Sugar Rush

Show Reviews (21)

Great
303 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.1

    good first season - bad second.

    By hp79, Feb 03, 2011

    too bad. i really liked the first season, but the second has been totally diffrent. its been ok i guess, but not as the first one. the first was fresh and had some new ideas, it was a great story about teenage life, great acting, and it maked you care about the characters. the second has been more of a soap opera. like any drama series. the first had some exitement - the second, relationship drama. i cant say that i really cared if they would end up together or not in the end. hard to explain what i meen here, i guess in the first the characters was really beleivible and intresting, the second they were only soap opera people. overall, good show though, too bad they didnt do a third season (and went back to the way it was in the beginning...). i recoment it to everyone.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.8

    Risky but well done!

    By Aimzies, Mar 16, 2008

    When I first heard of this I thought it was pushing the boundaries a bit as very little stuff like this has been done on British television but after recently watching both of the series' together I am impressed.



    The actors chosen were perfect for the roles and the chemistry between them was excellent, giving the audience a great number of laughs and a somewhat realistic insight into the minds of different teenagers in today's society.



    The second series, in my opinion, was the better of the two, with many hilarious scenes as well as heart-wrenching ones. I doubt they will but I shall live in hope of a another series.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    An English show about 15-year-old Kim, and her obsessive crush on her best friend Maria 'Sugar' Sweet...

    By mad_megz_666, Aug 20, 2007

    I was 15 years old when I first saw this programme and I was a bit like, "Whoa, what the hell is going on!" Hollowed by "Eww, she's a lesbian". But, it was the in-thing for everyone at school, so I watched it regardless. I didn't really get into the show or think very highly of it, after the series ended I was just thinking, "Right, well that wasn't obvious". Then when series two came along, I thought, 'What in the name of Jesus have they done to it!' I watched the first 2 episodes, got bored and didn't watch it again.



    Then I read the book and re-watched both series as a 17-year-old, and the only word I can use to some it up was "Wow"... I was shocked at how good it actually was! Though the book is a LOT different... I still think this show is legendary and I'm shocked that so many people didn't watch it or see it for what it was. Though I still think that series two was its downfall. It took everything that made it away and it completly ruined it. But it was still enjoyable to watch.



    Basically I think that every teenager should have to watch this show. It would probably stop the homophobia that teenagers in the UK (and US) have. Because it did for me I went from homophobic to pro-gay in the space of a week.



    Overall, best show for teenagers that has ever been made. The OC and Dawsons Creek aint got jack on Sugar Rush! :Dmoreless

    2 0

  • 9.2

    a really great show!

    By dAnRaD010, Feb 02, 2007

    i have to say i didn't really expect much from this series.. i mean i thought it is just going to be another teenage drama kind of show but as it turns out i was wrong..



    i am not Brittish so i haven't really heared about this series until a friend emailed me and told me the she found this new show and that i might like it.. so then i found a way to watch the show and i was surprised how much the show got me hooked..



    this show is not just another teen drama.. it is so much more.. and now i am so thankfull for my friend for introducing this series to me..moreless

    2 0

  • 8.9

    suprising good

    By tonik2255, Jan 27, 2007

    this is a good little teen drama i first though when i saw all the promo's for the forst series it would not be something i would be intrested in but my friend convinced me to give it a go and it is suprising good and more than fit for a mainstream audience and not just for a niche market of people.

    i know some people might think this show makes english girls look slutty but it just makes us english girls out to be as open with our sexuality as we are i know some of the so called "bible belt" (no offence implided) in america might disagree with this show but it shows english people to be slightly kooky, mad and ecentric which we are so this show is a great representation of young britsh culture and should be rewarded as somoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    I love this serie.

    By bisyy, Oct 11, 2006

    Sugar Rush is one of those gems of lesbian television reminding us all what it was like to be an awkward teenager falling for the wrong person and trying to get our head around being queer at the same time. Add in a very dysfunctional family (mums got her secrets without giving the game away, brother wears a bubble helmet all the time and dad can't see where the problem is with the family) and you have the makings of an excellent show. A word of caution however this is a short DVD, I was suprised when I was able to watch the whole thing in an evening so probably one to turn around quickly so you can carry on watching the rest of the series. Stylistically this feels a lot like a younger, gayer version of the Channel 4 show 'As If' and if you enjoyed that well you'll probably like this.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    not alot of people really watch it but they really missing out!!! its that good!!!

    By sainthaz, Aug 11, 2006

    well sugar rush my favorite show of call time and thats a big thing to say. i saw the first series and fell in love with it only to find out that there's a second well it was like six christmas's at once and now its over im sadend and now don't no what to do with my thursday night. who ever cast the actors and actresses is turly amazing and who ever scripwrites is truly a model. the comedy and heart hitting episodes truly show of the year.

    the only bad point is there needs more episodes and seasons!!!!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    what does kims parents do.

    By moonlili, Jul 16, 2006

    I love this show more than anything, I never want it to end. It is way to short a show. Anyway every time I watch this show I always end up wondering what her parents do for a living. They never seem to go to work, and kim and her brother never seem to have to go to school either. All in all I love this show. It makes me want to live in brighton so much. I love the characters and how strange it is.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    I don't know what it is about Sugar Rush, but i'm drawn to it...

    By Raven_Fan_4eva, Jun 19, 2006

    I love shows like this... the dramas that are on late, and Sugar Rush is no exception. The whole storyline about a teenage lesbian who fancies her best friend is very unique and interesting. Each episode brings up many questions and makes you craving more. Now that season 2 has started and Sugar is in prison, I wanna see more. I wanna see how Kim copes with her sexuality and who she gets with. This show is just so different from anything I watch, and that's why I like it. It's amazing... xmoreless

    0 0

  • 8.1

    sugar rush series series 2 starts on the 15th June - not the 1st.

    By Kaspanova, Jun 02, 2006

    Best new show of last year. I watched the repeats on E4 too because i thought it was that funny. a fifteen year old lesbian always thinking how she\\\'s going to get in the knickers of her best mate? theres no way any other channel would touch this apart from channel four. it broke a boundary, like Queer As Folk did. I couldn\\\'t see myself reading the books though. i\\\'ll be waiting to see the first episode of sugar rush season 2 on the 15th june. She\\\'s going further afield in this series, with different partners so it should shed some variety on the will she wont she debate..moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews