Shades Of Gray

Episode Reviews (20)

Bad
260 votes
3.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 3.0

    One good thing...

    By ktfahel, Sep 01, 2014

    There is ONE good thing - actually, excellent thing - about this episode: it marks the final appearance of Dr. Katharine Pulaski. I never cared for her character, and was so glad that she was short-lived. It's too bad they couldn't have had her fall down the turbolift shaft.

    0 0

  • 2.0

    In the words of the Comic Book Guy, "WORST EPISODE EVER!!"

    By jvma7621, Feb 28, 2014

    In my mind, this was the worst episode of Star Trek: TNG.



    Riker gets attacked by a plant. While in a coma, good/bad emotions make him better/worse (not sure which was which, and I really don't Clips from previous episodes are shown. I have recently become aware that there was a writer's strike, which prematurely cut the season to 22 episodes. I find it difficult to believe that this episode was written prior to the strike. Clip shows are not up to Star Trek's standards. It is more probable that they wanted to get one more episode released, so they threw together this clip show which required minimal effort on everybody's part. So, I rated this show a 2.0: Horrible when compared to other episodes, but better than having nothing.moreless

    8 0

  • 1.0

    really bad

    By satellite67, Nov 24, 2013

    and to the guy that gave this a perfect 10 because its so bad, you are a complete idiot. I hope you don't have a leadership position anywhere. You would reward people that do horrible at their work. You make it more difficult to have the good shows stand out when you give the bad ones a score like that.

    0 0

  • 5.0

    All things considered, this should be worse....

    By uk6strings, Oct 31, 2012

    .... The idea behind TNG season two finale "Shades of Gray" is that Riker contracts some kind of alien infection that must be combated with survival memories - but it's really just a clip show, featuring various different scenes from TNG's worst two seasons standing in for Riker's "memories." "Shades of Gray" has a reputation for being a terrible episode and rightfully so - but it is also widely considered the worst TNG episode of all-time. I do not go quite this far. "Shades of Gray" is undoubtedly a terrible episode; a lazy, corner-cutting effort born out of the writer's strike made simply to finish off the season. However, while certainly dull and pointless, "Shades of Gray" is not quite as irritating or insulting as such true TNG bottom-dwelling episodes as "Code of Honor," "Haven" or "The Outrageous Okona." Since "Shades of Gray" is simply dull rather than unbearable, I'll put it ahead of a few others in the TNG series.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Unintentionally hysterical.

    By Croweyes1121, Sep 18, 2011

    Why did I give this episode a perfect score? Because it's the most fun I've had watching a Trek episode in years. Don't misunderstand, this is truly an atrocious way to spend 45 minutes. On the other hand, it's also extremely funny if you can MST3K the hell out of it for the duration. There's no setup at all, just Riker sitting there all gimped out after having been stabbed in the leg by a vine. Dr. Pulaski discovers that the microbes invading Riker's body are slowed down by feeding his mind negative memories, and proceeds to spend the remaining two thirds of the episode "tightening the beam" of negativity. Each time she does this, the growth is slowed even more, and she pauses to debate what to do next with counselor Troi. They decide in their wisdom to tighten the beam even more, which (shocker!) slows the growth rate of the microbes yet again. She then pauses to say something along the lines of "I don't know how much longer he can withstand this", and then tightens the beam even more, which helps yet again - apparently even taking the time to record a log entry right in the middle of the procedure. It's complete filler and shows off her complete ineptitude as a doctor just before she departs the show. Troi's over-acting is classic, with lines like "hang on, Will...hang on!" just begging for laughter. In the end, they tighten the beam so much that it stops the growth - at which point, apparently the microbes just vanish without a trace, because they never actually succeed in *reversing* the process at all. Seriously, watch this and take a shot every time the doctor and Troi decide to "refocus and tighten the beam even more" and you'll be plastered by the time the credits roll. Just classic Trek in every way.moreless

    9 12

  • 1.0

    Riker is disabled by a deadly virus and is put into stasis, forced to relive his old memories.

    By Celedorian, Jul 21, 2011

    Hands down, the worst Star Trek episode of all time. (It, was conceived during a writer's strike and shot in three days with hardly any money) It's bad enough that it's the only clip show in the history of the franchise, (happening at the worst time it could: all the clips are, of course from TNG's two worst seasons.) What's worse is that the "story" in this episode necessitates that the clips get quicker and darker as the episode approaches its climax. So as the episode nears its resolution, we end up watching all the suffering that has happened on the Enterprise D during the first two seasons of the show. Thankfully, after this bump in the road, the TNG would flourish.moreless

    2 0

  • 2.0

    The main storyline Commander Riker gets a nasty thorn that injures him. It then poisons him with nerotoxins that attack the nervous system. Riker almost faces death on this one, but Dr pulaski saves him by inducing survival memories. I as a Star Trek fan

    By Pink_Floyd_AL, Jun 21, 2011

    The main storyline Commander Riker gets a nasty thorn that injures him. It then poisons him with nerotoxins that attack the nervous system. Riker almost faces death on this one, but Dr Pulaski saves him by inducing survival memories. This is Dr Pulsaki's last season. Good news Doctor Crusher will return next season. This episode is not a good season ending episode. I as a Star Trek fan thinks this one is at the bottom of the barrel. I rate this one a 2.0. *The whole second season started late due to a writer's strike. Resulting in a short season.moreless

    5 1

  • 1.0

    On an away mission, Riker is infected by deadly microbes whose only goal is to induce a clip-show.

    By Ko-Enshaku, May 30, 2011

    I know that they were suffering from a writer's strike, but this is a truly pitiful episode. Despite all the surgery, it felt like nothing really happened in the entire episode! Sure, Riker was in mortal danger, but there are better ways to go about dealing with such mortal danger than a clip-show of all things. I would much rather they had ended the season in an entirely different fashion. At the very least, they could have afforded Pulaski an exit, though the same could be said for the 3rd season episode "Evolution" which seems to almost shun the doctor by not even subtantially mentioning her name!



    This is a poor episode for Pulaski to leave. "Peak Performance" would have at least allowed her personality to shine through. I did however like some of the dialogue between Riker and the crew as he lay on his sickbay bed both before and after the procedure. We are also afforded the opportunity to see perhaps the first true surgery in TNG. But that was not enough to grant this episode a free pass.



    It was the only true clipshow in Trek history and I'm afraid I simply don't have many good words for this episode as it is easily one of the worst episodes among all of Star Trek. Almost anyone could have cobbled this together and as such it doesn't get my vote of confidence. I would have rated it a zero, but the interface wasn't accepting it, so I chose the next worse rating.moreless

    4 0

  • 1.2

    When Riker is infected with a microbe, the only way to save him is to induce memories. Good memories worsen the symptoms. Only violent memories eradicate the microbe. Counselor Troi stays by his side during the ordeal and reinforces her passion for him

    By RCT537580, May 30, 2011

    Writer's strike or not, this episode should have been shelved. It was pathetic. Flashbacks are a writer's last resort when the muse fails. Deanna Troi's constant vigil at Riker's bedside was annoying, given the writers' years' long tease about their relationship. The only good part was that it was Dr. Pulaski's last episode. She was a poor substitute for Beverly Crusher. Pulaski was arrogant, called Data "It", made fun of him in his Sherlock Holmes hologram programs, used him for her own ego to challenge an opponent to a game even Data could not win. The only redeeming quality was Riker answering that of course he knew who he was: Captain Picard, and Data deadpanning the line he did not think Picard could promote him to admiral when Picard said he and Admiral Data were glad to hear it.moreless

    5 0

Load More Reviews