Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip

Show Reviews (237)

Great
4,824 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    I know why it was cancelled !!!

    By edwinacewongkaren, Oct 16, 2013

    This show was a smart and good show, for the life of me I didn't know why it was cancelled and it only dawned on me last night whilst watching it for the umpteen times

    This show was basically berating and was a satire for the establishment in which the show was being showed on . NBC). Maybe the powers to be at NBC didn't like how much most of the stories that sarcastically depict how they censored and pick their shows are hitting too close to homemoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Bring it Back!!!

    By crackersgirl, Aug 02, 2013

    I know it will never happen - but possibly the most criminal cancellation in TV history.

    1 0

  • 9.5

    season 1

    By KieranWallser, Jul 29, 2013

    Aaron Sorkin is a genius and we all know that .that how he makes this show funny , sad and serious all at the same time, plus had a minimum rating of 8.7 how can NBC justify canceling such a strong show . they should bring it back now think it would be loved more then before .

    1 0

  • 7.0

    just average

    By Grumpyclown, Mar 24, 2013

    The 2 main characters are very good, but what lets it down is the support cast.

    Sarah Paulson has no chemistry with anyone - so her story arcs really drag. . Hughley tries, but he is boxed into a stereotype a few episodes in and becomes one dimensional.

    The network characters become bland and again a bit one dimensional.

    There is some great dialog in the series and some very good performances, but as a series it it is kind of fractured, if there were a few different casting choices made and a better character backstory to some of the characters and better sketches for the show it would probably have been more successful.

    I am a huge Sorkin fan, but the West Wing was a really tough act to follow so this may have colored my judgement.moreless

    0 0

  • 4.5

    pretentious

    By missineichen, Jun 12, 2012

    the show & characters are pretentious, overly dramatic, angsty & full of self-importance; making the show feel contrived & unconvincing, especially since it's about comedy writers, not say, medics, soldiers or criminal lawyers. The characters all have similar personalities (moody, sarcastic wannabe rebels). The skits Studio 60 produce are all God-awful lol! However, the show was mildly interesting & fast-paced. I'm a huge Matthew Perry fan, which is the only reason I kept watching the show

    0 2

  • 10

    Studio 60 was one of those show that was before it's time I guess.

    By peon4570, Jun 17, 2011

    It is really sad that this show was not around for more then one season. It was so good. I believe with all my heart that this is top ten of the best shows to go on the air of all time. It was not on the air long enough. The ensemble cast was top notch I don't think you could have had a better cast. Matthew Perry led the cast along with Bradley Whitford and Amanda Peat. Studio 60 not only had top notch acting what was the best about this show was the writing of Aaron Sorkin. I loved him since The West Wing but this show just elevated him in my mind to greatness. I long for the days of Studio 60. Again This show was to good for TV because it didn't suck.moreless

    10 0

  • 10

    Unique show..

    By josa12, Jul 26, 2009

    Gotta say.. This is one of the best series I've the pleasure to watch.. And yet I understand why it was ended. Notice: ended not "cancelled". All the greatest things have ends. People should realize of that, and in this particularly case I have to say it: there where no other stuff to go on. Everybody got their happy endings and doing another season would have been wrong unless they change characters or the final episode. Let's just say it.. sometimes its better not to have a second part, and just let the future of personates on the imagination of the viewers.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Awesome show

    By hoppis2334, Apr 06, 2009

    Awesome show, cancelled too early. I watched it while it was on and remembered thinking how silly it was that it got cancelled. I started watching it again a few days ago and finished the whole season because it was so good I couldn't stop watching it. Now, I am very sad that it was cancelled and there are no more episodes to watch. It seems very stupid that it ever got cancelled and wasn't picked up by another channel. The cast was perfect for the show and they were perfect together. They all had amazing chemistry and timing. There's nothing else that I can say except go watch it and experience it for yourself.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    By tabid73, Feb 26, 2009

    I cant believe that they cancelled this show. What for? Deal or no deal? Or some other absurd reality show. This show had it ALL. The writing was great and you found yourself realting to many character. And the comdeic timing of this cast was unbelievable. How is that we can get saturated with Law & order and CSI but cant keep a show if this quality on the air? Do the poeple that decide ever actually watch the show? More importantly do they have any artistic integurity at all or will they just feed the masses the garbage they want to turn a profit. Hopefully the smart folks at HBO can pick it up even or something like it. I dont expect Network TV to have any brains which is why they are losing audiences by the second.moreless

    3 0

Load More Reviews