebrate!" This is some seriously flat-footed screen play, and thinking. What is the science they are able to come up with? Sid doing interviews and getting wrong answers from kids. We're very careful not to be judgmental about those wrong answers. Then later Smug Sashay Thing coos out the right answer and does another dance. Everyone's opinion matters! And we dance a lot. And science is just stuff people say, not the actual process of discovery by real scientists.

    And then there's the idea of computer modeled puppets - yes, deliberately making a cartoon look like a puppet. This was understandable, and quite successful, when the developers of the pre-PC (in every sense) Muppets presumably looked for a way to give more freedom to their characters. The Muppets had an established look, built from reality. The Sid assembly, however, was conceived from scratch. Animators who could have created absolutely anything they wanted, deliberately sat down and modeled these characters as bulky, clumsy, pieces of styrofoam whose mouths, in order to make speech sounds, have to contort themselves into horrible shapes. What's worse is that these concoctions also manage to convey a desire to look human - fail!, and we're proud of it. Understanding the kind of thinking that went into that decision - to present failure as a foundation - might make a fascinating study.

    Sid the Science Kid is a smug piece of foolishness involving horrifyingly ugly characters, stupid ideas and discrete racism. Protect your kids from it.moreless

    1 0

  • 1.0

    WHO WOULD WATCH THIS PATHETIC PIECE OF CRAP?

    By finnysohr, Aug 27, 2013

    YOUR KIDDING ME WITH THIS, NO ONE WANTS TO SEE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS MAKES DORA THE EXPLORER LOOK LIKE THE EARLY DAYS OF SPONGEBOB, NO JOKE!!!!!! THIS HORRIBLE PIECE OF CRAP IS PATHETIC!!!!!!! PLEASE, PLEASE, FOR THE LIFE OF YOURSELF, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!!!!!!! DO NOT WATCH OR SHOW YOUR KID THIS PATHETIC PIECE OF CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 0/10 STARS, HANDS DOWN!!!!!!!!!!

    1 1

  • 1.0

    I'm back! Horrible show.

    By IHateNumbers123, Aug 21, 2013

    This show is disgusting. The "jokes" are nowhere near funny (one of them is a character shouting "POOP!" when the teacher talks about the process of food. WHY) and like another user said (I don't know if it was on another site or this one?) there is more singing and dancing then there is actual science. The voices are irritating as well. And to those people that say that adults shouldn't be judging shows for preschoolers, if you were annoyed by this disgusting and irritating show, WOULD YOU WANT TO HAVE IT ON 24/7?! NO! IT'S BEST THAT YOUR KIDS NEVER FIND OUT ABOUT THIS SHOW UNLESS YOU WANT TO TURN INTO TO A MAD PSYCHO. NO PEACE AT ALL OUT!moreless

    4 0

  • 1.0

    Suffocate Sid!!! Couldn't they just WATER BOARD us instead.

    By HappyDaddy, Mar 11, 2013

    I wouldn't mind if I just hated this show by my 3 children (3, 6, & 8) have never seen a more annoying show.



    Pro's

    Your not actually getting WATER BOARDED.



    Con's

    It feels like your getting WATER BOARDED.

    Voices, not cute, not clever, disturbing.

    Animation - disturbing.

    Content- If you can get by the voices, which you can't, it's repetitive, bad silly, not worth the torture.

    Characters- Just plain weird.



    Poor Jim Henson, he's not resting in peace anymore.

    moreless

    3 0

  • 8.5

    Would you prefer your children to watch ADULTSWIM instead?

    By thall61, Feb 17, 2013

    PBS Kids Sid the Science Kid is suppose to be teaching children about science does it really matter that the characters don't match up to an adult vision of how they should be acting. In my opinion we need more hands on learning in our schools and more families need to learn to enjoy having fun with our kids no matter how foolish it may look. It's about making memories with our kids than it is trying to impress others. I don;t mind dancing around with my kids or even telling stories of when I was young. As for Sid and the others on this show I think they do a great job in teaching our children about the many things about you ought to go to their web page and play their games and do some of activities with your kids you never know you might actually enjoy being a kid again.moreless

    2 2

  • 1.0

    I am horrified to imagine what smart and well brought up kids will become watching this show

    By OlgaG, Feb 11, 2013

    Just one thing kills more more than everything else in this show: how those kids speak. The intonation and the words all remind me those of literally slow developing kids. It is more "from the street" type of language, than that of educated and simply well balanced kids.

    The moves and jokes are really beyond dumb or ***ed. Really I have no words for that.

    The way Grandma and parents and all the other family members dance around for no reason in weird places and situations is completely disturbing and always forms a huge question mark of perplexity in my mind. This show should not be shown on TV. Whoever likes it should buy their own 100 copies and enjoy in the comfort of their own home.moreless

    3 1

  • 10

    My 2 year old and my 32 year old love this show

    By SarahJones, Mar 09, 2012

    My husband and son love this. My son watches it every night before bed. Sid always goes to bed at the end of each show, which makes a great transition. The show keeps science simple and teaches it in a child-like way. Almost ALL of the experiments (hands on learning) are things you can do at home. I think the animation leaves a little to be desired, but given the age group it's targeting and that it's only in it's 2nd season, I think it's good. We bought some Sid DVDs and even a few of the books. I even enjoy it... although, I do wish PBS would stop showing the same few shows during re-run season.moreless

    3 3

  • 10

    This SHOW IS FANTASTIC!!!!!

    By LyndseeWoodsB, Jan 05, 2012

    My son that will be 2 in March LOVES this show! He will not watch anything else, but Sid! It is a cartoon and is a great for children. I think it helps children learn and grow and become excited to go to school. I read some of the other reviews and I still LOVE this cartoon for my child and if this is what he wants to watch I think it is a lot better than many others out there. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! If you haven't ever let your child watch it I suggest it highly!moreless

    4 2

Load More Reviews