All Good Things... (2)

Episode Reviews (11)

Superb
286 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    A satisfying finale (part 2)

    By Celedorian, Nov 16, 2012

    Patrick Stewart is the straw that stirs the drink in this mesmerizing finale with a plot (appropriately centered on Picard) that works with the pilot to bookend the show. Covering three time periods (with a puzzle connecting them) the episode moves at warp speed thanks to the time shifting, which brilliantly occurs with the audio changing time periods ahead of the visuals (leading to some cool cuts). Meanwhile, the plot weaves together big, high concept themes like time and existence with smaller character-based themes such as life, death, friendship and love. Adding to the joy is the authentic feeling of each time period, which makes the episode seem (within the show's framework) nostalgic, contemporary, and futuristic all at once. The cunning script even finds ways to exclude some of the "big seven" regulars in the past and future, which allows the show to sprinkle in guest stars without overwhelming the story or the viewers. And by wisely limiting the guest stars to one time period each (with the exception of John de Lancie), it allows for more of them than usual and creates distinct time periods that are easy for the audience to immediately differentiate. The glue that holds everything together is the dazzling performance of Patrick Stewart who owns every scene in the episode and sends the series on its way to feature films in spectacular fashion. And while "All Good Things" is not without its flaws (there are some gaping mistakes in the story if you think about it too much) the finale is infused with such love that it feels perfect especially for those who have watched and enjoyed the previous episodes of the show. It's as satisfying a conclusion as a fan could wish for.moreless

    0 0

  • 4.5

    TNG deserved a better ending

    By TheAWT, Nov 15, 2011

    My friends talked for years about this episode. I thought it was good, such as the other star trek ending. But I found something mediocre. The only thing that is objectively good is the outstanding performance of Patrick Stewart: I've never seen an actor perform that way. The rest of this episode is predictable, I mean after a few minutes the plot was kinda revealed and the only big question is how Capt. Picard couldn't figure out what was happening. I must confess that most of the episode I found myself laughing at some surreal scenes. Not to mention the Q part... just pathetic. I never really loved this show but it has been a very good one and an important piece of modern sci-fi and I think it deserved a better series finale.moreless

    4 41

  • 10

    A fitting end to an awesome series

    By msn26586, May 18, 2011

    All Good Things is an awesome episode of Star Trek TNG. This episode combines some of the best elements from the series, Q, Data's curiosity and unfamiliarity with human customs and phrases, and antagonism between the Federation and the Romulans and Klingons. The plot of this episode is truly original with Q making Picard move through the 3 main time periods in his life, when he first started commanding the Enterprise, the "present", and 25 years in the future where Picard is diagnosed with Irumadic Syndrome, a degenerative brain disease. One has to wonder if everything thing that occurs in this episode is hallucination caused by Q or if it really happens. Twice in the future time frame, a ship is ordered to go to warp 13, is theoretically impossible as warp 10 is the same as being everywhere at once. Warp 10 is broken by Lt. Tom Paris in Voyager, with disastrous consequences. This episode is fitting season and series finale. One is left to wonder, what else will happen to the Enterprise in the future since the episode ends with everything being as it was in the beginning. This episode is great way to spend 2 hours watching TV, I highly recommend it!moreless

    9 0

  • 10

    we say goodbye to the crew of star trek tng.

    By seaqueastdsv, May 18, 2011

    in this final episode in the long running series of star trek the next generation the captain is traveling threw space from the past to the present to the future with the help of our loveably Q. Q is showing him want could and will happen if they dont find out wants happening in each time line. this is a great final ending. we see the return off tasha and cheif obrein and a few others. its a great episode. my favourite scene is the end part which is a little emotional. as the crew sit down and play a game of poker and captain comes in. they ask if anything is wrong. he says no and wants to join them in a game. he looks around the table at each of him crew and says i should of done this a long time ago. its a very touching scenc.moreless

    7 1

  • 9.0

    A worthy finale - too bad the movies were rarely this good.

    By pharoahsdance, May 18, 2011

    Given that "All Good Things" is a 90 minute episode rather than a two-parter, it's odd to review the two halves separately. On balance, though, this is probably the better half, with lots more action.



    The sequence with Q and Picard on board primitive Earth is one of their best together, recalling "Tapestry". The future Enterprise, with Riker and the rest of the crew suspecting Picard of descent into insanity but nevertheless giving him one last chance, is just as great as the past Enterprise introduced in the 1st half. And the closing scene - well, it provides the perfect cap to the series.



    It was not a perfect series, but one that, at its best, showed what thoughtful scifi drama could achieve. Farewell, TNG.moreless

    9 0

  • 10

    The sky is the limit!

    By cotytheleech, Dec 23, 2010

    Amazing. A perfect end to an amazing series. The amazing twists and turns between timelines amused me. Also, the mysterious death of Troi, and Jean-Luc and Beverly's marriage and divorce. They were always playing poker, and I found it to be a great way to bring the show to a close!

    1 0

  • 9.9

    Probably the best episode of TNG! GREAT SPOILER ALERT

    By AmrodLeralonde, May 05, 2006

    As i said in the review of part 1, this episode is perfectly written just like a thriller. You start believing captain Picard is allucinating because of his mental disease, even doubting of Q's presence and actions; but you find out how deep are the respect and the loyalty of his former crew members (Geordi, Data and Beverly Crusher above all), who accept to put in risk their actual carriers (or even peace pacts with alien empires) trusting the words of an old man, who seems nothing but a crazy person.

    This episode doesn't mark the end of the adventures of captain Picard's crew, but consolidate the relationships among the members of the USS Enterprise, we learned to appreciate and love during every season, preparing the audience for what will come after. "All good things" is at the same time the end of a tv-show, and the perfect beginning of the fortunate saga of theatrical movies.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    In the last episode we found out Captain Picard has been traveling through time. There now is a rip in the space-time continuum. "Q" meets with Picard in the past during a time when life is about to be created.

    By Pink_Floyd_AL, Apr 04, 2006

    In the last episode we found out Captain Picard has been traveling through time. There now is a rip in the space-time continuum. "Q" meets with Picard in the past during a time when life is about to be created. The rip covers the whole quadrant of the galaxy the Earth is in. The rip is actually anti-time. Anti-Time and time together will cancel the other out. Thus ending life as we know it. The cause it three Enterprises from different time periods. Picard must act fast to save humanity? Tune in and see, I rate this one a 10.0moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    This finale is absolutely inspiring.

    By sHperacLu, Aug 01, 2005

    I can't even hold myself in my chair by how astounished I was by Q`s speech in the ending, culminating with the following:



    "That is the exploration that awaits you, not mapping stars or studying nebulae, but charting the unknown possibilties of existence."



    This moment gathers up the whole series into one converging point, for we realise for the first moment that Picard actually AGREES with Q, and even more, admires his superiority, if I can put it that way! Not by words, but ironically by his lack of arguing comment, by his expression, by the question: "Q, what is it what you are trying to tell me?".



    Q's quote is inspiring, not to the show, but to humanity itself, the REAL humanity.





    "The sky is the limit."moreless

    12 0

Load More Reviews