It Hits the Fan

Episode Reviews (15)

Superb
378 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    great

    By futuramarama, Dec 28, 2010

    the show "cop drama" uses the S word, and soon all of south park popularizes the word. but, soon strange things happen, and stan and friends learn the real reason why words like that are called curse words. will they be able to get people to stop saying the s word?



    it was pretty good. it's kind of boring in some parts because really, it's just the same word in every sentence. but overall it was pretty good. the first half was great, second half, good. So, i give "It Hits the Fan" a final grade of B- or somoreless

    0 0

  • 1.8

    The most overrated Southpark episode of all time!!!!

    By KevinBujold, Dec 28, 2010

    This is the third worst episode South Park has made. A good South Park episode needs more to it than a bunch of people saying $hit. So South Park said $hit 162 times. Guess what, Anyone can do that!!!!! It's just a word. Saying a word in every sentence you use isn't funny. And the actual plot just made me Fuccking sick. The word $hit actually cursed does NOT make a good plot. Swearing and the Plauge are two completely diffrent things. They are not funny when mixed together. And the ending was just awful. A moral in Southpark? That's just disgusting. I belive that any show above a PG Rating should not have morals because the people watching probably know and most likely don't care.moreless

    1 13

  • 9.6

    Oh $hit. *pukes out intenstines*

    By MistaC87, Feb 23, 2008

    An interesting twist on how absolutely no one gives a "$hit" about the word "$hit" on television. Sad enough, this episode comes at a time where that was exactly the situation, but 162 $hits? Wow. This is a classic South Park episode, but not the greatest. But this show always has something to say, and as they point out, "$hit" is just a word, and it's stupid to even give a "$hit" about "$hit". Why everyone goes nuts over one word is just crazy. I find it interesting how South Park never really took advantage of "$hit" (except for this episode). "$hit" count, including the "$hit" before and the one after: 10.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    $hIT CERTAINLY HAS!!

    By nineone14peace, Dec 14, 2007

    $hit this was a good episode (and for the most part uncensored - everything except "f--k" is heard). A cop drama show (called "Cop Drama") decides that in order to get more ratings they are going to use the word "$hit" on their show... this of course does get them more ratings, and so they start using the word "$hit" in more and more of their shows and more and more times in each show. The town is spell-bound, and tunes into every show that uses the word, however this has a price. People start mysteriously vomiting their guts out and dying, which the boys discover is exactly like the symptoms of the "black plague" which they then find out came about right when the word "$hit" entered the English vocabulary. It's up to the boys to find a way to save the town. This episode has a running counter in the bottom, left-hand corner of the screen that keeps track of how many times "$hit" is said within the half-hour (the total? 162). I loved this episode and was very surprised at how many times they got away with actually saying "$hit" on TV. I highly recommend you give it a watch!moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    It Hits The Fan

    By djjoe60, Nov 04, 2007

    Whatever "It Hits The Fan" is supposed to mean, this adventorous episode is full of **** and swear words all around. I really think they did this just to annoy and rub it in faces - Trey and Matt to the audience, I mean. If you were to watch this episode you would probably be bored to the bone.

    Not very interesting, but it does have its memorable moments. South Park gets off to an interesting start again after a six-month wait, but will it get any interestinger throughout the fifth season of the animation comedy?

    :) Not so great! OK, I guess.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    They said sh*t 162 times and it was hilarious.

    By NASCARfan24485, Aug 24, 2007

    Before this episode the worst word I heard on T.V. was bi*ch. Now it is sh*t. I think this was the first time they said sh*t on T.V. Not only that they said sh*t they said it 162 times. It was very funny explaining the black plague and the "curse" words. I was very shocked I just thought they were going to say sh*t one or two times but man was I wrong. What I do not know is how South Park and Comedy Central got that episode passed the FCC. Overall this is a very funny episode but viewer discretion advised.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    The episode with the S-Word being said 162 times.

    By sfan64, Jul 10, 2007

    This is my review for one very special episode of "South Park". It is the episode "It Hits The Fan". It has got to be the funniest (and possibly best) episode of "South Park" ever made! Anyway, it is about everyone in town getting ready to watch a very special episode of a TV show called "Cop Drama". What makes it special is the word "s***" being said on TV. After it gets said, the network that aired it decides to keep the word being said more times because of how popular it became. After it gets said by almost everybody, a strange plague occurs and makes everybody throw up their intestines and die (Kenny suffers from the plague but doesn't die until the end, by the way). The boys become suspicious of what is happening and together with Chef, they go to a British casino in Las Vegas and learn about s*** being a "cursed word". They also learn about the "Knights of Standards and Practices", who have awaken to stop the word from being said enough times. Because if it was said enough times, it would awaken an evil and powerful dragon that would take over the world (and it actually happens as well, I might add). Luckily, the boys go to the TV studios and stop the dragon in the nick of time. The first time I saw this episode, I was actually surprised to hear s*** "un-bleeped" on TV (Around this time, I recently saw "South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut" on video, so I was actually okay with it being said). This episode also had jokes about censoring by having the word "f**" bleeped out by everyone except Mr. Garrison (because he's gay and only gay people can say it "un-bleeped"). This episode is no doubt considered a classic.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.8

    Very special episode because of the over usage of the s word.

    By s1bbald, Jul 01, 2007

    This episode really had nothing special, except for a certain word that was said 162 times. Without having that word in the episode, the storyline had nothing. It's a really bad episode without the novelty of that word in there and it wasn't really funny at all. But I did enjoy this because it is one of the first episodes that show that South Park is willing to go there and they really don't care who they offend in the process, the show has changed greatly from 'Cartman Gets an Anal Probe', but I don't mind the change at all.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    It said sh*t 162 times.

    By theevilpope, Apr 22, 2007

    Before this episode the worst word I heard on T.V. was bi*ch. Now it is sh*t. I think this was the first time they said sh*t on T.V. Not only that they said sh*t they said it 162 times. It was very funny explaining the black plague and the "curse" words. I was very shocked I just thought they were going to say sh*t one or two times but man was I wrong. What I do not know is how South Park and Comedy Central got that episode passed the FCC. Overall this is a very funny episode but viewer discretion advised.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews