This Mortal Coil (1)

Episode Reviews (17)

Superb
347 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    Replicators create doubles of Sheppard, McKay, Ronon, Teyla and Weir.

    By KiMarie, Aug 29, 2012

    Bring back Elizabeth Weir! Permanently! Samantha Carter was great on SG1 but she doesn't belong in Atlantis. No one cared about Atlantis and the ancients like Weir. I loved them all being united again, it made the episode fun to watch. The characters and actors have such good chemistry. Carter seems out of place with them. It was a funny and well written episode but it seemed they were letting us know that Weir was definitly not coming back. I'll admit, I didn't think her character was that important until she left. If anyone should have replaced her from SG1, it should have been Jackson, at least he was interested in, and knew a lot about Atlantis and the Ancients.moreless

    3 1

  • 9.0

    See Summary

    By TrueTvWatcher, Oct 06, 2010

    The Mortal Coil was a Great Episode!!! It had lots of action, with old foes in new ways. There was plenty of drama, and mystery as well. The scenery of the episode was good as well. The planet where Atlantis now resides is beautiful at night with its multiiple moons. It also has a darker tone to it, and I wonder if this has anything to do with the future of Atlantis? This episode reminds me of SG1 when they are duplicated, and machines, but essentially the same soul on the inside. Though it is more or less the same, this episode was exciting to watch, and I can't wait to find out what happens next!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    ok episode...

    By Fwirrel, Jul 21, 2008

    It's annoying seeing how much Atlantis takes from SG-1. I want something original! Anyways, the team finds a probe and eventually figure out that they're all replicators made with the memories of their real selves. In the end, they escape and meet with their real selves. I didn't really like the story, but it was funny the way the douples interacted together. I don't really care about seeing Weir again so... I think the story was drawn out and boring. The only reason the episode was any good was because of the humor and the set up for the second part. Overall, just an ok episode.moreless

    0 2

  • 8.4

    Old team back together...

    By Parricida, Feb 12, 2008

    The first part of the episode look really boring and not promising, some probe crashing into the city and Zelenka and McKay yelling each other.. and then people start acting weird - again.. that have happened before and again, the team is only one looking normal and we hear some familiar voice in the dark - until we learn that it is just another "fake" Atlantis and they are made by replicators and Elizabeth is there. So, all together, looking like on old days, trying to get away from falling city - too cliche.



    But it gets better. They got something important with them and call real their to have a meeting - McKay's together were great. But again, nothing lasts forever and... SO, maybe too cliche and already done storyline but there was something.. and it was so great to see Elizabeth again.moreless

    2 0

  • 8.2

    Back On Form

    By maxhouston, Feb 04, 2008

    Having only recently got into SGA, watching all 4 seasons - to this episode, over the last 2 months, I have noticed a massive drop in plot quality. I was pleasantly surprised with sga and after committing to this show, I couldn't believe how good it was. Season 1&2 where awesome, great story-lines continuing throughout the series made this show a winner, but once the wraith battle kinda fizzled out season 3 slowed down a touch, and then they chopped the Doc & wier - I was gutted.



    Season 4 has been disappointing, filler episode after filler episode - until now!! This episode, and mainly the next, sees SGA back on track, great tactical plotting & integration of characters past. A Sexed-up episode courtesy of Mckay's cute replicator & Shepherd eyeing up Larrins "assets", its nice to see SGA up the ante for the mid season stakes. This is why I watch it!moreless

    1 0

  • 6.5

    Liked this, the FIRST time, on SG-1.

    By kyravon, Jan 04, 2008

    I really liked the robotic SG-1 episode, I thought it was really interesting. I didn't even mind so much when they recycled the idea and made the replicator Carter.



    But now SA is reusing the idea? That's just unoriginal and lame. Get your own plotlines!



    Speaking of stealing plot from SG-1 - so Amanda Tapping has joined the cast -- fine, I like her character. Bringing in the replicators (ok, they needed another villian besides the Wraith). However.... now they're duplicating storylines (LAME!) AND whole series arcs... we find out the replicators want to ascend. Now the concept of Ascension was an interesting concept and exploration of ideas of religion and those kinds of subplots are why I've always preferred SG-1. But it belonged to SG-1 and trying to make SA into a clone isn't the way to go.



    Hey Stargate Atlantis.... get your own damn plots/story arcs, get your own damn enemies!moreless

    5 4

  • 7.0

    I'm disappointed in this episode. "It's like deja vu all over again"

    By tragic_05, Dec 24, 2007

    This one hit a little to close to an SG1 episode Tin Man. Don't get me wrong I will take a new episode of SGA anyday and the fact that I am critisizing it right now makes me wanna cut of my own hands just to stop writing this but couldn't they think of anything original. The whole SGA series hits a little close to SG1 having basically the same format which is just fine considering it is a spin off. However this is the first time I have ever been so distracted by the similarities. As a whole the episode was great. If you don't watch SG1 you would never even realize that they appear to be using this same story line over. As well there were some critical things revealed in this episode that are important to the season 4 story line. I just thought that there may have been a better way of going about this.moreless

    2 0

  • 7.2

    Well, it's a bit different. That's something, isn't it?

    By fireexit112, Dec 15, 2007

    While the fact that the characters are revealed to be Replicators means the audience doesn't really care much about them, it still provides an interesting way to tell the story. It's also better than having yet another episode where the team are captured, escape, etc etc. At least the writers are trying to make the episodes different, even if the story isn't that great. The two McKays provide some laughs (although David Hewlett is always a good source of comedy in this show), and the vision from a previous ep is explained. There's a good cliffhanger too. Not a bad episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Duplicates of Shepperds team are created by a rebel faction from the replicators to help them aid in their final goal to ascend.

    By Hutchinator2005, Dec 13, 2007

    This episode was neat. It had an intersting start with what looked like the real atlantis turning out to be a clone made by the replicators to aid them in their goal to ascend. Also the visions from the Seer are explained in this episode. The vis effects are top notch and were very effective in what they needed to show.



    Off the ball a bit, i respect other's people's opinion i really do, its healthy. But why do people need to over analyse everything and whinge that this story has been done before, when its only a small portion of it anyway. Just enjoy it for what it is, its a show its meant to entetain people. Why wreck a good episode by worrying over things that well, no one really cares about that much. I bet you when atlantis wraps up in years to come everyone will say how they miss it, when it will be the same people who constantly nagged about the negatives of it.moreless

    1 1

  • 10

    This episode explains a lot, first of all Col Carter's vision, and why a replicator ship was destroying atlantis.

    By techopath123, Dec 13, 2007

    I get is now, see on the episode The Seer, Col Carter saw the atlantis control tower breaking and falling down, so turns out it wasn't the atlantis she thought, instead a duplicate city, for Col Sheppard's team's duplicates...



    Its nice to see Dr. Weir again, I've been waiting for her comeback episode for months, but there is one thing I couldn't believe, why were they so stupid as to put all of the duplicates in the jumper, they cound have just put sheppard, or ronan in there, and it eventually leaded to the death of the dupicates, how sad eh??moreless

    1 2

Load More Reviews