The Wrap Party

Episode Reviews (17)

Superb
342 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    The best episode to watch if you want to get to know Studio 60. Brilliant writing, story and acting. Sorkin at his finest.

    By numb3rschick, Oct 13, 2010

    This episode was unbelievable. Sorkin took four different rivoting storylines and made them work together seemlessly. This episode revealed so much about many characters and their motivation. Eli Wallach was a brilliant choice for the blacklisted writer. Cal's attention to him was touching and I like the way they had us learn about the man's past. Watching Danny and Matt with him at the end and learning that we really haven't come so far was fantastic. Watching Matt find the new writer and learning about Simon's history brought great insight to his place in the show. I liked having Jordan become more involved on a human level and seeing that she is very far from the perfect, high-powered normal studio head. I think that this is just the tip of the iceburg for Studio 60 and it will truly become one of the best shows on TV.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Nice to see Lauren Graham in something other than Gilmore Girls

    By angelspinknose, Dec 11, 2006

    The writing on this episode was fabulous. Tom's poor parents struggling to get thru the night with one son while the other is getting shot at half way around the world. They broke my heart. Simon telling Tom to remember that his parents are working class people and not to put them down was nice. I like DL Hughley's character on this show. When Matt and Simon go to Darius after his lousy stand up act was like Richard Pryor meeting a young Eddie Murphy.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    A look back and a look foward... S60

    By luv0817, Nov 14, 2006

    This episode is my favourite thus far. I loved Tom taking his parents on a tour around the studio and telling them the back history. As a Media Production student, it was fun. I remember doing Intro to Media and one of my favourite parts of the class was when we were studying the origins of NBC, ABC, and CBS; I think I got the best grade on that test. I also loved the gest start of the Studio 60 vet; the parts with Tom and Eli Weintrob were the best parts. Tom\'s parents remind me very much of my own (except they have heard of \'Who\'s on First\'), I know that a lot of people attacked Sorkin for his betrayal of mid-western american families, but I think he got it pretty much right (with a little exaggeration- A.L. anyone?) I mean, come on people, who doesn\'t know \'Who\'s on First\'? It\'s THE GREATEST of American classic comedy.



    What makes me upset is that stories like Mr. Weintrobs\' are true. Men who fought for the US were later called unpatriotic just because TPTB didn\'t like what they were saying... and in some respects, they were right. Overall this episode is one I can watch over and over again and not get tired of... much like Abbott and Costello\'s famous sketch.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.5

    Don't get me wrong, I liked it, but....

    By brunabear, Nov 07, 2006

    This was a very interesting episode of Studio 60. Yup, 'interesting'. That's not what this show should be doing at this point in its oh-so-young history. It should be going for "snappy", "witty", "funny", and "ground-breaking" . The previous shows have been all that and more. This show was a little slower. And with the way that networks treat shows that don't bring home the bacon (and eggs, and coffee and a maid to clean it all up afterwards), this is just not something that this show should be doing at this point.



    As I said, it was a very interesting show. The McCarthy hearings were a horrible part of Hollywood's history, and something that they still have to deal with. It's something that there should be more shows about. But not for episode four (five?) of a new series. I guess they're setting the tone of how they're going to be different. I guess that's a good thing. I'm not disagreeing; I'm just wondering if the network agrees? I'd like to keep watching this show, and if the network cancels it, that'll make it hard for me!



    So while I liked the episode, I had to give it a relatively low mark for bad timing. They should wait until they've got that contract for season 2 before doing an episode like this.moreless

    0 2

  • 9.4

    This is my favourite episode so far.

    By Delameko, Nov 03, 2006

    Although it was obvious in some ways, the level of character development was great and we\'re really starting to see the bonds between the characters. Plus the bit when they hired the new writer was great ;-)



    Admittedly the story with the guy and his parents (sorry, forgot his name) was a bit much, especially as doubt his dad would actually laugh at the record he gave him. It was also a bit obvious as way of revealing the history of the studio, so that it could tie in with the old man\'s story. I mean they didn\'t seem too interested, they probably would have preferred he just take them out to dinner...moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Thought provoking, moving, excellent in every way.

    By amamistyed, Oct 29, 2006

    The Wrap Party was perfect in every way. The music, writing, acting. set production...everything. Another courageous piece of film bringing issues to light and searching our hearts. Love it. Starting with Nathan Corddry who couldn\'t have done better expressing the love and frustration and anguish concerning his family. {I personally know more than one family exactly like Tom\'s family...truly scary. The actors playing Tom\'s mom and dad gave honest portrayals.} Then he delivered the long dialog about the history of the theater with heartfelt love and he made me care about it and wish I was there. Well, I already wish I was there. I love this world and the people in it.



    Amanda Peet was gorgeous. And her \"I don\'t have any friends\" was fantastic. I laughed and practically cried. Then there was the whole baseball anti-Matthew thing. Sadly true to life. Sarah Paulson is always wonderful, as is Timothy Busfield and D.L. Hughley nailed it with his deliverance of an in depth portrayal of a man\'s heart. The lonely lines of the new comedian/writer were funny and heartbreaking at once. Then there was Eli Wallach who was exquisite...and here I did cry...my god...blacklisted. Does anyone know about this anymore? We better. I mean it happened. Really. In the USA. And Mr. Wallach was around at the time, by the way. Very brave lines here, wonderfully acted by all involved. What a piece of film!



    Sorkin and the ensemble give their best every time. The show is always moving and important and I never tire of watching the episodes over and over again.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.0

    A good view into some of the lesser characters.

    By lapsus_linguae, Oct 28, 2006

    Again, I thought this episode was extremely well written (with Aaron Sorkin, I would expect no less). But the thing that I enjoyed the most was that it gave some insight into a couple of the lesser characters - Tom and Simon most specifically - and also went over some history. I am really growing to love the character of Tom. It started last week with the lobster costume and continued this week with his parents. Nate Cordry is doing a great job at bringing this character to life. DL Hughley is also doing a terrific job with Simon. I liked seeing more interaction between Matt and Simon.



    Overall, I really enjoyed the character development and writing in this episode.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    Clever, funny, intriguing, and smart. All the things I was hoping this show would eventually become.

    By osustudent06, Oct 26, 2006

    Will this episode save Studio 60? Let's hope. With this being the first show without a sketch (not skit), Aaron Sorkin allowed us to look deeper into the characters, while having a few good laughs. The history provided by Tom on his tour and his parents was needed. The awkwardness of his parents and his gesture was touching. The dialogue between Matt and Simon was provacative and entertaining. Do we have a new member of Studio 60? I hope they work to develop this character. Also, Jordan not having any friends and Harriet being burned helped to move the show.



    I categorized this as a "very special episode" because it is the first time I have said "wow" at the end. I enjoyed a few laughs, was forced to think, and thoroughly enjoyed the hour. Hopefully, NBC will take the next two weeks, decide to keep the show, maybe move it to a different time, and we'll be able to see what happens next. I can say for the ffirst time that I have reasons to care about Harriet, Jordan, Tom, Matt, Danny, Cal, Simon, the Studio itself, and even Jack.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.0

    Started off strong, but slipped into too much sentimentality

    By entil2001, Oct 25, 2006

    Not everyone was as impressed with the previous episode as I was, so it’s probably a good thing that the series took a somewhat different direction with this installment. The first thing I noticed was the marked increase in clever banter. Matt had some hilarious one-liners throughout the night, and the scene with the brainless cocktail waitresses was simply inspired.



    For all that Matt and Danny are partners and effective co-leads, Matt is getting a lot better screen time lately. It might be his neurotic personality, but if he’s in the scene, he’s the focus. Danny, on the other hand, seems to be a bit more reserved. This episode shines more light on their professional relationship, confirming the Leo/Josh-esque dynamic. Danny is the business end, Matt is the talent.



    This episode also had a lot to say about Jordan, and despite the more amusing aspects, it wasn’t pretty. Jordan seems to have paid a steep price for her success: she has few friends. Even in a large crowd, she’s basically drinking alone. The desperation is played up a bit for the comedic aspects, but it’s hard not to feel sympathetic, especially considering how often her past seems to work into conversation.



    In fact, for an episode that started out with a lot of the funny, the tone shifted into deep sentimentalism by the end. Tom’s family issues were uncomfortable to watch, especially since it was clear that his efforts would be for naught. I think a lot of people can identify with Tom. It’s not easy when your choices don’t match your parent’s expectations, and it becomes impossible to bridge that gap.



    There was also the exploration of Simon’s history, which was a little less universal. It makes sense for him to point out the lack of diversity, considering that it is a major issue for the networks. If this is supposed to be an important show for NBS, then it would be high profile for Matt to bring in a good black writer. I was quite pleased to notice that the stereotypical black comedy was panned all around as feeding into racism, but the alternative wasn’t particularly funny or insightful. In moments like that, it can be difficult to relate to Matt, because it feels forced when this incredible talent finds some mediocre and overly intellectual joke so promising.



    If there was one plot thread that didn’t quite fit, it was the blacklisted writer. I wonder how many other viewers recognized that list of names as soon as Cal wrote them down. As a dutiful “Babylon 5” fan, I recognized those names instantly, so it was interesting to see how they led up to the reveal. I think that the only gratuitous reference was during Tom’s speech, though they were a little heavy-handed at the end.



    Overall, this started out with some strong comedy and ended with a mixture of social and political statements that didn’t all come together entirely well. I still get the feeling that the show is trying to find a consistent voice, even as it continues to improve, and that the network is losing patience with the mediocre ratings. I think a lot is riding on the performance during November sweeps.



    (As a sidenote: I also have a new podcast associated with my various reviews called “Velocity TV”. Current episodes cover “Studio 60”, so it might be something of interest. Go to http://velocitytv.libsyn.com if you want to listen!)moreless

    1 1

  • 8.6

    Some good, some ok

    By marksdad1, Oct 25, 2006

    Things i liked about the epi:

    1. Fleshing out Corddry & Hughley\'s characters - starting to get backstories for the other characters

    2. additional WW references - when at the Improv, the comedian says (paraphrased) \" so i don\'t work for you\" - Albie/Hugley says \" yes you do\" - that\'s so WW

    3. Albie giving Lauren Graham his #

    4. Not so self-righteous as previous eppys



    Things i didn\'t

    1. I live in Columbus, they portrayed Tom\'s parents as complete rubes... although they should\'ve been fat. his father\'s ignorance was ridiculous

    2. Jordan McDeere - she\'s the head of the network and she\'s talking about that she has no friends? even to the bit players? I have a hard time that she could be as successful as she is acting that ditzy.



    Bottom line, i\'d give this a B+ - i look forward to seeing how they integrate the new writer into the storyline; I hope they can write mcdeere out of the show.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews