Avalon (1)

Episode Reviews (55)

Great
646 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.0

    A new "Classification" is needed: Why I Stopped Watching This Series.

    By SamTherra, Aug 27, 2011

    But "Jump the Shark" will have to do. Although "Painful to watch" and "Bottom of the barrel" also fit here.



    My main beef is with the choice of Lieutenant Colonel Cameron Mitchell taking over as head of SG-1. He is a totally wooden character who makes Joe Friday of Dragnet look like a Party Animal!



    If a four member team was really needed, Stargate SG-1 had a ready made character to take Jack O'Neill's place as the new leader of SG-1. Colonel Dave Dixon (Adam Baldwin) from "Heroes Part 1" proved to be a very O'Neillish character type who would have meshed well with the rest of the team.



    I also found it conniving, if not insulting, to conveniently "rewrite" events to suddenly make Mitchell a hero who led a squadron in engaging Anubis's forces and protecting SG-1 in the battle over Antarctica, losing his co-pilot, being shot down, but successfully destroyed an Al'kesh that helped SG-1 succeed with their mission.



    This was in actuality done by Master Bra'tac and General Hammond in the Prometheus. Sure a squadron of F-302s did help (shades of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back) but Mitchell (who does he think he is, Luke Skywalker?) was never acknowledged.



    To me the only redeeming quality of this episode was the return of Vala. She's always good for a few laughs.moreless

    6 9

  • 9.8

    There's a new leader of SG-1 and he wants to get the original SG-1 back together.

    By FaithMiller, Jan 16, 2011

    I thought Mitchell was a great choice to take over for SG-1. He's got a similar attitude that O'Neill had. I was pretty show that everyone would get back together, but I was sorry to see that Carter wasn't there with them.



    I think Vala's character was a good idea. She brings a lot of laughter to the show. Not only that, but her and Daniel make a great looking couple.



    I don't know about General Landry though. I don't mind his character that much, but for some reason I don't think he acts enough like a General. I'm comparing him to General Hammond and O'Neill. Landry wasn't a bad choice, but I think they could've done better.moreless

    1 1

  • 7.8

    Lt. Colonel Cameron Mitchell, a new addition to Stargate Command, arrives in hopes of joining SG-1. He soon finds out that SG-1 ain't what it used to be.

    By Scorptilicus, Jan 16, 2011

    Avalon is the first in a trilogy of episodes that set up not only the season the come but the direction of the show for the next two seasons and probably the two movies to follow. In many ways, and it's not easy for me to admit this, it really is a new show. Jack is nowhere to be seen, Sam barely has a cameo, Teal'c has moved on, and Daniel is trying to do the same. The SGC has a new leader in General Landry, a bit of a hardass, a new leader for SG-1 with Colonel Mitchell, and even a new doctor. The new cast members (along with Daniel's beard) certainly give the show a different feel, a point hammered home with the return of one-time guest star Vala Mal Doran. I will admit that with Vala I'm a bit biased being a huge Claudia Black fan and getting to see her in a role that's so different from any I've viewed before. Vala brings an entirely new and in my opinion fun energy to the team and the show in general. Her chemistry and interaction with Daniel are fantastic and lead to some of the best moments in the episode. She also provides the means for the beginning of the show's next story arc and works as a sufficient stand in for Carter's absence early in the year. With the Goa'uld all but eliminated and the Replicators wiped out, we get an entirely new story. Keeping in the theme of alien races inspiring Earth mythology, Daniel discovers that the Merlin the wizard of King Arthur fame was an Ancient and our new story is begun. Personally, I find the fact of Merlin being an Ancient to be fascinating so I enjoy that part of the storyline. Other high points in the episode involve Mitchell's fruitless attempts to bring the old SG-1 back together and his even more frustrating attempts to recruit new members. The end of the episode brings about a new adventure, another cave, and lots of good ol' fashioned peril.



    The episode's not without its flaws, though. The scenes involving the Free Jaffa and the rise of the ambitious Gerak aren't all that interesting, though having Lou Gossett Jr. on the show is kind of fun. The episode overall gets off to a pretty slow start until they board the Prometheus toward the end. Understandable for an episode that is in essence a reboot for the series. It takes a little while to set something like that up. In the end, a solid start to a new season and new team.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    Lieutenant Colonel Cameron Mitchel becomes the new team leader of SG-1. He's determined to get Carter, Teal'c and Jackson back together on the team as they've all gone their separate ways.

    By THEICEFIRE, Jan 16, 2011

    Cameron Mitchel is an awesome addition to Stargate SG-1. Here we have a guy who's a little like a younger version of O'Neill. Same snappy attitude like O'Neill that made the early episodes of Stargate SG-1 so great. That's one of the reasons this episode really works. We also get a glimpse into Mitchel's past which reveals he was one of the X-302 fighter pilots who was defending SG-1 as they discovered the Ancients' weapon in Antarctica while Anubis' fleet was attacking. My only real criticism of this episode is the fact that O'Neill is suddenly no longer the head of the SGC. If the producers of Stargate SG-1 had seriously tried to get Richard Dean Anderson who plays O'Neill to stay as part of the main cast instead replacing him with Beau Bridges who plays General Landry this episode in my books would be a ten. In my opinion Beau Bridges is a less than average actor who got lucky landing a role on Stargate SG-1. Stargate SG-1 lost some of its brilliance by adding Beau Bridges to the cast. Seasons nine and ten would have been so much better had they kept O'Neill as the head of the SGC. Richard Dean Anderson was one of the main contributing factors that led the show to its long run. And the show's run could have been longer with Richard Dean Anderson still around as a main cast member instead of only guest starring once in a blue moon. Richard Dean Anderson is recognizable and therefore O'Neill is likable. Who is Beau Bridges really? Otherwise the story arc that starts in this episode builds to an incredible adventure which I'm sure most people would agree.moreless

    0 2

  • 7.8

    The Beginning of a new era.

    By avi01, Jan 16, 2011

    So this season 9 premiere also signifies the start of a whole new era, with new characters and stories.



    Well, to be honest this episode was not really convincing IMO. It had some pretty dull moments and well....it did not grow on me.



    Mitchell comes to join the SG1. It`s difficult not to think of him as the direct replacement for O'Neill. At times, Mitchell tries to be funny ala O'Neill....that ain`t working. Richard Dean Anderson is irreplaceable...that`s a fact. And it was great to see O'Neill appear in that episode. However Mitchell is still likable but it should take a couple of episodes to grow on me. And good they make a background story on his involvement with the Stargate program before and not just bring him like that.

    However Vala is fun but the New general.....euh well nothing special about him.



    Its a tough challenge to continue without Richard Dean Anderson...much character development in it and the story was not the most captivating one but still, it was not bad.



    There`s room for much improvement here. There`s lot of changes and it will take time to settle. Maybe a less drastic transition would have been better.moreless

    3 0

  • 8.8

    Whole new story..

    By Parricida, Apr 21, 2008

    As last episode wrapped everything so together, it is almost like a whole new serie, whole new story. And quite exciting I most say.



    Many new chars. First new leader - he really looks much more free than Hammond ever was - more that kind of big joke.



    Then of course Mitchell - he looks quite ok but I am not too impressed.



    And then Vala - I really hope she stays as even if she looks sometimes so silly and makes those stupid comments, she has somekind of refreshment to the show. And she really worked well.



    On the storyline - it looks like now Arthurian legends are picked up as we start with sword on stone. All the treasure hunting is really promising. Cannot wait.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    New Team of SG-1

    By gopink, Dec 30, 2007

    I love this episode! Daniel missed the schuduled trip to Atlantis! I love new team of SG-1, really! Cameron and Vala are new casting of SG-1 show. But Cameron is being major cast of Season nine, not Vala. Vala is not yet casted major until season ten. Vala is return as recurriling role for first straight six episodes. We learned that in real life, Amanda Tapping was pregnant on maternity leave for few months. Vala is temportary replaced for her until Amanda return back. Anyway, Vala used Daniel for getting her own treasure. But, Vala didn't get her treasure, Daniel won't allow it.! I love this episode and watched it lot!moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    What a wonderful episode.

    By farscapefanuk, Dec 28, 2007

    I think everyone was sceptical as to what season 9 would be like due to Richard Dean Anderson leaving the show. But i have to say that i think this episode was fantastic and Ben Browder gave as good of a proformance as RDA. The way this episode was written was almost like a pilot the show is now going in a completely new direction, and whats more i like it. Now that they have added not only Cam but also Landry and Vala. All these new people are helping to make the show seem new a fresh. I think that this new direction and Crusade story was just what Stargate SG1 needed. I really hope Browder grows on people because this was fantastic.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.0

    Colonel Mitchell comes to lead SG-1 while Vala Mal Doran comes back for Daniel.

    By ionee24, Apr 07, 2007

    Cameron Mitchell, a hero of season 7, is rewarded with any job he’d like so he chooses to become Jack’s successor as the new SG-1 leader only to find out the team has been disbanded and he must now pick a new one from scratch, determined to get the original guys he receives unexpected help from season 8’s Vala Mal Doran, who has come to steal Daniel away from what I believe should be his third attempt to go to Atlantis. Mitchell is thrilled once that Vala grounds not only Dr. Jackson but Teal’c as well, because of some old Jaffa bracelets that link her to Daniel in such a way they would die if separated. Intrigued by this development – and the odd familiarity in which they treat one another - Teal’c decides to join them in the search of a treasure Vala claims to have brought her to SGC. Onboard Prometheus, Vala and Daniel reminiscence their fist fight the day they first met while Mitchell tries to find his place as leader as well as an angle to convince the team to remain together, however, by the time they arrive it becomes clear this may not be a possibility, especially when they’re caught in a trap that may crush them alive.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews