Chinpokomon

Episode Reviews (25)

Superb
444 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    great

    By futuramarama, Jul 31, 2011

    What I liked: the Bill Clinton scene, how the Japanese kept talking about the lengths of penises, the Japanese man showing Sharon his penis to prove it is small, Kyle always being slow to catch up to the fad, the ending of the episode, Kenny's seizure (great reference to a real-life incident), amongst other things.



    Stellar episode. It's not one of their best episodes but it did have a nice plot with some really funny parts. B- or so is going to be my final grade, I think is fair for this particular episodemoreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Suprisingly freaky but excellent episode of South Park.

    By oceanic6, Oct 15, 2010

    In Chinpokomon; All the kids except for Kyle, are going crazy over Chinpokomon, a new toy, game, and TV show set that's just arrived from Japan. And when the kids are brainwashed into bringing down the American Government by all means possible; it looks like South Park will never be the same again. This episode is essentially one continuous go at the Japanese but rather than the usual sushi, sumo wrestling and cheesy game show gags which was found in the Simpsons episode based in Tokyo. The culturally enriched Trey Parker and Matt Stone go for the more subtle approaches which includes an in - joke as to what "Chinpoko" actually means. (You'll have to look that one up because i'm not saying it here.)



    By the way; if you didn't know that the anime series Pokemon caused seizures, has bad animation and lip - synching, cheesy characters, Japanese in - jokes and drove it's young fans into obsession. These are (not so) subtly referenced to in this episode.



    The plot is the classic South Park method of taking a mild thing way too far until it's utterly ridiculous but that's what makes it so irresistable. The jokes also border along the lines of too much but you can't help but respect it. The visuals in the first seasons were rough and dog ugly but in the later seasons it's so cinematic and detailed that the true spirit of the show is obscured but this episode is right in the middle of them and it's great. We're also treated to some creepy live action sequences.



    Same goes with the audio; in the early seasons they were premature and in the later seasons they're a little broken but here they're at their best. This is also one of your last chances to hear Mary Kay Bergman as the female characters on the show as she's taken from us in about 4 episodes time. Overall this is a superbly surreal experience.moreless

    3 0

  • 7.0

    Great filler episode.

    By McKellars, Oct 15, 2010

    This episode of South Park was a pretty good one. I kept on finding it funny how there was a big fad and all of the kids kept on getting the new kind of Chinpokomon item such as dolls and video games and then Kyle was always one step behind the others in getting the same item as the others. I mean this episode was almost just like pokemon because Pokemon kept on coming out with something new such as games, cards, dolls, and averything in between. But I will say this, those Japanese are smart and can get kids to buy into just about anything.moreless

    0 2

  • 9.8

    The greatest tribute to Pokemon ever.

    By meganintendoguy, Apr 15, 2010

    Stan, Cartman, and Kenny and the rest of America, besides Kyle are all caught up in the fads. The newest fad Chinpokomon turns out to be a terrorist attack on the american government. This is my 3rd favorite episode of South Park is the best. Tou should go watch it right now.

    1 1

  • 10

    One of the best South Park episodes.

    By marbles01, Apr 15, 2010

    This is my favourite South Park episode. It's just hilarious. The fact that the Chipokomon toys and shows, which are of course parodying the Pokemon products, are really trying to trick the kids of America into bombing Pearl Harbour by getting them to believe that their government lies to them, is just priceless!! So now it's time to conclude my review so hear is what I have to say. I don't care if you love or hate South Park. All I know is that you need to watch this episode. If you don't at least chuckle then you basically have no soul.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Japanese toy makers use the popularity of chinpokomon dolls to set up military bases in america. When questioned, they assuage the concerns of the americans by stressing that they are a simple people with very small penises.

    By melb1221, Apr 15, 2010

    This episode is so well written. It is the one south park episode that I can watch over and over without getting sick of it. The fact that the writers are able to make fun of american stupidity and japanese genitalia all at the same time is quite clever. The voices that the japanese characters use is hilarious, especially when the sidekick, hirohit, says that his penis is "so small." Also, cartman is great in this episode when making fun of kyle for not having the newest and coolest toys. Everything about this show works. This is my favorite sout park episode ever.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Easily one of the best South Park episodes ever!

    By hsimpson44, Apr 15, 2010

    This episode was great. It had lots of funny moments in it and a plot to destroy Pearl Harbor! The boys become fasinated with the new cool toys, Chinpokomon. But what they don't know is that the Japanese are using the Chinpokomon to brainwash them to destroy Pearl Harbor. The Japanese trick the U.S. people by saying that they are jealous that the U.S. people have big ******* and they have small ones. Luckily, the fad of the Chinpokomon wears off and the kids don't destroy Pearl Harbor. This is a classic episode and the best episode of Season 3. Plus, they make fun of Pokemon!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    a true south park classic!!!

    By paul1010, Apr 15, 2010

    This episode of South Park is a true classic.It is about these toys taking over the kids minds by telling them to kill the goverment.The funnyiest part is the part were this japan guy builds that wall and these men on horses keep running ofer it, and another very funny part in this episode is the reason that the Japan people have for making the toys say Kill The Goverment. This is one of the best episodes of the 3rd season.It is a episode that doesnot get boring and it is a episode that gets funnyer as it goes. I give this episode a A+.moreless

    1 1

  • 9.5

    Now this, I like.

    By joshchard, Dec 28, 2008

    Chinpokomon is hillarious. This episode takes the show Pokemon, analizes it's faults, exaggerates them and the end result...AMAZING! However my favorite part had to be the whole Japenesse penis thing. "Japenesse penis very small, American penis huge." Who wouldn't laugh at that? The show perfectly does the whole "Parents don't know what the hell the show is about" thing. Season 3 was really the beginning of hillarious South Park, and the fact that this episode is the best of the season is amazing. Really great episode, though you might not get every joke if you never heard of Pokemon before.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews