Soap

Show Reviews (27)

Great
742 votes
8.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Where's the ANDROID SUPPORT ???????

    By IBBTexas3378, Sep 20, 2014

    Please make these available for Android. Everyone else has .... !

    0 0

  • 9.7

    Soap is by far the funniest "soap opera" that I have ever seen.

    By gypsybec, Feb 05, 2008

    Soap is by far the funniest "soap opera" that I have ever seen. Probably because it is a spoof on the soap opera genre. It uses the a-typical characters that you would find in your everyday soap and uses the crazy confusing situations that often occur throughout the plot of these soap operas and makes them unbelievably funny! The characters are absolute gold and the acting is fantastic. Most of the actors were actually theatre actors for most of their career interestingly enough. While most of this series is comedy there are also very emotional situations and situations that come up that are just so like our everyday existance that you feel yourself bonding with the characters. For one extremely funny moment, first episode in season 1 with Benson and the Major. Guareenteed to make you laugh your head off :)moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Brilliant, far ahead of it's time and most importantly--it's funny. Tremendously funny. Cerebral humor, slap stick humor, great dialogue, hilarious body language & facial expressions, running gags---this cast and writing crew could do, and did, it all.

    By MarkKellerman, Sep 27, 2007

    What a cast! All of them could pull off comedy and drama better than any cast of any show ever.(Sorry cast of MASH, but the cast of SOAP does indeed edge you out in that category.) Waaaay ahead of it's time. Just thinking about Chuck & Bob, Bert & Danny, Jessica,Benson,The Major...brilliant. My only regret is that they didn't make a movie to give it closure while the cast were still all living. If you enjoyed SOAP, I highly recommend the show 'Arrested Development'. It's much like SOAP, just a faster pace (as everything else seems to be these days)and has more subtle humor to go along with the outlandish and outrageous humor, but it's gloriously over the top brilliant just the same. I could watch SOAP all day and night and still laugh until I cry watching such talented people do what they do best--entertain. As great as the 'main' cast was, all the supporting players that had brief or occasional recurring roles on the show are all STRONG, TALENTED ACTORS. One of the funnist tv shows in history, no doubt about it. My life has been enriched because of SOAP and all of it's ridiculous, bombastic glory. Who could have ever guessed that a simple story about two sisters...It was simply...SOAP!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Best soap opera ever! Funny, dramatic, & absolutely outrageous!

    By cuddles3, Jul 07, 2007

    Being a soap opera fan, when Soap came out, I had to give it a look - & boy am I glad I did! It was so off-the-wall funny, I was hooked from the very first episode! I don't think TV has seen the likes of Soap since, but while it was on, it was incredible! Aliens, possessed babies, a butler with an attitude, television's first gay character, murder - Soap had it all, & then some! This show broke the mold for comedy, no doubt about that - bring it back into syndication, please! The world needs SOAP!moreless

    1 0

  • 8.5

    Why can't you delete a review?

    By cindy_in_cda, Jun 29, 2007

    You should be able to delete a review you post on this site. I tried to delete this review but cannot find a way to do so. So I'm going to just randomly type for the minimum required 100 words to overwrite what I'd written - which is kind of lame, really, but I no longer want my review on here and don't see any other option. Am I missing some secret button somewhere to click to delete reviews? If so, and someone could pass that along to me, I'd really appreciate it. DELETE ME, PLEASE. Thank you in advance.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.5

    Way ahead of it's time.

    By ssimonds1, Jun 21, 2007

    Soap was a show that was so ahead of it's time that it might still be to forward thinking for television today. A parody of soap operas combinded with good old fashion family dysfunction, Soap was smart, funny, sexy, and outrageuos.



    The problem that this show encountered was small minded local broadcasters. In some markets the show was delayed to late night, in others it was dropped completly. ABC stood behind the show a lot longer than any network would today, but it was ultimitly canceled abruptly. Jody was left an old Jewish man, Jessica was still being held hostage, ect. ect..



    It is now available on DVD so if you missed it the first time or were to young see it now.moreless

    0 0

  • 6.6

    Nice comedy!

    By da_dunker, May 11, 2007

    Truthfully, i was too young to remember this show when it originally aired back in the late 70's. I do remember a lot of controversy about it, and that some stations chose to air it late rather than during primetime, because they thought it too racy.



    A few years ago, I managed to catch this show on Comedy Central, and I have to admit that it is quite possibly the finest sitcom ever created. The characters were not the bland, shallow, unimaginitive figures you see on tv today. There was Jodie, the homosexual that was always unsure of his own sexuality; Chuck, the shy ventriloquist that always carried around his dummy Bob, whom Chuck thought was real, and there was NOTHING he wouldn't say; Burt, the delusional construction worker who had frequent encounters with the paranormal; Danny, the dimwit son of Burt that was mixed up in the mafia and later became a deputy sheriff; Chester, the wall street financier who slept with every woman in town except his own wife; and on and on. The cast (which includes billy crystal) was perfect...everyone played their roles so believably that you truly feel like you are watching a real dysfunctional family.



    The writing and jokes were also timeless...This show was designed to take a direct pot shot at the absurdity of modern soap operas, and it hit it's mark perfectly. Most of the plotlines were like something out of a supermarket tabloid which always added to the hilarity of the show. Burt being abducted by aliens, burt thinking he can make himself invisible by snapping his fingers, jessica being captured by central american freedom fighters, jodie's baby being possessed by satan, etc...



    Even 20+ years later, this show will not disappoint. While it may be tame by today's standards, it was clearly a pioneer that paved the way for a lot of today's programming.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Soap was truly a very original take on one of the staples of TV.

    By dlockjaw, Apr 27, 2007

    I couldn't believe it when I first watched this show when it was in prime time: somebody finally got a respectable satire of the TV warhorse, the soap opera, on in prime time.



    Susan Harris was a genius. She wrote the bulk of the episodes and really had a command of her material. The outrageous plot lines gave us critics of soap operas something to cheer about: somebody finally understood what we had been saying all along and by God the creator and chief writer was a woman too boot.



    Beyond the writing was the cast who week after week brought these zany characters to life. My favorites were Richard Mulligan (Bert Campbell), who was a master of physical comedy and one of the very few I would dare to compare with Art Carney, Robert Guillaume (Benson DuBois), who made the catch praise "Do you want me to answer that?" sing out in offices everywhere and last, but certainly not least, Katherine Helmond (Jessica Tate) who was brilliant as the ditsy matriarch of the Tate clan. This was one show I truly enjoyed watching after a grinding day at work. If you have never seen this show, by all means catch it if it pops up on the tube or seek out the DVDs and give them a look. If you like screwball comedy, you won't be disappointed.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.2

    This show was great, it gave us a soap opera without boring us to death.

    By kevinb4444, Sep 27, 2006

    This show also launched alot of people's careers, most of the people on the show were in other shows later on. While some stories were a little stupid, most were so crazy that you just couldn't believe it. It had great writing with the story and the comedy. I enjoyed watching this show even though I only saw it in re-runs, since I was like 2 when it originally aired. They should show it in syndication again, not on comedy central who would over play it and then take it off the air, but somewere. I don't know if they have a DVD but if they don't they should for each season.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews