Common Ground

Episode Reviews (33)

Superb
466 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.6

    interesting fact about the wraith... or convenient plot whole being exploited ?

    By t4tortoise, Apr 13, 2011

    SPOILERS n QUESTIONS:



    Interesting fact about the wraith... or convenient plot whole being exploited ?



    What else is there ? :) The Jenai are back with a vengenance.



    Seems like the wraith are more than just driven by hunger.



    Why did shepard risk bringing the wraith to a planet with other wraith on it ?



    Did the wraith learn/figure out that Atlantis is still there?







    Other than that, rodney was funny, Talaya was SOOO silent and almost did'nt need to be there... Ronin was usual.. loud and voilent.



    Elizabeth showed courage... Hopefully there will conclude soon... there's still the wraith, [A]Replicators AND now the Jenai dude to worry about...moreless

    2 2

  • 8.0

    Too much common ground

    By MartinBlank74, Nov 20, 2010

    This episode is at the same time awesome and awful.



    The plot is good, although there are some boring parts, and it is odd that Elizabeth and Rodney are so passive; they could have thought of more to do, like trying to trick Kolys. The last ten minutes are fast-paced and have some surprising twists.



    Then there are the recurring characters of Todd and Kolya who are doing great jobs in this series.



    But.



    This episode marks a turning point in the general story line. Up to now the Wraith are horrible monsters and very different from Men. Here the writers decided to change this. From now on they are driven by very much the same instincts as Men. They are no longer different. That takes away a lot of their menace; in fact, the Wraith seemed pretty harmless to me in all the following episodes.



    Giving them some 'Common Ground' was an excellent idea, but the writers gave them way too much of it.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    See Summary

    By TrueTvWatcher, Sep 30, 2010

    We learned a lot in Common Ground, and perhaps just how much Common Ground there really is with not only the Genii, but the Wraith as well. The story unfolded in a natural and steady flow. It was interesting to see old enemies pop up again, as they always do in the Stargate Universe. The Genii are definiately taking on a big role in the series, and the Wraith seem to be fading to the background, as did the Goa'uld in SG1. Given what we learned about the Wraith in this episode I am sure they will continue to be an intricate part of the series, however the direction with them may be unexpected. A great episode with action and surprise!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    This was different, good not bad!

    By G3ckOz, Sep 29, 2010

    I always had a feeling there's more to the wraith than meets the eye. Usually when anything or anyone has the ability to take something it also has the ability to give it back. This is a whole new page regarding the wraith. While this is just me wishful thinking that someday, soon apparently a possible twisted alliance might be doable, or then again maybe not, it doesn't matter, it doesn't change the fact that the wraith are able to show honor and respect provided they receive the same treatment. It was obvious that a race so advanced were definitely not the mindless monsters they appear to be...looking forward to seeing more episodes on this idea in the future. Kickass episode worth every minute. Enjoy!!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Definately my favourite episode from all the series!

    By RedBirdRogers, Feb 24, 2008

    I've watched this episode more than once and I've yet to get bored of it. Definately 5 stars to the writers for this one. We found out so much about the wraith. I had to look at the credits to figure out who played the wraith. I knew he was familiar ;). I loved watching the dynamic between Sheppard and the Wraith (Todd). We'd never realy seen the feeding process close up before either. Loving the CGI folks. I thought the emotion of the episode was captured very well. It was nerve-wracking watching Sheppard being fed upon. Loved the ending though. All in all.... 10/10!moreless

    0 1

  • 9.8

    A lot of things we do not know, yet...

    By Parricida, Feb 05, 2008

    This was amazing episode. First it looked like another genii trouble episode, but the outcome, the shocking events on this episode and the way it was worked out - surprising. First the thing, that it looked first time, geniis really did and said the truth. Then, the events on that prison. The unexpected prison mate for Sheppard and the way he become older and older - and their escape plan. That was the best wraith after Steve. The friendship they had, it looks like impossible but they did managed to work together for common enemy and the angle that part of this episode opened to us - to show us that somepart, the wraith are just like humans - they have their code of honor, they too want to survive. They just have different perspective and different menu.



    I adored this episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    great episode....

    By Fwirrel, Oct 17, 2007

    Kolya demands that the leader of the genii is given to him and Dr. Weir refuses to give in to his demands because she does not negotiate with terrorists, even if it costs John his life. Sheppard is in the hands of Kolya and is being slowly eaten by a wraith. Effective way of torture...anyways, in the end, the wraith and Sheppard team up to escape. The wraith is allowed to go on his way and Sheppard is given his years back. Overall, great story. I love Kolya and his role in it. Learning more about the wraith was very interesting. This episode made them seem like the victums. They can't help that they need to eat. Also, they can give life back to people. Interesting. Overall, great episodes and one of my favorite of Atlantis.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    "Common Ground" is easily one of the best episodes yet seen on Stargate Atlantis. The drama of the draining of Sheppard's life was exceptional, and viewers were granted the rare opportunity to see a new light in the Wraith. All in all a great episode.

    By Endgame65, Oct 06, 2007

    "Common Ground is easily one of the best episodes yet seen on Stargate Atlantis. Drama existed throughout the episode, and it kept me on the edge of my seat. Joe Flanigan as Sheppard reached a new high with character depth, as he was able to work with the enemy in a difficult situation. The drama of the feeding process and the team's inability to do anything added to the overall suspense of the episode. Sheppard learned a few new new things about the Wraith, and the Wraith learned a few things about humans from Sheppard. As the Wraith said, "The gift of life is reserved for our most devout worshippers, and our brothers." Could this be foreshadowing to a future alliance between Sheppard and the Wraith against a greater enemy? No one knows yet, but this is exactly the reason why I watch this show. I can't wait for next season and what it may bring, keep up the good work Joe Flanigan.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Outro otimo episodio de Stargate Atlantis

    By franlimarock, Jul 26, 2007

    O episodio começa com Cel. Sheppard, Teyla, Ronon e Rodney correndo para um stargate tentando sairem do planeta onde estavam. McKay assiona o stargate e eles o atravessam ele, mas John Sheppard não consegue pois leva um tiro de Kolya! Que esta de volta e faz John prisioreiro.

    Esse foi um episodio de suspense, pois apos um tempo de john ser preso, Koyla faz contato com Atlantis por video mostrando John preso em uma cadeira e varios guardas ao seu lado, Kolya tenta negociar com Dr. Weir, mais ela não aceita. Então, o episodio tem seu ponto de terror. Kolya ordena aos guardas trazerem outro prisoneiro, um Wraith !!! E então Kolya faz o Wraith se alimentar de john. Kolya da um certo tempo para Dr. Weir se decidir em fazer negocio com ele. Bem, o episodio tambem nos trouxe ação pois john consegue escapar de onde estava com a ajuda do Wraith que se alimentou dele. Ao mesmo tempo em atlantis, Dr Weir descobre a localização do planeta onde John esta preso. Ela manda uma equipe de resgate mas quando eles chegam uma coisa muito interessante acontece. Na ultima cena em que aparece John, ele esta a beira da morte, mais quando ele aparece novamente ele esta mais novo, como era antes, isso significa que um Wraith pode tanto tirar a vida da pessoa como tambem pode dar vida para um pessoa.

    Esse foi sem duvidas um dos melhores episodios dessa terceira temporada, teve suspense, ação e teve uma das maiores revelações de sua historia !!!moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews