Step by Step

Show Reviews (42)

Great
1,031 votes
8.4
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    One of my favorite tv show of the 90s

    By gracielove, Nov 09, 2012

    Grew up watching. Pretty good.

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Had pretty good characters. Cheezy at times but a nice family show of the 90s.

    By Sosolol, Apr 12, 2011

    The show is about 2 families that are joined through the marriage of a single father and mother. They each bring along three children for a total of an 8 person family. They are joined by Frank's nephew Cody, who lives on their driveway in his van. The characters resemble a 90s lifestyle, but can be unrealistic at times. THe show is humerous and has many ways of relating real life to the audience. Although there are cheezy moments, they do convey many lessons typically seen and experienced by both the kids and adults in the family. It is entertaining and stands as one of the entertaining family shows of the 90s.moreless

    2 0

  • 6.0

    Avg to pass the time.

    By Mathlol1, Feb 28, 2011

    The show is about 2 families that are joined through the marriage of a single father and mother. They each bring along three children for a total of an 8 person family. They are joined by Frank's nephew Cody, who lives on their driveway in his van. The characters resemble a 90s lifestyle, but can be unrealistic at times. The show is humorous and has many ways of relating real life to the audience. Although there are cheezy moments, they do convey many lessons typically seen and experienced by both the kids and adults in the family. It is entertaining and stands as one of the entertaining family shows of the 90s.moreless

    1 0

  • 1.0

    This show is terrible and unfunny

    By foamy2345, Feb 17, 2011

    I have no idea why did I wach that.Its a bad ripoff of Brady Bunch.The writng is bad and acting is even worse.The dad is a wuss,mom is confused and doesnt know how to run the house,and the kids are the worst.They just call eichother kiddy names,and it gets old pretty fast.Everyone is a jerk to everybody and because they wont work together,in every epi they screw everything up.The only good character on the show was Cody.He had some personality and humanity.But he went missing for a while and the series turned to crap again.This show is very annoying and im suprised it lasted that long.No offence to fans,but i just dont like it.moreless

    4 3

  • 9.0

    It is about a guy named Frank and a girl named Carol who gets married. Frank has three kids, J.T, Al and Brendan. Carol has three kids Dana, Karen and Mark. Each set of kids are total opposites then the other set of kids.

    By kittiesluvme, Feb 13, 2011

    It is an pretty cool show. I just think that they have sex on their minds 24/7. Other than that it is a pretty good show. My fave character is either J.t or Dana. J.t and Dana are the only kids that don't learn to get a long. J.t, Al, and Brendan belong to Frank and Dana Karen and Mark belongs to Carol. Cody or other wise known as the Codeman is J.T's Cousin and best friend. Frank and Carol later has a daughter named Lilly. Carol is a beautician while Frank is a contractor. I hope this review has made you want to watch this show.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    Who doesn't love this show?

    By poeticmelody, Feb 13, 2011

    Who doesn't enjoy watching Frank, Carol, and the gang of kids for 7 amazing seasons? Every season got funnier and funnier. The writers that were on this show were all amazing. Sibling rivalry, puberty, having boy/girlfriends, marital struggles, etc... there is such a long list of what this show is all about and it is so worth it to watch every season!!!



    I think that I am the only one that I know who still watches the re-runs, so I would have to say that this show is underappreciated and should not be forgotten!



    If you haven't seen Step by Step, you must!moreless

    3 0

  • 9.0

    Here's the story...of a man named Lambert...

    By shocker713, Feb 13, 2011

    At first glance, it would be very easy to compare this show to the Brady Bunch. For starters, both shows originally ran on ABC. Both shows were about blended families. Both shows featured a blonde mom named Carol. Mike Brady was an architect, Frank Lambert was a construction worker. Three sons and three daughters between them. Both shows even brought in a cute little kid to spice up their later seasons.



    So you switch a few of the kids' genders, and trade out the wisecracking maid for a deceptively wise cousin living in a van in the driveway, and it's essentially the same show, right?



    Not exactly.



    While the Bradys tended to get along fairly swimmingly (right down to Carol's daughters taking the Brady name), the fact remains that not all blended families function as such. Step By Step illustrated this; yes, the Lambert kids and foster kids would clash. The gender-switching also contributed, because now you had children of mixed parentage being forced to share bedrooms. And since it was 20 years later, Step By Step was definitely able to tackle issues that the Brady Bunch couldn't...hell, the Brady Bunch never actually admitted that Carol was divorced.



    When the show originally ran, I was young, so my main interest in the show...was Cody. Later on, watching it in syndication, I came to appreciate the topics of education, religion, fame, etc. that it addressed. Although I'll still admit...the episodes without Cody weren't as good.moreless

    2 0

  • 2.0

    Ripoff Of Every Show That Came Before It

    By futuramarama, Feb 13, 2011

    When I first saw this in syndication, it was pretty good, I thought. But now, it is like every other family show from the 80's/90's era. Only difference is it isn't a typical mother/father, son/daughter type thing, it is a bigger family. But I did not like this show much nowadays. Acting is really bad, so is writing, and I do not find many of the episodes funny anymore. I also think the ending could have been much better. My overall grade for this series as a whole would be a D+ or so, and I would not recommend itmoreless

    0 2

  • 8.0

    Another take on the American family.

    By twilightboy, Jan 18, 2008

    Many people find this show to be very good, I myself find it a very good show if you don't take life too seriously. One detail I like personally about this show is the fact that all the stories are very real, things that could happen to you or any regular family. That's a good point because you can relate to the people on the screen and this helps create a close relationship between you and the show. Sadly, my favorite character was removed from the show, Cody, he was a good hearted clumsy guy that was always causing little trouble but at the same time helping solve other.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews