Kenny Dies

Episode Reviews (35)

Superb
416 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Seriously Emotional and Real

    By kootsiak, Dec 04, 2014

    I see a lot of reviews that think that Cartman had selfish intentions all along, but the scene where he visits the stem cell research lab after seeing Kenny in the hospital, is where he get the inspiration for building the Shakey's Pizza with stem cells. Up until that point, he was acting out of genuine care and concern for his friend, but then found that he could potentially build a clone of the pizza place with stem cells and switches focus. The ending still make Cartman quite evil in many ways, but is still capable of real human emotion. His scene, crying in Kyle's arms to me was very real, the seed hadn't been planted yet for personal selfish gain.



    Overall, this episode is one of the most emotional episodes of TV I've ever seen. I was accused of having a heart of stone by many, because I can see sad storylines coming from a mile away and I get mad at lazy writers for trying to tug at my heart strings, but this episode of South Park handled the situation of Kenny's death in a very real, raw, genuine way that brought a tear to me eye on more than one occasion (started when they were first told, when they first visit Kenny, Stan and Kyles conversation outside the hospital, Cartman's senate plea and subsequent song and when Stan finally showed to see Kenny).



    To me personally, this is an achievement in story telling unlike anything I've seen. Yes it's first and foremost a crude, but clever comedy show, but this episode transcends that or even most drama's. I think this is one of their best episodes to date, but is lacking on the typical joke front, choosing to pepper in the jokes to break tension, instead of it leading the storyline.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    I guess there is something inside this show after all.

    By bautistakenrick856, Nov 15, 2014

    This episode was emotional. Unlike some animated shows, including Family Guy, this show is one of the only animated programs that has something more than comedy. Despite it's dumbness, there is some good and touching moments inside them. It was sorta sad watching Kenny die. Really was.

    0 0

  • 7.2

    I liked Kenny

    By Shinigami124, Mar 09, 2012

    Yeah Kenny was awesome but the death scenes were getting a little old but they were funny for awhile. Thats why i'm glad in the later seasons, they kill him but they don't kill him as much. Anyways Kenny died and we were all suppose to assume this meant forever but i'm glad they brought him back, having butters and twitch replace kenny wasn't that good of a idea. I think they both suck. Cartman of course doesn't care and trys to take advantage of kennys death. If this was permently the death of kenny i would probably get it a higher ratingmoreless

    1 1

  • 10

    perfect

    By futuramarama, Jan 17, 2011

    Kenny becomes seriously sick, and in the hospital, and doctors do not think he has much time to live. Stan can't live with this fact. Cartman tries to supposedly help Kenny. Is there anything anyone can do? Or is Kenny about to really be dead?



    Good episode. Someone I talked to said that this episode was satirical, but I don't care; it was a sad episode. Whether or not it was trying to be, it was. It had some funny parts but it was also a pretty sad episode, I think so. And the plot was good. So, my final grade for this episode is an A+moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Best ending of a South Park episode.

    By jawsthecabbie, Oct 26, 2010

    Kenny dies slowly, painfully and for real in this episode, and Cartman paints a revealing portrait of himself in one of the sickest and funniest episode endings of an installment of South Park. Working feverishly with stem cells obtained from a truckload of aborted fetuses, Cartman manages to grow his very own Shakey's pizza franchise while Kenny kicks the bucket. This was a four star howler of an episode and one of the most memorable episodes of the series. One derives a major sense of satisfaction as Kyle beats the holy living snot out of Cartman in retaliation for being such an amoral little piglet as his little friend lay dying. I laughed myself into a hemorrhage! Four gold stars!moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    This was the most emotinal epsiode EVA!!

    By FrigginGodess, Jun 30, 2008

    Seriously! Kenny dies every single episode (not really, but still...) but comes back, like a little useless character. But, this episode had made everyone care about a terminal disease Kenny has. Stan was the most emotional, as he thinks he is Kenny's worst "f-f-f-friend." Kyle, though also emotional, bottles it up and still keeps a happy exposition, until the very end. And Cartman - though is still a bass n this eppoe - still goive a crud to Kenny! He even sang to Congress! It made me cry until Stan went, "hy! I'm not Kenny's worst f-f-f-f-riend! Cartman is!" It made me laugh and cry and... this episode is perfect!



    If you wanna escape the from comedy of South Park once in a while, this episode has the perfect touch. Hope this episode makes you cry... You cannont not cry in this ep.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    actually a good ... and sad episode.

    By lil_mizz_krazie, Jun 29, 2008

    in this episode Kenny died ... AGAIN! but this isn't the average "OMG, u killed Kenny " or " OMG, Kenny's dead!" episode. He actually stays dead for most of the season. Anywhy, Kenny dies and Cartman ACTUALLY gives a crap that he's gonna die! Stan doesn't even want to see Kenny in his condition and , so, Kenny's last words, according to Kyle, was " Where's Stan? " Stan feels bad a says that he's Kenny's worst friend. But, by the end of the episode, he finds out and say that Cartman is , because, instead of helping Kenny live after finding fetuses or whatever ,he makes a new Shakeys.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    a very special episode

    By angelicsadist, May 22, 2008

    This episode shows that everybody cares for Kenny, Stan cares for him so much that he does'nt like it seeing kenny die.



    I'm also suprised at cartman at this episode, I thought at first that he really cared for kenny, but at the end I got really uypset at his attitude



    Kenny to me is the Hero of the group, you guys see him die in every episode but look at some of his deaths closely, you can see that he sacrificed his life to help his friends.



    A very special episode, you're not a southpark fan until you watch "Kenny Dies".



    it's to painful for me to see kenny die at every episode but finally he can rest in peacemoreless

    2 0

  • 9.6

    Oh my God...they really did kill Kenny.

    By ayydereVoltaire, Apr 07, 2008

    I hadn't seen this episode until a few days ago. In fact I had always wondered where Kenny was in the majority of the season six episode where he is, of course, absent until returning in the season six finale. So when I watched the episode I was in for a bit of a shot. Honestly, the words that came out of my mouth were 'Oh my God...they really did kill Kenny.' The entire storyline is not only touching, but really shows the versitility of South Park. I actually cried at this episode after seeing Stan so valiantly running to see his friend only to have Kyle tell him that he had died. And Cartman hugging Kyle was a surprise as well, proving that humanity does exist in Eric Cartman. I really do think Cartman's original plan was to save Kenny with the stem cell reseach. And despite all the sadness the episode maintained the humor South Park is known for, making me laugh when Cartman sang 'Heat of the Moment' to Congress and actually hearing Butters utter the words 'You're breaking my balls.' One of the best episodes of the series in my eyes, and the saddest one. The only upsetting part: the ending.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews