Lifeline (3)

Episode Reviews (15)

Superb
393 votes
9.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    See Summary

    By TrueTvWatcher, Oct 02, 2010

    Lifeline, the second episode in the 4th season of Stargate Atlantis was one of the best episodes to date. This episode was emotionally moving and really did a good job of blending everything together. I like the way the writers lined everything up and played it all out. The actors gave a very moving performance, especially Dr. Elizabeth Weir, who sacraficed herself to Replicator control in order to save her team. It was pretty awesome how she took control over the main replicator and fooled him with her own mind. She was a huge part of Atlantis, and will be missed greatly. I hope one day we will see her return, some how. Atlantis has a new ZPM, the Replicators are occupied attacking the Wraith, and everyone is coming to terms with all thats happened. This episode closed some things up, while laying ground work for a great season, I know I can't wait to see what happens next!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.6

    Weir goes out with cunning and bravery.

    By Kuronue, Sep 07, 2008

    If anyone has read my review of the episode 'Sunday' in season 3, you will come to see how I feel about how NOT to kill off a character. Granted, Weir does not die in this episode, but it is a fabulous example of how a character should be written out of a show. She shows great cunning in deceiving the Replicators in order to save Sheppard and his team, and great bravery by sacrificing herself in order to alter the fate of Atlantis (hopefully) forever. One thing that annoyed me greatly about this episode (and many other episodes of Atlantis, truth be told) is that once again the characters feel it is necessary to explain every little nuance of their situation to the viewers instead of getting back to work (or working faster) on saving their own necks. Sheppard, so what if Weir is sacrificing herself? There is nothing you can do about it so instead of standing around chatting about it while the enemy closes in, get back to working on reprogramming the Replicators! Now!moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    finally, Atlantis finds a new home...

    By Fwirrel, Jul 17, 2008

    So, for some reason John and McKay decide that they can go and steal a zpm from the replicators...seriously...what are they thinking? Anyways, they take Weir which ends up saving their lives and getting captured by the replicators. Atlantis then got a new home planet and Sam gets reunited with McKay... I don't like Sam and I get annoyed every time I see her. Anyways, it was a good conclusion to the bunch. I thought it was a bit unrealistic and I'm tired of the replicators. Still, the episode was full of good humor and great characters. Overall, pretty average episode.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.3

    And now, for the exciting conclusion! Or, How Dr. Weir Spent Her Summer Vacation.

    By LtColGrumpface, Jun 11, 2008

    Honestly, I was never very fond of the character of Dr. Weir, so I wasn't that sad to see her go. Unfortunately for Tori Higginson, this episode saw the writers actually doing something interesting with her character, instead of her being the mom of the expedition for five minutes at the beginning of the episode; if they would have actually had engaging plot-lines for her like this one from the beginning, maybe I would be more saddened to see her leave.



    Having said all that, the emotional impact of this episode was fierce. The actors (namely Flanigan, Hewlett, Momoa, and Luttrell) all have the stoic heartbreak thing *down*, and despite my indifference towards Weir, these four made me feel it when she was left behind.



    Of course, this episode wasn't all heartbreak and tragedy. There were some brilliant one-liners from McKay, great banter amongst the boys of sga-1 (Luttrell was absent for most of this episode), and excellent comedic timing from the show's semi-regulars (David Nykl, I'm looking at you), which made the episode's conclusion that much more bittersweet. The action was fast-paced and nerve-wracking, with some unexpected twists thrown in to keep the "heist" premise fresh. If you have to leave a show, it should be on a high note like this episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.2

    Moving to another planet.

    By Parricida, Feb 09, 2008

    I most say, the min feeling after this episode is sadness - I loved the old planet - it has been their home for three seasons. We knew the mainland.. that planet had fantastic storms. And whales. It was their home. Now this is gone like so many other things. The city is badly damaged and I hope we will not get next episode will hole and beautiful city as it would look stupid. Elizabeth Weir as a commander is gone, so it could be said - it was end of an era. And it will be hard to let go.



    But the episode itself - all the thing on replicator planet, all those brave things, Elizabeth challenging that leader... great episode.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Fantastic!And goodbye Weir!

    By farscapefanuk, Dec 29, 2007

    Well this episode really was nothing short of fantastic. And this marks the second really great episode of season 4. In this episode Weir uses her Nano DNA stuff to access the replicators homeworld to try and help John and the gang to steel the ZPM. But all does not go as smoothly when Weir activation button does not turn off so she ends up MIA. But she runs into some other troble when she meets more of the replicators. Its really quite sad to see Weir go, but i am hoping that she will be back in some way or another. But on the bright side Carter is taking her place which should be nice. And imagine the tension between her and McKay unmissible? I hope so.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.9

    The 2nd episode of season 4 is not one you can afford to miss. THIS ONE CHANGES EVERYTHING!

