Sit Down, Shut Up

Show Reviews (21)

Fair
310 votes
6.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 2.5

    Quite possibly the worst of Fox.

    By cheese1994, Sep 13, 2013

    SDSU is really at the bottom of the barrel when it comes to Fox animation, and for good reason. For a while, I thought that this show had been permanently wiped away from recesses of my mind, that is until I came across an old article on this show. From what I can remember, the only redeemable quality about this show was the hippie science teacher (Contradiction Alert!), and the fact she was quite attractive. That's really it. And as if it really matters. That's about as far as you can get from a redeemable quality while still being a redeemable quality, and that's just sad.moreless

    0 0

  • 1.0

    Get Up, Tune Out

    By JaneKnight, Feb 01, 2013

    After The Simpsons had delightfully poked fun of the education system for many years, I was expecting more of the same type of humor from "Sit Down, Shut Up". Boy, was I ever wrong. The characters are not even as remotely entertaining as Principal Skinner, Groundskeeper Willie, Mrs. Krabapple, Miss Hoover, or even . Pommelhorst; nor the stories memorable. How this piece of sh*t lasted for a whole season is beyond my comprehension. One of the ten worst animated sitcoms ever.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    A decent show

    By ThaPesky, Jan 18, 2011

    I was looking forward to watch this show after I saw some promos and read what it was going to be about. I really liked the unique animation style.



    This show has some awesome cast, and often breaks the fourth wall, which is sometimes funny, sometimes not. The humor in the show is not the best. But, well, the show itself is very enjoyable, in my opinion.



    I think it is a bit unfair that this show only got like 13 episodes. It just didn't get a chance. I really liked the pilot. It had some humorous jokes. Renew this show!moreless

    2 2

  • 2.0

    Just doesnt seem that well thought out.

    By syrusfan, Dec 31, 2010

    A bunch of teachers working at a school and how much their lives suck. That's all it is. If ever there was a weaker attempt at a plot, this is defintely it. The animation is eh....okay, but Simpsons owns in now that it's in HD. THe characters just seem a little boring with no real personality, the comdey seems to be droll and unfunny, the sterotypes are unbeileiveable. Honestly, this show is even worse then American Dad, and believ me, that's gone done the crapper. Overall, this show just seems to be a poor attempt by Fox to get ratings. Stick to Simpsons, Family Guy, even American Dad if you really like it, but stay away from this show with a 10 foot pole.moreless

    3 3

  • 2.0

    I don't want to be rude knowing that this show was a rookie but let's be honest...Sit Down, Shut Up plain out sucked. I mean I said in the Cupid review, remakes don't work out and this is just another example of that like Cupid and Life on Mars.

    By neslic, Sep 11, 2010

    I started watching this show because it seemed to me that animated series on FOX really succeeded but this one didn't. I mean I like the fact that it was part real and the other was animation but this series was not interesting at all. It wasn't funny and the characters were mostly boring. The pilot was the only thing that I liked about this series but maybe that was because I expected this show to succeed like The Simpsons, Family Guy, and American Dad...but I was dead wrong. I shouldn't have thought that. The little time it lasted it didn't make me laugh but I knew that the producers had a smart idea for this series, it just didn't work out.moreless

    2 2

  • 5.0

    Is this a Bromwell High clone? Let me count the ways...

    By Hoeech, Sep 05, 2010

    Almost every character in this show is a carbon copy of another in Bromwell High. Almost unashamedly so. Let's go through them:



    Sue Sezno = Keisha (the pushy loudmouth)

    Muhannad = Iqbal (the stereotypical middle easterner)

    Helen = Ms. Dickson (the uptight/sexually aggressive teacher ... OK, librarian in this case)

    Miracle = Latrina (the slutty blonde)

    Larry L. = Mr. Phillips (the clueless PE teacher)

    Stuart = Gavin (the completely clueless imbecile)



    I know the show is based on the Australian version (which I have not seen and will not comment on), but the similarities between this show and Bromwell is mind-blowing. There is no way on Earth anyone will be able to convince me that this was a coincidence. The style of the character interactions, the mentally deficient students and faculty, the absurd sexual inuendo...it's BROMWELL HIGH for cryin' out loud!!moreless

    2 6

  • 2.0

    Aweful...

    By Carl_Kolchak, Aug 14, 2010

    terrible, disappointing, an absolute bore, I hope it gets cancelled soon, I could find nothing redeeming or funny in this show, the characters are uninteresting, the writing is bland, The overall quality of this show is low, this just doesn't belong in the company of family guy and the simpsons, I can't see any reason i'd watch this show ever again. Just brutal. It makes fox look like they are really reaching to find new content, this is a show i'd expect to see on the catoon network or some cable channel, but not fox. i'll be changing the channel between the simpsons and family guy.moreless

    6 4

  • 10

    Great entertainment

    By ChaiGinger, Aug 14, 2010

    Oh, I just love it. And not only because I get to hear Will Forte, it's actually quite good. I dunno what's up with everyone hating it, but I'm all for it. It's great.

    Although I do tend to get sick of the Miracle/Larry thing.And principal Sue is great(oh, SNL people..).

    Since I'm not a big fan of cartoons, well, maybe Futurama, I know that I'm not the main target audience, but I think it speaks for itself that I actually enjoy this. Unlike Simpsons. Or Family Guy(which is so boring, I'm surprised it's such a hit). So, go ahead "Sit Down, Shut Up!", I'm on your team!moreless

    0 2

  • 10

    Didnt get a chance

    By Bladez636, Aug 14, 2010

    I cannot believe that after 4 episodes, FOX decided to can the show! Even this show deserves a chance to gain a considerable fanbase. I know people are gonna disagree but I really don't care what people with no sense of when a show is good or not, think! The show I thought was funny and is better than other shows that come about today, the only reasonably fine one thats come out recently that I can think of is The Goode Family. I wish that FOX will give this show another chance at some point instead of letting it fall into the shadows, but hey their a bunch of moronic Republican Butt Buddies, so of course they won't. But Id like to be proven wrong on that!moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews