Pilot

Episode Reviews (43)

Superb
582 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.8

    Executive Producer meltdown ala "Network", A new network president with brains, the hiring of the new producer/writer team, all seem a rather pat scheme. Yet Aaron Sorkin again makes it smart and sassy.

    By kjoyner, Nov 21, 2010

    I did not expect to enjoy something that is loosely based on Saturday Night Live, which is a show I do not like at all. This is a great show. I am especially impressed with the ability of Matthew Perry. His ability seems to have really matured since \"Friends\". This show almost fills the huge void that has been left from \"the West Wing\"

    I like the snappy dialogue and the portrayal of what a network with a spine and respect for the viewers could be like.

    I am now keeping my fingers crossed that this \"smart\" show will me supported by the network and allowed to develop its audience and therefore stay on the air for a long time.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    One of the best pilot episodes I have ever seen. What a great choice for the cast.

    By MrsMattAlbie, Nov 21, 2010

    What an absolutely amazing pilot, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s usually really hard to enjoy a pilot episode, as you’re still trying to learn who is who and who does what, but as expected, Aaron Sorkin did an outstanding job. I already love the chemistry between Matt and Danny, and I cannot wait to see more of their friendship during this season.

    A phenomenal creator, A wonderful cast, fantastic writers, amazing directors… this show has it all!



    Give this show a chance, you'll love it.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    It's been a long time, long time since they canceled Studio 60 on Sunset Strip.

    By ZapperLife, Nov 21, 2010

    How they could cancel this show after only one season is beyond me, and after watching the pilot again today I keep asking myself that very question. How could they?



    The pilot is a 'who's who' in character actors able to handle well scripted sharp dialogue.



    I've never denied my admiration for Aaron Sorkin. Sports Night was good, Th West Wing was great and Studio 60 on Sunset Strip is so easily recognizable within the shape Sorkin molds the scripts, the dialogue and the clever wit rarely seen in other shows.



    So when Matthew Perry and Bradley Whitford are cast in the leading parts we're in for a treat. Add the likes of Busfield, Peet, Weber and Paulson, and Sorkin have once again an ensemble working his magic. The likes of Felicity Huffman and Judd Hirsch guest appearing in the pilot doesn't exactly hurt either, and all together it's nothing short of a superb pilot.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    To start describing TV as "lobotomized" and "eating worms for money" is brave and catching and puts the standard high. Because now we expect from the who that it'll not be the same.

    By vajka, Aug 10, 2008

    After this sharp start, the story gets a little low as we get to know the characters meanwhile the enjoyment is still up thanks to the funny lines. 1. Stories

    a) Matt and Danny

    We are put in the middle of this net of relationships that hold the characters together. We get to know some basic qualities all around the great friendship of Matt and Danny. How people feel towards them, why they left, where are they now. They are good and well-described characters. b) Matt and Harry

    Having a romantic line with the "I love you, I love you not" relationship of Matt and Harry, is aimed to keep female audience and I think it works. Their difference in opinion is quite important to keep them away, while it's also shown that the feelings (at this point from Matt's side) are not over. c) The executives

    It's not clear for me who is who. If Jordan's president then who's Jack? Why is he rivalling with her? Otherwise, Jordan is funny and likeable but the fact that she's always smiling is a little irritating. d) The big three

    Again, I have no idea who they are, why are they so important. We can only get to learn that they are close to each other. 2. Characters

    I've got the feeling that the characters are a little one-sided. Good friends, great professionals, bad professionals - everyone is either good or bad. One exception is Wes, whose both sides are introduced to us. 3. Why I'll watch again? Because I want to see how they'll reach the high bar.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    What a great choice of dialogue in this well scripted pilot!

    By super_friend21, Jul 27, 2007

    I had to watch this when I heard Matthew Perry was starring in Studio 60 because he was so funny in Friends so I wasnt surprised when I found myself enjoying it. I know he is no longer 'Chandler' so I wont talk about Friends, I'll talk about Studio 60. Great charactrs and a great plot even if Matthew Perry was only in half the episode! The once great sketch comedy show 'Studio 60' is suddenly close to cancellation due not only to its less than stellar on-air product, but another, more unexpected type of action, its Executive Producer's on-air mental meltdown. So enter NBS Chairman of the board Jack Rudolph and a new network president, looking to put her mark on the struggling network, Jordan McDeere. This results in the re-hiring of Danny Tripp and Matt Albie to replace the former Executive Producer and hopefully save the show. Cant wait for next episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    the start of hopefully a great series

    By GeorgeJobson, Oct 16, 2006

    "Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip" got off to great start. the first hour of what could be a start to a great series. the series is based on "Saturday Night Live" and in this fixtional version of the show, it close to cancellation and one of the stars of the show played Judd Hirsch, came in front of the camera and went into a tirade, then new blood is needed to save the show. a new cast and creators are brought in to save the show. I haven't saw much of "the West Wing," but "Studio 60 On the Sunset Strip," is welcome TV at it's best.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.8

    Arron Sorkin has a way with words, but does he have a way with characters?

    By jross99, Oct 12, 2006

    I have the Luxury of writing this review after having just watched the 3rd episode so keep that in mind while reading. The Pilot episode is the best episode of the series to date. The opinionated, well-spoken characters that we expect and love Sorkin to create shine brightly in this episode. Some suprisingly beautiful performances accompany the script. Most notably Amanda Peet's character which despite her very subtle, almost underacted character developement, shines with subtext that keeps you guessing the character's intentions and motives. However, and this may be unfair, but remembering back to the pilot episode of "Sports Night", at the end of the episode the viewer had a stronger sense of who and/or what each characters goal and/or arc was. In "Studio 60 ..." the only characters with true objectives were the executives of NBS. The other fall too much into Sorkin's liberal dilemma mind-set where everyone wants to change the world, but are too lazy to do so. While it creates good characters for films (i.e. Half-Nelson) it leaves more to be desired in this series. It may be accurate, but it may get boring.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.2

    The Pilot - Great start to what is going to become a great show

    By AlbieHalpert, Oct 03, 2006

    I think this was a good look at what is going to become a great show. The only problem with this episode (The Pilot)was speed of all of the events. Jordan was hired, Wes was fired, and Danny and Matt were hired all in the same night. But it is obvious that Sorkin didn\'t wish to waste time getting Matt and Danny into their posistions at Studio 60. So they filled the holes nicely and set up what surley looks to be a wonderful hour of television.



    The cast is great. Matthew Perry is brilliant. Those of you who only know him from FRIENDS, have never seen how great of a dramatic actor Perry can be. And Perry matched with Whitford is amazing. These two have better chemistry than Perry and LeBlanc had. it is truly believable that Tripp and Albie (Peery and Whitford)have been best friends for a long time.



    I look forward to seeing what is in store for all of these characters.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

    By JoeyPotter1987, Oct 01, 2006

    A. M. A. Z. I. N. G.



    I\'ve decided to watch this show since i first saw the review, and it hasn\'t at all deluded my expectations..



    The pilot episode is well writtenand has some sort of subtle comedy in it. The starting monologue totally tells the truth about what really happens with some tv shows in a cynical but simple way.



    Totally loved the acting of Matthew Perry, he has so many different expressions of his face he almost bilances Amanda Peet\'s one. Plus, i\'m a huge fan of Bradley Whitford since The West Wing, and the two of them together are a really great couple.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Welcome to the show...

    By super_clerk25, Sep 29, 2006

    The pilot does what any good pilot should. It has introduced us to the whole cast and at the end of the episode we like them. With only an hour to introduce such a large cast they pull it off without short changing any of them. Each character has been fleshed out enough that thhey come off as whole people not just stereotypes.

    The writing is smart and funny. Much like the West Wing but no more politics. Thats something I can get into.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews