As Time Goes By

Episode Reviews (18)

Great
232 votes
8.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.5

    Got Bored

    By lparsley13, May 05, 2014

    I ended up ignoring a bit of it out of boredom. I just let it play in the background, while I got a few things done.

    0 1

  • 9.0

    A little late catching it but what a great episode

    By rkoenn, Oct 15, 2013

    I just finally caught this season 8 episode and am very glad I did. The idea was novel and the time travel scenario played out perfectly as well as explaining the disappearance of Sam and Dean's grandfather. The reactions of Dean were right on as well as his change of heart as the episode developed. The demon and the story behind it was very good as well. And the ending really had a pathos and gave the demon what it deserved. Definitely worth catching and so glad I did.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    Good episode, but very frustrating.

    By mrcassiooo, Jun 02, 2013

    A fan since the very first episode here. I really liked this episode actually, finally a few good ones in this quite mediocre season overall.



    However, I found myself becoming more and more frustrated by the fact that Henry never got to realize just how much his grandsons had actually done! Where the heck was Castiel? Where was the Dean speech: "Hehe yeah, but you know what? Sam had Lucifer inside him. I was to be the archangel's meatsuit to face him. Also, I spent quite some time down in hell. I've also spent a year in purgatory, and both me and Sam have been to heaven. But yeah, grandpa, you have your



    From the second that Henry fell out of the motel closet I was waiting for this moment where he got to know what his grandsons had actually accomplished. It was very frustrating to see him die, and as a viewer, think that all he thought his grandsons were was two semi-experienced "hunters".moreless

    0 0

  • 1.0

    This episode divides the supernatural fan base into 2 groups

    By KingofRogues, Feb 08, 2013

    There's the fans that started watching after season 5 and those who have watched in from the beginning. How do I know this, because anyone who watch supernatural from the beginning (like me) hated this episode. It was like watching your favorite book get turned into a movie that doesn't follow the book at all.



    You can't just change 7 seasons of information with one lousy episode. This episode just cannot exist in the supernatural universe. I could deal with the fairy episode not following the storyline because it was funny. But this draws the line for me. And no Castiel, or angels and yet time travel.



    Storyline was predictable,boring and took away way way more than it added. Ending was laughable when Sam referenced how Cupid got their parents together(like they were even pretending to follow any previous episode) what a laugh



    I was thinking maybe alternate universe with the way time travel and the demon killing everyone,maybe they could have made it work, nope. This episode was a big middle finger to true supernatural fans.moreless

    5 30

  • 9.0

    Season 8- As Time Goes By

    By graylito, Feb 06, 2013

    This shouldve been an 11-episode story arc for the second half of the season, and end of the series. One episode was far too short. Its a fantastic episode. But it doesnt make up for all the crappy episodes of this season. :/ and where the hell was castiel.

    4 2

  • 9.0

    Much, much better..........

    By Jennmardo, Feb 05, 2013

    Enjoyed this episode a lot more - the writing was far better and it had more of the old Supernarural vibe. I have to say though, all this carry on about who's the bigger/truer Supernatural fan bores me silly. I've been watching since day one too and consider myself a huge fan but I don't think I have the last word on the subject. A lot of Supernatural fans just need to chill - relax, enjoy the show for all it's ups and downs. For me, even when there's been one I haven't liked so much I still want to see the next one. Just keep it in perspective people! Peace:-)moreless

    8 1

  • 10

    Supernatural comes alive again

    By titanolympus, Feb 04, 2013

    well this is what made the show , the best of the best, havent missed an episode ever and bringing back a demon more powerful than yellow eyes(knife couldnt kill her) and also linking the story back to john and winchester family with the spice of magic and men of letters , i see the show is starting to get back on the THE SUPERNATURAL road after a bit of a bumpy ride through the bushes, episode rocked guys, keep em coming and plz dont let this series end. I see lucifer coming backmoreless

    3 3

  • 10

    Wow , breathtaking episode !!!

    By DavidiVizman, Feb 02, 2013

    Didnt enjoyed an episode like this for a really long time !

    main event episode , cuts right to the heart of the real "what supernatural is really about" .

    the last seasons was taking all the viewers out of the point , its time we all get an episode that could really easily blend in in one of the first core seasons of the show !!!



    and for - "kingofrouges" : ive been watching this series since day 1 , really loved the episode since its messes with the real story and cuts out all the bullshit we got to know in the last seasons (really good and enjoying bullshit , but yet)



    i can only say - WOW !moreless

    4 4

  • 10

    Time and Punishment

    By Neksmater, Feb 01, 2013

    Supernatural really vamped up its writing this episode with a middling season thus far by taking adrenaline and stabbing it into the very heart of the season arc. Enter Henry Winhester from 1958, given a mysterious box by his Order the Men of Letters who are slaughtered by the demon Abaddon and he makes a spell that propels him into the future (a blood spell which takes him to his nearest kin in space and time). He lands in a motel room in Sam and Dean's time in modern day and he asks for John. Abaddon gives chase and the brothers try to stab her with Ruby's knife which doesn't do anything but piss her off. The brothers take Henry with them and Abaddon does this cool supernatural "I can make you show me what you've seen" and tracks them down. Henry learns that they're his grandchildren and introduces himself. We learn more about the Men of Letters and how John was supposed to be part of the Legacy of passing on Men of Letters down the male bloodline but he became a hunter instead which is seen as a brutish knuckle dragging profession as if Dean had told Henry his son had grown up to be a drug dealer. Apparently the Men of Letters are the elite Supernatural knowledge collectors who pass their information only onto the most elite of hunters. John's journal tells them that Abaddon's a Knight of Hell (one of the original demons made from the first Fallen loyal to and created by Lucifer after the Fall from Heaven) who doesn't go down easily and is apparently the last of her kind. The building Henry's Order was slaughtered in had been turned into a comic book shop as of late and Henry's out of place period-ness makes him somewhat like Castiel in the modern world. After learning that one of the Order members survived in modern times and is 127 years of age after a cloak and dagger sleuth. The Order member tells Sam that the key that was given to Henry opens up a library or a collection of knowledge of every creature since creation and to throw it into a void or whole that will hold the key forever to prevent Abaddon from getting to it. Abaddon had possessed the man's wife and kills him and takes Sam hostage and offers Dean a trade of Henry and the key for Sam. Dean's caring for his brother proves to not be his downfall this time but the touch of the Devil's Trap marked on the bullet and Henry sacrificing himself was a great touch to decapitate Abaddon and bury her in small pieces making her wish she was. His line about being proud of meeting them and being proud of John although not knowing him as a man was a great family drama moment that Supernatural handles well. Nice topping on the already dropped seeds of the Winchester legacy being deeply loaded in the world of the Supernatural and the fact that John's diary was his father's was a nice little token moment that added even more depth. What they'll do with the key from here is a mystery. Now with that and tablets there is a lot to juggle which much the better typically the time travel episode doesn't add this much and simply is Sam or Dean stuck in time and having to get back so it was nice to have someone come to their time rather than displacing them which is the norm on the show. Abaddon was a nice baddie that certainly didn't go down easily at all and I would like to see more of if possible and the whole Knight of Hell thing was a cool mythology expanding thing that gave us more of the universe. Maybe the key will prove to be useful in deciphering the tablets later on. Henry was well written and acted . Noire's Jack Kelso) and his bookish collegiate-ness was a nice juxtaposition to Sam and Dean's more down to earth and working class gruffness. Fantastic episode that gives me much hope and faith in the writers and this season of Supernatural that makes me see a glimmer of the old Supernatural in there.moreless

    4 5

Load More Reviews