    By DontTellMummy, Oct 14, 2007

    This is the begining of a very different kind of atlantis. Dr. Elizabeth Weir takes a bow, as she if kicked off the show. We can all bet that things are going to be very different around Atlantis from now on. Col Samantha Carter will replace Weir as head of Atantis.



    Atlantis also has a new home. They have abandoned their orignal planet and have settled on another far away, hopefull this will confuse the wraith, but who know they may still find them. This was a good episode, I'm VERY upset that Torri Higginson has left the show, I do like Amanda tapping but I think it is extremely! unfiar that Higginson got kicked off just because Tapping wanted a job. She had a good run on SG1, but take the cancliation gracefully. Higginso was awesome as Weir and I'm really going to miss the Weir-Sheppard dynamic. all in all it was a good episode but very sad to see the end of Weirmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Weir and her team go on a mission to get a ZPM from the replicators and it is the last for Weir as she's left on the replicator planet.

    By rebaarmy, Oct 10, 2007

    This was a really interesting episode and I like how they did it. The special effects on the show are great, I loved how they showed what was happening to Weir and what she saw. Then I also liked how Weir saved the day on what would change her life forever. The team really seemed to be upset and I loved how they showed the characters reactions to different things. This was a good episode to show what was happening to Weir and how she would leave Atlantis. I can't wait to see the rest of the season and how the characters turn out.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    An important character takes a bow

    By entil2001, Oct 09, 2007

    The season premiere was mostly about the struggle to save Atlantis, and the long string of circumstances leading into the heist of a ZPM from the Asuran homeworld. This installment is far more focused on the heist itself and the inevitable consequence for Elizabeth Weir. The matter of her survival is left completely ambiguous, which should help to mitigate her departure somewhat, but the end result was never in doubt.



    The plot can be summed up in a few short words: Team Atlantis tries to steal something from the Replicators, and things go wrong. Weir gets to demonstrate her core strength by fooling Oberoth (the Asuran leader) long enough for the team to accomplish their mission (and redirect the Asurans against the Wraith), but little else in the story could be termed a surprise.



    That's not to say that the episode was the television equivalent of light beer. This is not a disposable chapter in the Atlantis saga. Weir's loss to the team is a major blow, especially considering some of the underlying character arcs connected to her presence. Sheppard is the most affected by her loss, and this is depicted well. At times, especially during the final landing sequence, Sheppard looks numb, as if unable to comprehend the enormity of what has happened. In hindsight, the entire ordeal beginning with "First Strike" and ending in this episode is one of the most grueling experiences for the characters yet.



    This episode is also something of a prelude to the well-publicized shift in status quo. Colonel Carter will be assigned to lead Team Atlantis after Weir's departure, and the seeds are planted in this episode. Carter is less abrasive in this episode than the premiere (and more humble, for that matter), but the writers should be careful to avoid portraying her as some kind of miraculous savior for the team. Weir was hardly the best commander in the universe, but the team is fairly effective and Carter should learn to appreciate that competence to keep the balance intact.



    In the end, this is an action-packed episode that feels light on plot twists but packs an emotional punch. Fans of Elizabeth Weir will be sad to see her go, but she gets some great material and a proper send-off. The change may have been unnecessary, but given the state of the Stargate franchise these days, it's hardly a shock. With the state set for the change in command, the writers should finally have the chance to initiate the character arcs promised for the fourth season.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Good episode finally giving us Dr. Weir's apparent departure. During the attempt to steal a zpm from the replicators we see the team fight for survival. While on the planet we see Weir's new found abilities as a replicator on display as she

    By danharr, Oct 08, 2007

    Good episode finally giving us Dr. Weir's apparent departure. During the attempt to steal a zpm from the replicators we see the team fight for survival. While on the planet we see Weir's new found abilities as a replicator on display as she detains and tricks the replicator leader. Despite being forced to leave Weir behind it's discovered that the secondary plan. Which was to reactivate the replicator program making them go after the Wraith has been indeed reactivated. Good episode with the drama of escaping the replicator homeworld and the option of Weir showing back up still left on the table. Another added bonus of the Stargate team finding a new homeworld of which we don't know what adventures hold in store. Nice setup for the rest of the season and we still have Carters debut as head of the team to look forward to.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews