Star Trek

Show Reviews (95)

Great
3,766 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    A new TV series is due

    By isaacnewton, May 14, 2014

    A new Star Trek TV series is due. It's PAST-due. Get Wil Wheaton to reprise his role as Wesley Crusher and, with whatever excuses are deemed necessary, have him had already gone back to the Academy. He is now captain of his own ship, a deep space explorer vessel, and is seeking new lifeforms, etc . . .

    Make it happen!!

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Folks, nothing can beat the original show.

    By DrCroland, May 13, 2014

    Ok, so some of the special effects were really cheesy. But the plots had real drama in them, the acting, the eerie musical scores, even the love stories... all were extremely memorable. Aliens were not just cardboard cutout variations on a theme, all looking like actors wearing bad masks. Such contrivances were not needed. When the crew landed on a spooky planet and a strange creature with glowing eyes materialized in the fog and summoned them, a chill ran down your spine that you would not soon forget... Here we had some truly strange-looking beings that could be frightening, both in their appearance and in the powers they had... There were talking rock creatures, witches with powers of transmutation, rogue drones, vampire clouds, even a shootout at the OK Corral, mandated by a bizarre race of telepaths. Much historical and mythological material was often drawn upon, and at various times the crew encountered ancient Greek gods, Roman emperors, American Indians, hippies, mobsters, and even Abraham Lincoln... Sometimes you giggled a bit at the inevitable anachronisms. But you were never bored for a minute, and the sense of unfettered imagination and wonder, so lacking in today's rather sterile productions, was ever present.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Special Effects!

    By ceceliaabowma, Jul 13, 2013

    I loved the original Star Trek, apart from some of the AWFUL and obviously low-budget, special effects. Some of them were pretty cool, but the white rubber killer chicken in one is a joke to this day. I loved the interaction, most of the stories were very new and fresh, as AuntSueNihgCh stated, and the idea of Russians and Americans getting along, as well as the original . (in science fiction, not My Favorite Martian) was amazing. It WAS a different age, a new and original show, and it will live on as a cultural icon.moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    A Different Age

    By AuntSueNihgCh, Jun 14, 2013

    It's none too hard to understand why the young adults of today see Star Trek TNG as a boring, dated show. Their lives have been filled with special effects and little in the way of plot or character development. They never lived in a time when women were seen as homemakers or nuns and very little else. They never knew an age where blacks and whites were separate.



    Trek was only a decade past the "step 'n fetch it" boys of the early cinema. Blacks were not seen on television shows, and neither were orientals. To have women, blacks and orientals in positions of responsibilities was revolutionary. To have war be a thing of the past was almost too good to be true. The idea that we could find excitement in traveling the stars and finding new civilizations and making friends was a thing of Science Fiction.



    We were in the era of the Cold War. Building bomb shelters and practicing for air raids. Time and again we'd come to the brink of war and we were all terrified. The only bright spark on our horizon was the space program and here comes a show that told us just how far we could go with that program. We needed the good news that Star Trek brought.



    I'm sorry if kids of today think of it as boring but they miss the point. This is a show to tell you what 1967 thought the future held. the future held. It's a way to look into the past and feel a different era. Well worth watching, Star Trek still holds fascination for me. It was the first time that a black kissed a white. The first time an alien was shown as equal to a human. The first time that diversity was considered a positive thing. I think we still have things we can learn from that old show.moreless

    4 1

  • 9.0

    Star trek chat

    By JonWillson, Aug 15, 2012

    Hi I love all things star trek so much so I have my own page on facebook where Trekkie fans from all over the world get together to chat share fab pics and basically worship star trek please come check it out http://www.facebook.com/StarTrekChat

    1 1

  • 7.0

    A Golden Oldie.

    By emeraldcity, May 29, 2012

    I liked this show when I was a kid but as I got older it started to wear thin. I find that some episodes are quite good, usually when time travel was involved & an equal number of episodes are in fact quite horrid and are actually unwatchable. I understand Trekkies, but I don't consider myself one....I still watch the show from time to time, but the episodes that I thought were 50/50 a decade ago I find I can't watch these days. It had its time.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    This show is the greatest since... I don't know, but it's the greatest!

    By BacktraF, Nov 14, 2011

    This show is the greatest... oh wait, I'm repeating what I've already said. Anyway the greatest characters in the world are in this show. There's Spock (my favorite), Captain James T. Kirk, Dr. Leonard McCoy, Scotty, Sulu, Uhura, and Chekov. Spock is a Vulcan from the planet Vulcan... It's true. Kirk is the only one to ever pass the Kobayashi Maru test, even though he did it by cheating. Dr. McCoy is the greatest Doctor ever. Scotty the best engineer ever. Uhura is the best communications officer ever... I know I don't really have anything great to say about some of these characters, so just bare with me. Now Sulu and Chekov... I guess I could say that they are the best navigators ever. Anyway enjoy the show.moreless

    4 1

  • 1.1

    Hello there I have wrote bad things about reality shows and this show is bad than any of that.

    Star Heck is boring to me,they talk like they are animetronic or something,and a slow dredful story line.Mixed with bad actors it makes a church sermon l

    By gir332, May 30, 2011

    Star Trek what are you a geeks dream or a nightmare for the real world?!Like I said story line is bad -2 points slow and painful acting -5 points.Bad actors -2 points what saves this show it has a stupid fan base wraped around It's itty bitty slime fingers!All and all it is a bad show full of dumb stupid stuff! Come on watch something better like Star Wars,it has a better story line! Show Simon out!

    1 27

  • 1.4

    Yuk !

    By steve1264, May 30, 2011

    It took me all of five minutes to watch this show. Star Wars really ruined for me as far as watching this show. It looked like a failed \\\\\\\"B\\\\\\\" movie. I mean c\\\\\\\'mon, how am I supposed to believe that the movement are actually talking place while watching a buncha people leaning from one side to another as if their ship is moving so fast they gotta hold on ?

    Gimme a break! (that\\\\\\\'s another show that sucked)

    3 26

Load More Reviews