So You Think You Can Dance

Show Reviews (319)

2,543 votes
  • SORT BY:
  • 4.0

    Opted out of this season

    By slmyers79, 15 hours ago

    I've been watching this show since season 2. I saw Travis Wall's audition randomly when I was flipping channels that night and I was immediately taken by his intensity and passion. I watched the rest of that season just to see him and I fell in love with the entire show. The other dancers, the choreographers, the judges, the music and the routines. It became my new favorite show and I would look foward to its return every year. Over the last couple of years, it did start to become a little stale and with the show constantly facing the threat of cancellation, I knew they would have to switch things up. I didn't expect the firing of Mary Murphy to be that change. Mary truly is the heart and soul of that show. I also didn't anticipate them changing the format and in doing so, eliminating all the different styles of dance I'd grown to love, like ballroom and disco. I certainly appreciate the fact that Twitch and Travis still participate in the show but they've been limited and this show is all about growth and range. I knew that this show would be missing that intensity and passion that I fell in love with so many years ago (and also I knew that Jason and Paula would add nothing) so I decided not to watch. It sounds like I made the right decision. I'm so disappointed that I've lost my favorite show. I don't think we'll ever see anything like it again. Thanks for 10 or so wonderful years, SYTYCD.moreless

    0 0

  • 3.0

    Please bring back the old format!!

    By trexartist, Oct 25, 2015

    Missing the couples to root for, the fun surprise dance routines, and guest judges (and Mary). Can do without the multiple dancer routines and the many many audition episodes. They took away what made the show great and added more of what wasn't so great. I'm not sure I'll watch anymore if they do this again next time.

    0 0

  • 1.0

    Boring Season, Boring Judge Panel

    By pepperpelo, Oct 18, 2015

    JUDGE PANEL: The worst part about this season was the judge panel. Paula has no sense of humor and is a major downer. Jason is so monotone, he sounded the same no mater how he felt about the routine and it always took him so long to say what he wanted to say. I have to GIVE NIGEL PROPS because he attempted to add some chemistry and humor but was always promptly squashed by Paula. I miss the funny guest judges and especially Mary Murphy! Please don't make me sit through another season of the same panel next year!

    CHOREOGRAPHY: The choreography was seriously lacking this year. Seemed very below the quality it has been in the past. The ones I love art Stacy Tookey, Travis Wall, NappyTabs, Sonia Tayeh and Christopher Scott.


    1 0

  • 5.0


    By SisterKat77, Sep 16, 2015

    I felt sometimes the dancers received low scores because the choreography was not 100%. You can only dance (sometimes) as good as your choreography. Nice to try a new format to see what works and what doesn't work. The votes are in. Hopefully the producers will do the right thing to get their ratings back up. Congrats to the winner! (I ain't hating)! :0)

    2 0

  • 3.5

    Terrible format

    By KarenAmsler, Sep 15, 2015

    This years format of stage vs street horrible. Judges gave tough and terrible criticism to the stage performers. Jim was the best talented dancer and didn't get to the finals???? It was alwYs about the street dancers . Seemed like that was all we were watching. And even numbers going home from each team???? Should have best dancers and highest votes. And the finale was almost all street dancing. I want the emotional graceful dancing, ball room dancing and more trained dancers back! Not saying that street dancing shouldn't be on too but not 90% street and not given advantages or being favored. If this is format and judges for next year won't be watching. And glad that Gabby won! I thought her or Jim would have taken it. Loved Jaja and Vurgil but not to win.moreless

    3 0

  • 1.0

    not even the same show anymore

    By sml2298, Sep 15, 2015

    SYTYCD used to be something I looked forward to every week. This year it felt like a chore to watch it. I kept hoping that the next week would be better but I was constantly let down. Firstly, the judging panel was absolutely terrible. There was no chemistry whatsoever, and it was painful to listen to Jason and ESPECIALLY Paula try to sound like they knew what they were talking about. Mary's energy was desperately needed. Also, the whole format of stage vs. street was a total let down. All it succeeded in was degrading the street dancers and making excuses for certain dancers not to live up to the standards and technique of specific styles. There should have been two separate shows, or they shouldn't have combined the stage and street dancers for weekly routines. Throughout the season, I wasn't extremely attached to any of the dancers, whereas last year I knew from the first episode that I would wholeheartedly rout for Ricky and Jessica. All of the dancers were pretty bland and no one ever stood out to me. The one dancer who did was Jaja, and I was very disappointed that she didn't win given that Gaby is such a typical contestant and someone that won't be remembered in 2 months from now. Lastly, the choreography completely lacked this season. Where were the life changing Sonya Tayeh and Travis Wall routines? This show used to have me crying over countless routines and this year I didn't shed a tear. There were good dances, don't get me wrong, but nothing really moved me this year. I miss the SYTYCD that inspired me to become a better dancer. This season left me with a sour taste in my mouth and a relatively negative view on the dance world. If nothing changes, don't count on my view for next year.moreless

    5 0

  • 1.0

    Please bring back guest judges!

    By DonnaRichey, Sep 15, 2015

    Jason Derulo is horrible! Bring back guest judges and ballroom. This is by far the worst season ever.

    3 0

  • 2.0

    This season of sytycd is totally boring.

    By PatLehn, Sep 15, 2015

    The 2015 show is just boring. Bad idea: stage and street. Sorry Nigel, you need a couple of upbeat judges for your repartee. Paula can't talk and is a total yawn week after week. So is Derulo. Mary's energy is much needed. Guest judges Or another upbeat energetic person. Think this might be the swan song.

    1 1

  • 2.0

    So Sad - This show has gone downhill fast this season!

    By ReneeCombs, Sep 14, 2015

    Miss the old format, actual judging (can't stand Paula; she's the reason I stopped watching American Idol), and dance variety. Now it's all hip-hop (really get tired of all the crotch-grabbing; it's so stupid), more hip-hop, contemporary and, oh, hip-hop. Hip-hop is so boring, nothing seems to be new. Where's the ballroom and other variety this season? It got a little better towards the end, but where are the costumes? Did you spend all the money on the new set and have nothing left over for talented choreographers, costumes and valid judges? Probably won't watch next season, if you can manage to bring it back. Congrats to Cat!moreless

    2 1

  • 7.5

    Nigel, What ARE YOU Thinking?

    By porkeepoe, Sep 14, 2015

    If a massive back wall of lights & criss-crosses overtake 2 little dances - I can't see the dance & can't FEEL the story!!!!! When I don't feel much I change the channel.

    This show used to be full of dances that transported me & inspired me, the guest choreographers were fabulous! and so was Mary!

    Cat talking like a mother hen is a bit too much for goodness sake.

    I like Jason & Paula, especially Jason but you don't have fun or chemistry with them.

    Please come back to the golden era of SYTYCD & wait 'till the end of the show to tell dancers & us who has the least votes. I can't enjoy it no more. Plllllllllllllllllease bring back the original format.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews