Shades Of Gray

Episode Reviews (21)

268 votes
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.0


    By RandyCongdon, Jun 21, 2015

    I can't find anything redeeming about this show. In view of the strike, they should have left off with the 21st episode. I sincerely feel bad for anyone in the 1989 whose first exposure to the series was this episode. Sometimes, clipshows summarize highlights of their respective series nicely. The clips here, however, were disjointed; not dealing with key moments that would inform a new viewer of what had already come.

    0 0

  • 3.0

    One good thing...

    By ktfahel, Sep 01, 2014

    There is ONE good thing - actually, excellent thing - about this episode: it marks the final appearance of Dr. Katharine Pulaski. I never cared for her character, and was so glad that she was short-lived. It's too bad they couldn't have had her fall down the turbolift shaft.

    0 0

  • 2.0

    In the words of the Comic Book Guy, "WORST EPISODE EVER!!"

    By jvma7621, Feb 28, 2014

    In my mind, this was the worst episode of Star Trek: TNG.

    Riker gets attacked by a plant. While in a coma, good/bad emotions make him better/worse (not sure which was which, and I really don't Clips from previous episodes are shown. I have recently become aware that there was a writer's strike, which prematurely cut the season to 22 episodes. I find it difficult to believe that this episode was written prior to the strike. Clip shows are not up to Star Trek's standards. It is more probable that they wanted to get one more episode released, so they threw together this clip show which required minimal effort on everybody's part. So, I rated this show a 2.0: Horrible when compared to other episodes, but better than having nothing.moreless

    8 0

  • 1.0

    really bad

    By satellite67, Nov 24, 2013

    and to the guy that gave this a perfect 10 because its so bad, you are a complete idiot. I hope you don't have a leadership position anywhere. You would reward people that do horrible at their work. You make it more difficult to have the good shows stand out when you give the bad ones a score like that.

    0 0

  • 5.0

    All things considered, this should be worse....

    By uk6strings, Oct 31, 2012

    .... The idea behind TNG season two finale "Shades of Gray" is that Riker contracts some kind of alien infection that must be combated with survival memories - but it's really just a clip show, featuring various different scenes from TNG's worst two seasons standing in for Riker's "memories." "Shades of Gray" has a reputation for being a terrible episode and rightfully so - but it is also widely considered the worst TNG episode of all-time. I do not go quite this far. "Shades of Gray" is undoubtedly a terrible episode; a lazy, corner-cutting effort born out of the writer's strike made simply to finish off the season. However, while certainly dull and pointless, "Shades of Gray" is not quite as irritating or insulting as such true TNG bottom-dwelling episodes as "Code of Honor," "Haven" or "The Outrageous Okona." Since "Shades of Gray" is simply dull rather than unbearable, I'll put it ahead of a few others in the TNG series.moreless

    1 1

  • 1.0

    What is the connection between the title "Shades Of Gray", and the actual (ahem) "plot"???

    By Pawpcorn, Oct 16, 2012

    How exactly did the term "Shades Of Gray" apply here?

    That term usually applies to discussions about how most things are neither all GOOD or BAD, but some shade of gray, in between...???

    In that context... where's the connection to that term... and this show?

    Or was the "Gray" referring to the "gray matter" of Riker's brain???

    All so confusing, lol


    0 0

  • 1.0

    Riker is disabled by a deadly virus and is put into stasis, forced to relive his old memories.

    By Celedorian, Jul 21, 2011

    Hands down, the worst Star Trek episode of all time. (It, was conceived during a writer's strike and shot in three days with hardly any money) It's bad enough that it's the only clip show in the history of the franchise, (happening at the worst time it could: all the clips are, of course from TNG's two worst seasons.) What's worse is that the "story" in this episode necessitates that the clips get quicker and darker as the episode approaches its climax. So as the episode nears its resolution, we end up watching all the suffering that has happened on the Enterprise D during the first two seasons of the show. Thankfully, after this bump in the road, the TNG would flourish.moreless

    2 0

  • 2.0

    The main storyline Commander Riker gets a nasty thorn that injures him. It then poisons him with nerotoxins that attack the nervous system. Riker almost faces death on this one, but Dr pulaski saves him by inducing survival memories. I as a Star Trek fan

    By Pink_Floyd_AL, Jun 21, 2011

    The main storyline Commander Riker gets a nasty thorn that injures him. It then poisons him with nerotoxins that attack the nervous system. Riker almost faces death on this one, but Dr Pulaski saves him by inducing survival memories. This is Dr Pulsaki's last season. Good news Doctor Crusher will return next season. This episode is not a good season ending episode. I as a Star Trek fan thinks this one is at the bottom of the barrel. I rate this one a 2.0. *The whole second season started late due to a writer's strike. Resulting in a short season.moreless

    5 1

  • 1.0

    On an away mission, Riker is infected by deadly microbes whose only goal is to induce a clip-show.

    By Ko-Enshaku, May 30, 2011

    I know that they were suffering from a writer's strike, but this is a truly pitiful episode. Despite all the surgery, it felt like nothing really happened in the entire episode! Sure, Riker was in mortal danger, but there are better ways to go about dealing with such mortal danger than a clip-show of all things. I would much rather they had ended the season in an entirely different fashion. At the very least, they could have afforded Pulaski an exit, though the same could be said for the 3rd season episode "Evolution" which seems to almost shun the doctor by not even subtantially mentioning her name!

    This is a poor episode for Pulaski to leave. "Peak Performance" would have at least allowed her personality to shine through. I did however like some of the dialogue between Riker and the crew as he lay on his sickbay bed both before and after the procedure. We are also afforded the opportunity to see perhaps the first true surgery in TNG. But that was not enough to grant this episode a free pass.

    It was the only true clipshow in Trek history and I'm afraid I simply don't have many good words for this episode as it is easily one of the worst episodes among all of Star Trek. Almost anyone could have cobbled this together and as such it doesn't get my vote of confidence. I would have rated it a zero, but the interface wasn't accepting it, so I chose the next worse rating.moreless

    4 0

Load More Reviews